1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Need Help Copies of ships from the Pirates of the Caribbean

Discussion in 'Ship Modeling' started by Layder, Jun 4, 2017.

  1. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    @Grey Roger mentioned some locators should be removed.
    Plus a set of "penn" ones needed for "mast3".
     
  2. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,420
    I'm not sure what you mean.

    The problem is that, starting from the lower corner of the mainsail, there is one rope going forward, one going aft, and one going straight up. As your picture shows, that looks fine while the sail is set. Now try furling the sails. There are still the same three ropes where the corner of the sail used to be, but because the sail isn't there any more, they look like three solid poles.

    Not replace, add. The existing locators - "flag:f1", "flag:f2", "flag:f3" and "flag:f4" need to stay there. What is needed is additional locators "penn:f1", "penn:f2", "penn:f3" and "penn:f4". If you download my version and look at "mast1.gm", you'll see what I mean.

    Also, your version of "rey_a11" has locators "ropee99911" and "ropee99811". But there are no "ropeb99911" or "ropeb99811" anywhere. These two locators therefore produce "Bad rope" error messages in "system.log", and the ropes do not appear. Either define "ropeb99911" and "ropeb99811" somewhere to finish off those ropes, or remove "ropee99911" and "ropee99811". The same goes for files "rey_a12", "rey_a13" and "rey_a14".
     
  3. Layder

    Layder Sailor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    Well I will do and throw off the mast. On the screenshots, I draw your attention not to the ropes but to the shape of the sail. If you do not use my rope technology, you can not make the sail so wide.
     
  4. Layder

    Layder Sailor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
  5. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,420
    For mast3, PoTC needs both "flag" and "penn" locators. The "flag" locators can have the same co-ordinates as the "penn" locators. The locator names should be the same - "f1", "f2", "f3", "f4". But one set should be in group "flag" and the other set should be in group "penn". I can't read "mast3", but I can read "mast1", so I set up the "penn" locators there. So this is what I mean:
    mast1_locators.jpg

    The ropes you outlined should not be there. They're the result of my attempts to prevent "rey_a11", "rey_a12", "rey_a13" and "rey_a14" from producing "Bad rope" error messages. I was hoping to get a pair of ropes which would go through the middle of the foresail and mainsail spars and would then be invisible. But because those four "rey" are parts of those odd tripods, I ended up with ropes joining the tripods on opposite sides of the ship to each other.

    Remove "ropee99911" and "ropee99811" from each of "rey_a11", "rey_a12", "rey_a13" and "rey_a14". That should prevent the "Bad rope" errors and will not create unwanted ropes.
     
  6. Layder

    Layder Sailor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
  7. Layder

    Layder Sailor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    Dutchman will be transferred?))
     
  8. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,420
    Queen Anne's Revenge now works perfectly in PoTC - thanks! :onya

    At first there seemed to be a problem because when I tried using the new files, the game crashed, without any reports in the log files. Last time that happened, it was due to new flag locators in "mast1.gm", so, suspecting a similar issue, I put back the earlier version of "mast3.gm" and it worked. But last time the actual problem was that "Ships_init.c" wasn't set to use the new flag in "mast1.gm". It does reference the flags in both "mast1.gm" and "mast3.gm" - but it still had the line 'refShip.Flags.NoPennants = true;'. That was to prevent errors due to "mast3.gm" not having any "penn" locators. Now it seemed to be crashing the game because the "penn" locators are now there! After I commented it out and started another new game, with the new version of "mast3.gm", the ship worked perfectly. No crashing and no "Bad rope" reports.
    qar1.jpg qar2.jpg qar3.jpg

    One slight modification I made was to the lateen sail in "mast4.gm". The rope from the trailing corner of the sail ("ropee3312") originally went to the base of the mast, which looked wrong - a real lateen sail which was rigged like that would flap about uselessly. So I moved one end onto the hull, next to the top of the stairs leading to the uppermost quarterdeck. You can hardly see it from an external view of the ship but you can see it if you go to first person view and walk to the stern:
    qar4.jpg
     
  9. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,420
    Not by me, unfortunately. As I said, I can't read several of the files, and unlike "QueenAnnesRevenge_mast3.gm", those ones do contain "fal" locators. PoTC doesn't recognise those. So the model would probably work but would be missing a lot of ropes. The same applies to the Black Pearl.
     
  10. Layder

    Layder Sailor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    In vain you changed the rope. I made it like in a movie:
    [​IMG]
    Textures too it is necessary to replace. The original color does not match the movie version. Plus to all I trimmed the sail so that it looked more prominent.
     
