1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Included in Build Companion Officer Duplication

Discussion in 'Build Testing List' started by Mere_Mortal, May 1, 2016.

  1. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    @Mere_Mortal: Do you still have this problem?
    And did I understand correctly that this is just with your new interfaces and should not happen in the Build 14 Beta 4 version?
     
  2. Mere_Mortal

    Mere_Mortal Free Like a Radical Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    568
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Courting the Frown
    Location:
    Middle England
    I started a new game anyway and have not since had any duplicate passengers at all because my interface fixes it, and neither anybody since whose skills have all been green. It affects the original version, I had duplicates in my companions from when I was using it. Basically, I don’t know about the issue with the skills but so far as the duplication is concerned then yes, that is a bug in 14/4 and has probably existed since forever. As I’ve mentioned before, for players with an extensive save-game they may well have a companion or two with dozens of passengers without even knowing it.
     
  3. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    So.... it happens, but nobody ever noticed and it seems to do no harm? o_O
     
  4. Mere_Mortal

    Mere_Mortal Free Like a Radical Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    568
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Courting the Frown
    Location:
    Middle England
    Yep, I guess nobody noticed because companions’ passenger lists couldn’t be accessed.

    For all I know there could be problems if a twin is moved onto another ship where the other one is, but if they’re literally just sat in an inaccessible list then I guess no they couldn’t be a problem in any way.
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  5. Mere_Mortal

    Mere_Mortal Free Like a Radical Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    568
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Courting the Frown
    Location:
    Middle England
    Anyway, I don’t see any harm in fixing this.

    transfer_characters.c

    Original:
    Code:
    void RemoveProcess()
    {
       int i,j,n;
       string oldname;
       string lastname;
    
       i = GetCompanionIndex(refMyCharacter,nMyCharacterCompanionPlace);
       if(i<0) return;
    
       if(nFourImageNum>0)
       {
         j = SetOfficersIndex(GetCharacter(i),nFourImageNum,-1);
    
         if(j>0) {
           AddPassenger(refMyCharacter,GetCharacter(j),false);
         }
       }
       ...
    
    This should work, my own function differs slightly...
    Code:
       if(nFourImageNum>0)
       {
         j = SetOfficersIndex(GetCharacter(i),nFourImageNum,-1);
    
         if(j>0) {
           AddPassenger(refMyCharacter,GetCharacter(j),false); 
           RemovePassenger(GetCharacter(i),GetCharacter(j));
         }
       }
    
    Swapping passengers works fine, which is self-explanatory, and captain also seem to move correctly, so it’s just the remove button which I think has been neglected.
     
  6. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Any chance you could upload the corrected files? I'd want to make sure I get it right....
     
  7. Mere_Mortal

    Mere_Mortal Free Like a Radical Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    568
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Courting the Frown
    Location:
    Middle England
    The file I have is completely original, my new interface has a different file name. I suppose I could reinstate it for general transfers, move some officers about with this code in place and if it all goes well then I could indeed upload the change.
     
  8. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I mean, maybe you could apply it to the Beta 4 version of the files?

    I'm trying to be more careful with what WIP content I include these days.
     
  9. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I think there is a chance that I fixed this one already when I fixed the Officer Skill Contribution for Companion Ships.
     
  10. Levis

    Levis Find(Rum) = false; Staff Member Programmer Creative Support Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,707
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    University Twente (Netherlands)
    From what I can see from the code this fix is indeed needed (and I see it's included already).
    I think this happened from the efforts of making officers work for companions and other captains etc. Somewhere along the line they where added right where they weren't in the past. but the removing of them was never tested enough.
    I'd say this bug is fixed.
     
  11. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I think so too. I added some 'RemovePassenger' code that wasn't there before. :yes
     
  12. Levis

    Levis Find(Rum) = false; Staff Member Programmer Creative Support Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,707
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    University Twente (Netherlands)
    I saw in the code. I'm going to move this to the testing forum.
     
  13. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Then you should also give it a priority for testing. "Included in Build" means "This has been confirmed OK".

    So far, the Testing Forum isn't really working out very well though.
    It does help me as an overview, but players generally don't post feedback until I start massively nagging them.... :wp
     

Share This Page