1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Need Help Changing crew member appearance

Discussion in 'Build Beta and Brainstorming' started by TheGenericSmith, Jul 9, 2017.

  1. TheGenericSmith

    TheGenericSmith Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Is it possible to change the crew member appearance to that of a nation's soldiers? I know I can get soldiers as my crew members (on ship and for boarding) from being a naval officer, but can I have different looking crews as any other profession?
     
  2. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    The boarder model code is a bit of a mess.
    Have a look through InternalSettings.h and see if you can convince it to do something sensible.

    What exactly would you like to tweak?
    And what would you like to tweak it to?
     
  3. TheGenericSmith

    TheGenericSmith Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Basically I want to be able to not be a naval officer but be able to have lets say British Soldiers as my crew whether I chose Britain at the beginning of the game or not.
     
  4. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Oh, that's not too difficult, if I recall.
    Look at the JoinNavy function in NK.c .
    There is a line in there that sets your boarding crew.
    You can execute that separately using the console.
     
  5. TheGenericSmith

    TheGenericSmith Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Im guessing copy that line over to the console then press F12 while in game?
     
  6. TheGenericSmith

    TheGenericSmith Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Or is there a different way to go about it
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2017
  7. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    That is probably the best way. :yes
     
  8. TheGenericSmith

    TheGenericSmith Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    I found this string here

    void JoinNavy(int iNation)
    {
    int i;
    ref ch;
    string model;
    ref pchar = GetMainCharacter();

    if(iNation == PERSONAL_NATION)
    {
    DeleteAttribute(pchar, "professionalnavy");
    return;
    }

    SetRelationsAsNation (iNation);
    ReceiveLetterOfMarque(iNation);

    if(iNation != PIRATE)
    {
    SetRank(pchar, iNation, 1);
    pchar.professionalnavy = iNation;

    pchar.boardingmodels = "Soldiers";
    pchar.boardingmodels.nation = iNation;
    for (i = 1; i <= 5; i++)
    {
    ch = CharacterFromID("Crewmember_0" + i);
    model = GetRandomModelForTypeExSubCheck(true, "Soldiers", "man", iNation);
    SetModelfromArray(ch, GetModelIndex(model));
    }
    for (i = 1; i <= 10; i++)
    {
    ch = CharacterFromID("Treas_Crewmember_" + i);
    model = GetRandomModelForTypeExSubCheck(true, "Soldiers", "man", iNation);
    SetModelfromArray(ch, GetModelIndex(model));
    }
    }
    else
    DeleteAttribute(pchar, "professionalnavy");
    }


    I am by no means a master of using the console, lets say I wanted to change boarding crew to the spanish soldiers, which lines would I copy in to the console?
     
  9. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    pchar.boardingmodels = "Soldiers";
    pchar.boardingmodels.nation = SPAIN;
     

Share This Page