1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Mod Release Age of Pirates: Caribbean Tales - Historical Immersion Supermod

Discussion in 'Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales' started by Modder01, Feb 1, 2014.

  1. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Also the Crew and Officer Salary is controlled from salary.c... Just saying if you want to make it less...
     
  2. Hotshot

    Hotshot Master Mariner Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    Well, I guess it's ok; they only take a lot of money if you yourself make a lot of money. As long as there is some balance between profit/salary it's ok. And with the changed cargo numbers it is; although it's still only viable to do export/import runs; any other cargo just isn't worth it.
     
  3. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    What do you mean importing and exporting are the only ways of making money in the trade scene... Stealing contraband and then selling it to the smugglers is also very profitable.
     
  4. Hotshot

    Hotshot Master Mariner Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    True; but mostly when those smugglers are "looking for" specific contraband (ie. "import"^^).
    But it's a non-issue anyway; just wanted to mention that, just because one uses the "corrected"^^ values for import/export will get stone rich by not looking at this detail :)
     
  5. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Since ChezJefrey hasn't been seen or responding to my private message since the 1st of October, I will open the discussion in a separate forum thread about the Dutchman Quest Revisions. I am having trouble with code that I edited in order to put Davy Jones in the cabin to allow the win conditions to work.
     
  6. Hotshot

    Hotshot Master Mariner Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    And hello again!

    I don't know if this is a bug or just a condition I'm not aware about...

    One of my Officers skills are "1" and in red.
    officer_red_skills.jpg
    Must be since buying/assigning him.
    Remove/Reassign doesn't help.

    Any ideas?
     
  7. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    The red color should denote a skill penalty by that amount. If your officer is assigned to a ship, depending on rank, the skill penalty will be incurred on the officer....
     
  8. Hotshot

    Hotshot Master Mariner Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm sorry, but I don't get what you mean...

    This is an officer on my ship as cannoneer (obviously^^), but instead of heaving "his" 9 and 8 on my stats, I got the depicted 1.
    And now I'm just really curious as to why that is?

    He is level 14, I'm 13, so there isn't a big level difference. But maybe that's the cause?
     
  9. Hotshot

    Hotshot Master Mariner Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    Oh, and in the info box (right clicking the red 1) it says "The penalty for this skill is 0"
     
  10. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Probably a bug.... Don't know how it can be fixed though...
     
  11. Hotshot

    Hotshot Master Mariner Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah; hard to find :-\
    I tried looking at the code found in "Program\scripts\utils.c"
    Code:
    int CheckSkillDownModifier(aref chr, int iship)
    But there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with that... and I tried to always return 0, to no avail :-(

    Well, time to find a new gunner I guess
     
  12. Hotshot

    Hotshot Master Mariner Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    Bug?
    Pls don't shoot me if this is like a "known issue"^^, but I'm at the part of the story where you sould - apparently - take over all settlements. I've already captured 7 and now I get a message telling me xyz is under siege and I have until abc. That's all good and all, but when I go to my colonies tab I see that there are 3 islands under enemy attack!!
    And as soon as I free one of them at least one other gets instantly taken over by an enemy?! Shouldn't I get the time that is displayed on the colony tab at least? wth?

    I'm gonna search for the code that handles that, but I'm not terribly confident that I'm gonna find the buggy section :-(
     
  13. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    This was a problem with both the old system and the new system... Supposedly the only warnings about a colony being attacked was from that info box as the info couldn't be translated into a logbook or colony update... I don't know where that box is controlled from, but I assume the relevant message is hard-coded into a program file under interfaces; so if you search for a keyword in the message that is exclusive to that message like "colony" you should find it.
     
  14. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Update:
    -Dutchman Quest has nearly been fixed (need to fix one win_condition and it should be good to go) (Profound kudos to ChezJefrey for making this possible)
    -Code has been streamlined and extraneous trace statements have been commented out to improve performance.
    -Fixed the incorrect common.ini defs for the special_cannons (32,36,42,48pdr). The are now known by the Historical type "Demi-Cannon".
    -Further streamlined the music alias files for better usage in game.
    -Changed the sound_alias files for the new flintlock sounds. All modification type aliases will use the mod's flintlock sounds and other new general sounds, while the 'original' alias scheme will use the original schemes and sound files before the mod is installed (excluding the new cannon sounds which will be included regardless of the version).
    -Fixed the English showing in Russian for the Governor "Ask For Help" Dialogue.

