1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

64 bit Storm

Discussion in 'Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships' started by ChezJfrey, Mar 14, 2017.

  1. ChezJfrey

    ChezJfrey Master Mariner Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Compiled and running a 64 bit version of the Storm. Still runs all my games: POTC, New Horizons (still without flags...I'll get to it eventually), Caribbean Tales, AoP, GOF 1.2, 2.0 and 2.5, ERAS.

    Still a couple niggling issues with placement of sea/land interface icons/text. The source is notorious for hardcoding pointer arithmetic that assumes a next array item is 4 bytes (32 bits away), but that is of course untenable for 64 bit programs. Also had to replace all the inline assembly (asm) with C++ code as Visual Studio does not allow direct compilation of inline asm for 64 bit code. Also point at 64 bit DirectX libs, fmodex64, etc. This has been too much work, but once I got the urge to try, I couldn't let it go.

    Note there is no *32 next to start.exe. Rock and roll.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    LarryHookins, kb31 and Pieter Boelen like this.
  2. Myth

    Myth Master Mariner

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    What does this give? How does the game improve? Can the City of Lost Ships run through a different video card? I have a notebook with two video cards: intel hd 4000 and nvidia 620m I am work with GOG version COAS. Only TEHO work with 620m.
     
  3. Jan Marten

    Jan Marten de ZeeRoovers Group Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Gender:
    Male
    I give them a tip Myth.
    Look at the following files.
    G2MXSea.sha
    G3Sea.sha
    RadeonSea.sha
    XBoxSea.sha
    ATIShaders.sha
    GF3Shaders.sha
    Here they find the cause of their problem.
     
  4. ChezJfrey

    ChezJfrey Master Mariner Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Bigger, better, faster? A 64-bit app can use more memory space; up to 4 gb, vs. 2 gb for a 32-bit. Typically run faster since they are compiled with the ability to use twice as many registers, that are also twice as large. More scalable? LOL Maybe I'll take the next jump and port to DirectX 10 for the 64 bit version?

    Actually, the real benefit is my bragging rights as being the only person in the world that is playing a 64-bit version of AoP, and have the only copy ;)

    Crash when loading to sea, but found that was some bit-shifting of some pointer values...again with that old presumption of 4 bytes per pointer, which is wrong for 64 bit. No more crash and all that looks to be left are the battle interface images/text; obviously still messed up.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Myth

    Myth Master Mariner

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    Do you need to replace these files?

    I understand that besides using more RAM, there is no use? And if you can send me the texture of the ship, which you showed above. I was just looking for a new texture for the ship, it's hard to find someone who is willing to help with textures ...

    Can you help me with changing the game startup file?
     
  6. LarryHookins

    LarryHookins Buccaneer Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,311
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes, but does it run TEHO? :D :D

    I'm kidding, of course, but hey, you never know.

    Hook
     
  7. Myth

    Myth Master Mariner

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    Still no nvidia 620m for COAS. And the guys at me a problem of very unusual character. Secured lost ships in the city weather. The result was that there were terrible brakes and crashes on Windows 7. Other operating systems do not cause such problems. Any fix? Function

    locations[n].QuestlockWeather = "Storm04";
     
  8. Myth

    Myth Master Mariner

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    About windows 7: update video driver and all ok. But on my windows 10 no 620m for COAS.
     
  9. ChezJfrey

    ChezJfrey Master Mariner Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Got it.

    64-bit fixed up and running like a charm.
    [​IMG]
     
    ANSEL and Pieter Boelen like this.
  10. Myth

    Myth Master Mariner

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    No GOG version 64?
     
  11. Jan Marten

    Jan Marten de ZeeRoovers Group Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Gender:
    Male
    Sorry guys ... :oops:
    So looks AoP2 CoAS out, when you run the folder program clean programmed.
    I have made 5 changes to the source code. But a lot deleted.
    Game running stable in Windows 8.1. format Full HD

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Mad Jack Wolfe and Pieter Boelen like this.

Share This Page