1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Unconfirmed Bug Bridgetown ctd

Discussion in 'Build Mod Bug Tracker' started by Nb7, Sep 15, 2017.

  1. Nb7

    Nb7 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Sorry to bother you people with another issue :cheeky
    I can't moor on Bridgetown! "abnormal program termination" ???
     

    Attached Files:

  2. salonikasurf

    salonikasurf Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Hay Point Australia
    Nb7
    Your cpmile.log shows you are playing version Build 14 Beta 4 WIP: 2 Apr 2016.

    This is an old version and the one I am using is Build 14 Beta 4.1 WIP: 29 August 2017 - I believe there is a newer one as well. Lots more stuff and well worth updating to the latest version.
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  3. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    From "system.log":
    Code:
    resource\models\ships\Fort\Fort.gm: can't open geometry file
    Something definitely wrong there - fort models are not in the "ships" folder! And in "compile.log":
    Code:
    FortLogin: Can't find character for fort: 'reload_fort1', on island with id: 'Oxbay'
    But the 2nd April version should have been stable, otherwise it would never have been put onto ModDB, and something as drastic as Bridgetown fort crashing the game would certainly have been noticed!

    First, try deleting the file "options" - this sometimes gets corrupted, causing various weirdness, which means deleting it can cure various weirdness. If that doesn't work, try re-installing the game, preferably using the most up to date version. You can find that here:
    Mod Release - Build 14 Beta 4.1 WIP [Last Update: 31 August 2017]
     
  4. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Are you sure? There is definitely a fort defined in ships_init.c .

    But this does sound like a scary erroneous install.
     
  5. Nb7

    Nb7 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    I should note if means something that this happened after i beat the standard storyline, before that i was able to dock there.
     
  6. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    This is happening to me too now, except it is Sao Jorge.

    A little history: The game glitched at Guadaloupe with the interface not working bug. After working the menus in the store for a while the menu buttons started working again. I then tried to leave and go to Philipsburg when the game crashed. It turned out there were two games running! So I continued with the 2nd game. From there I sailed to Sao Jorge, saved, and then went into port. Four times in a row it crashed when trying to go ashore. I deleted the options folder and tried it again with another crash. Here are all files.

    This is ten years into it in game time which is a pretty long time. My record is 17 years so maybe it is time for it to crash and burn.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    Again, "system.log" reports:
    Code:
    resource\models\ships\Fort\Fort.gm: can't open geometry file
    "compile.log" shows you to be using the 31st August version, and I know that one has no problem with Sao Jorge because I've been there in my own game.

    Without deleting your current game, see what happens if you start a new FreePlay game as a Portuguese corsair. That starts you off at Sao Jorge. Either it will crash very soon or you'll be able to go ashore, do the basic tutorial stuff, put to sea, and land again. If it works then there's a problem with your long game. If it doesn't then there's a problem with your install.

    If your existing game is also FreePlay, make sure to change the Profile name before you start - and note that it resets the Profile name to "Player" when you have been into the model or ship selection parts, so change the Profile name as the last thing before trying to start the game. You'll know if it's trying to overwrite an existing game because it asks if you want to delete an old profile.
     
  8. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Wasn't that the exact same error message as the other guy?
    Could an error in the late game start triggering that for specific forts?
    Sounds scary.... If this issue is real, maybe @Levis could have a look if he can make any sense of it?

    I'd start with a search for "fort.gm" in the game code and resource folders.
     
  9. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    So I started a new free play game as a Portagee. Did the tutorial and was able to get to the port fine. That is where it crashes in my old game. I entered the port from both land and see several times to ensure it is working and all went well. I can not enter the port from either land or sea in the old game.

    So it is not the install but the game that glitched. And yes I have been to Sao Jorge many times with a rank of Premio Tenente or something. For now I'm landing at Sunny Haven and hiking into town where everything works normally.
     
  10. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Sounds like at some point something during the game breaks to mess things up.
    But what? And how? And why? o_O
     
  11. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
  12. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Whatever that is, it is too small for me to read...
     
  13. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    You get an enlarged version by clicking on it. It's a quote from Oddball in the film "Kelly's Heroes":
    I only ride 'em. I don't know what makes 'em work.
     
    Hylie Pistof and Pieter Boelen like this.
  14. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Ayup! I'm saying that I will leave it up to others to figure out what happened. You know my motto: You makum, me breakum.
     
  15. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    Now that I think about it, I think I had a similar problem ages ago, when I'd completed "Tales of a Sea Hawk" and went on the rampage, trying to capture all the pirate settlements with the aim of making myself Pirate Boss. After I'd taken the smuggler camp on La Grenade, the game would routinely crash every time I tried to enter Bonaire port. Figuring that there was something broken in the savegame which became fatally broken when I captured the camp, I decided that game was thoroughly played out and started a new one. But that wasn't Beta 4.1; I'm not even sure if it was Beta 4.0.

    If it is a bug which only shows up after you've been playing the same campaign for many game years then it's going to be a nasty one to track down...
     

Share This Page