    Working on:
    -New sounds for mod schemes (and related defs in sound_alias)
    -Finalizing the Dutchman Quest
    -Fixing a few random bugs that have cropped up during testing

    Please Note: Beta testing will begin soon! So sharpen yer swords, polish yer pistols and prepare for an adventure that will be much improved from the original. Watch this thread if ye dare for further updates...
     
  15. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Update:
    -Dutchman Quest is now fixed.

    Working on:
    -New sounds for mod schemes (and related defs in sound_alias)
    -Fixing a few random bugs that have cropped up during testing
    -A possible increase to player character health based on new weapon damage values

    Known Bugs:
    -Soldiers treating the player character as if you own the place when your home colony is at war with another nation.
    -Random Crashes during game videos.
    -Locations_Loader.c stack errors.
    -Music stacking issue when using the sail to command to get out of a battle, only to get back into the same one... (i.e. Grenada during the Dutchman quest).
     
  16. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Update:
    -Added new sounds for the 12 pdr sounds as they weren’t powerful enough.
    -Cleaned up the 8pdr sounds so they are louder.
    -Added new sounds for the naval battle.
    -Sound and program files overhauled again (Chezjefrey). This change has fixed the following bugs:
    1. Music Stacking issue
    2. Random crashes during game videos
    3. locations_loader.c Stack Error (directsail is not supported by CT and thus was causing problems)
    -Have tested for the possibility of a player health cap increase because of changing land weapon damage values... Such an increase is not warranted at this time as the skill of the player determines the outcome of the duel.

    Bugs:
    -Storyline bug in that the grotto does appear as a location after getting the other half map, but is not able to make landfall for no apparent reason.
     
  17. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Microupdate:
    - Fixed the incorrect cannon calibers being sold as default on ships that are supposed to carry higher caliber cannons than 24 when bought.
    - Fixed the brothel and brothel_room loading screens on Barbados, Antigua, Curcao, La Vega, Monsterrat, Nevis, Petit Goave, Puerto Rico, Santo Domingo, St. Eustatius and St. Kitts.

    Testing a fix on the Soldier dialog (Chezjfrey's idea) - Looks promising!
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2017
  18. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Update:
    - Fixed an Issue with the incorrect dialog showing for the characters interaction with their nation's home colony soldiers when the nation was at war. (ChezJfrey)
    - Fixed one of the new town themes as it wasn't representative of the respective nation.
    - Fixed a Storyline Error where the grotto can be seen, but the player not able to make landfall. (Chezjfrey)
    - Also fixed the cannon calibers on Bloody Michelle and Le Mona to have their minimum calibre on spawn as originally the calibre was random.
    - Fixed a particle Issue when fires and other related particle effects were incorrectly being displayed at random. (Chezjfrey)

    Note:
    I will be doing a final test of the game for a small period of time (3-4 days at the most), then Open Beta Testing will commence!

    Prepare to set sail again in the adventure of a lifetime!
    :ship
     
    Hylie Pistof and DeathDaisy like this.
  19. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Microupdate (Pre-Beta Test):
    -Incorporated Chezjfrey's update to the FMOD sound system.
    -Updated the word document readme file with all relevant information for version 5.0.
     
  20. Modder01

    Modder01 Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    294
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oxford, Michigan, USA
    Pre-Beta Update:
    -Incorporated Chezjfrey's update to the engine, thereby attempting to fix the random bug where the background of the dialog interface is displaying incorrectly.

    Currently Known Issues in Beta:
    -Brothel interface problems some towns that were fixed for incorrect or missing loading screens.
    - Ship to ship dialogue menu - button mashing CTD bug.
    - Ship to ship dialogue menu - enemy relation becoming friend when speaking, without offering gold...

    Beta testing will begin momentarily... Please wait until I am able to upload the latest...
     

Share This Page