• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Change ships cabins in an existing game

Alloppatalle

Landlubber
I am trying to see if it is possible to change the ships cabins in a game that is already started (from a first preliminary test, I managed to change them in a new game).

Looking through the code, cabins are assigned to ships in Ships_init.c, and all the properties of these cabins are in boarding.c (there are actually 2 copies of this file, but from my tests only editing the one in "Locations\init" worked).

Now, what I have done using console.c, is:
  • Reinit ships
  • Reinit boarding locations

But this wasn’t enough, because the cabin of my ship didn’t change. I finally managed to change it regenerating my ship with pchar.Ship.Type = GenerateShip(SHIP_Name, true); in console.c.

I am not a programmer, and I have no knowledge of Storm Engine coding, so I’d like to know if it safe to change cabins like this.
And what happens to other ships of the same type? I regenerated the ship only for the main character, right (the pchar in the code)? So the others generated before the ships reinit still have the old cabins?

Specifically which game are you talking about?
The answer is different for different games.

In that case, I am not entirely sure.
Does that game have the cabins per ship specified in ships_init.c?
And does it have a reinitialize functionality?

In ships_init.c there are the ship-cabin associations in the form of refship.CabinType = "Cabin_Small";.
In boarding.c there is a block of code for every cabin that defines the paths to models, to locators, etc.

There is a reinit button in the mod options (it's GoF), but I successfully did a reinit of ships and boarding locations using console.c (I printed some of the updated values in game to be sure the reinit worked).