1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Mod Release Audio Patch for AoP2

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by LordDrow, May 30, 2009.

  1. WolfDrache

    WolfDrache Landlubber

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    I hate to say this but that did not work at all except it made it worse. I have the U.S. version and it doesn't work at all!!!!!!!!
     
  2. Captain Maggee

    Captain Maggee Aussie Pirate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Ummmmm correct me if Im wrong but your game doesnt work at ALL...

    So an audio patch wouldnt work either as it updates the AUDIO and that is it
     
  3. lefsef

    lefsef Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Actually this fixed it for me!!!!!!! Thanks mate!!!

    Running Win 7 Ultimate 64bit with Ati 1800XT and Audigy 2 ZS and had sound problems only after installing win 7 on my machine. (previously win xp sp3)


     
  4. streetdog

    streetdog Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    [quote name='Cap'n_Drow' date='30 May 2009 - 09:47 PM' timestamp='1243720041' post='323807']
    Okay folks, from what I've found there is an update to the sound system used in AoP 2.

    1) Go to <a href="http://www.fmod.org/index.php/download" target="_blank">http://www.fmod.org/index.php/download</a>

    2) Download the newest version of the FMod EX dev kit

    3) Install the dev kit with admin rights

    4) Wait for all the install insanity to finish, this will take a few minutes

    5) Go to the dev kit install directory and COPY the FModex.dll from the API directory to your install directory for AoP2, you can back up the original file, but it shouldn't really be necessary

    6) Start the game and that SHOULD fix most of the audio problems you've been having.

    7) Enjoy!!

    Cap'n Drow
    [/quote]

    I should but it doesn't :(
    Other ideas ?
     
  5. RoyalQuiche

    RoyalQuiche Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rouen, France
    Hello guys,

    Had the "no sound" problem, fixed it !
    I just erased the line "offclass = soundservice" in "engine.ini".

    Let's try this if you have a sound bug.
     
  6. Alex Sharpe

    Alex Sharpe Landlubber

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany

    Thanks, this has fixed my problem with the crackling sound(music). :onya
     
  7. N3H3C

    N3H3C Sailor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    What ebenholzjunge posted indeed does fix the crackling sound issue from occurring all the time, but the sound is still screwed in this game. For me, whenever I enter a large battle with cannon firing the sounds become muted and you can't hear anything at all, and sail's and ambiance, but no cannons
     
  8. aztec_devil2000

    aztec_devil2000 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Help! While its loading, it says it skips the soundservice thing and doesn't work at all!
     
  9. CrisGer

    CrisGer Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Colorado and California
    I am having the same problem, cant start the game at all, i installed patched, added the NoCD No Starforce patch and now it wont start at all saying the Modex dll is missing. i will try adding the pack as indicated. btw, there is a new address to download the legacy FM ODEX pack which is here:

    http://www.fmod.org/fmod-downloads.html

    any hints on how to solve this missing dll problem> i downloaded the dill from online but it may be just a generic clone and not the real thing and i put it into System 32, i see we need to put it into the game folder i think.
     
  10. modernknight1

    modernknight1 Field Marshall of Hot Tubs Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,091
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    underwater BB stacker and amatuer basket weaver
    Location:
    USA
    I think this is an engine problem that happens when too many things are occurring simultaneously. Even after trying all the fixes and even using the German Edition files, I still get silent cannons during large sea battles - all other sounds work fine though.

    MK
     

Share This Page