  11. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,420
    The rope which you have outlined goes from the spar, probably to the port side of the hull, and does not exist on the model. The rope which I changed goes from the trailing corner of the sail.

    As for textures, I asked @Pieter Boelen which texture I should use, and his reply in post #557081 was:
    That is why I have kept the original texture.

    Note that the picture from the movie is very dimly lit, possibly at night. In such conditions, the original texture will look darker as well. My screenshots are in full bright sunlight and the sun is facing the side of the ship shown in the screenshots.
     
  12. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Congratulations on sorting out the QAR, @Grey Roger and @Layder! :woot

    For the textures, I don't know what version @Layder has in CoAS. Are those the original ones that came with the model?
    @Legendary_Spider retextured her for us and did a really good job at it too.
    He's a huge film fan, so I'm certain that if he thinks the colours are correct, they must be pretty much right. :yes

    As for replacing the Flying Dutchman in PotC, I think we'd need the unfinished textures by @Legendary_Spider as well.
    Otherwise we might as well stick to the model we already have, no? :unsure
     
  13. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,420
    Have a look at post #557075, where I posted screenshots from GM Viewer showing both versions. @Layder has produced a much darker, duller texture. But screenshots from the movie can be misleading, especially when they are in dimly lit scenes - Queen Anne's Revenge with the original texture looks rather different when the weather is cloudy and rainy, as you'll see if you start a FreePlay game and select the ship - FreePlay always starts with cloudy, rainy weather!

    The new Flying Dutchman is a completely different model. Original:
    flyingdutchman_original.jpg flyingdutchman_original_stern.jpg

    New:
    flyingdutchman_new.jpg flyingdutchman_new_stern.jpg

    We could do with an uncursed texture for the new model so that both versions of the ship are the same except for the texture, as they are with the existing ships.

    But I can not import the model into PoTC because, as I have said, I can not read "mast2.gm" or "mast3.gm" into TOOL, and GM Viewer shows both files to have several "fal" locators. Also, as with Queen Anne's Revenge, "rey_a11", "rey_12", "rey_a13" and "rey_a14" have the "ropee99911" and "ropee99811" locators, which again seem to have no corresponding "ropeb" locators; and, as before, if I try to remove those locators, TOOL crashes while trying to save the revised model, leaving a useless file.
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  14. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Indeed. The colours in the PotC films don't look right anyway. In the behind-the-scenes material, you can see that they actually filmed IN the Caribbean.
    But when I watch the movies, it looks more like the North Sea to me. They've applied some crazy colour grading to make everything look dark and fake.
    Since our games actually DO have a more realistic and vibrant colour scheme, it makes sense to maintain brighter colours for the ship texture. :onya

    I think that's a left-over from the Standard storyline always supposedly starting right after a storm.

    Exactly my point. If we replace the Cursed Dutchman with the new model now, we'll have two totally different versions existing side-by-side.
     
  15. Layder

    Layder Sailor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    About the textures and rope, I do not agree with you. See the Blue Ray version and look in detail at the ship. The ship is made for a film. And should look like in the movie regardless of the lighting. And photos built for the film dekaratsii in the account should not go.
    Here is the color of the sail. Compare it with the ships:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    And draw your attention to the shape of the sails at the bottom. The developers of the film clearly said that they have a ship of rust color. He must look frightening. This is not a red Ferrari)
     
  16. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,420
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    So, depending on lighting, there's one screenshot with not much red on sails or hull, one with good red on the hull and patches of grey on the sails, and one with good red on both hull and sails. One of our textures shows the first ship, the other texture shows the third. And if we really want the ship to be accurate to the movie, those nice round gunports will have to go because the one thing all three screenshots agree on is square gunports. ;)

    The Queen Anne's Revenge was played by the Sunset. So was the Black Pearl. The former was effectively a real-life retexture of the latter. xD
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  17. Layder

    Layder Sailor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    Guys you seriously want to say that on these screenshots revenge is like yours? The first two screenshots from the movie. And clearly my revenge is much more consistent in color:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    And the last screenshot is not even a movie frame. On it is clearly strong sunlight, you will not argue? Well then keep my ship under strong sunlight:
    [​IMG]

    And if you are so focused on lighting... Can throw me at least one screenshot from the movie or at least a photo where revenge looks like this?))
    [​IMG]
    I made the color of the ship so that at certain times of the day it had the right shade:
    [​IMG]
    Compare sails) yours clearly after washing) almost like a Barbossa in the fifth film) Either I'm colorblind or I just do not understand under what lighting your ship looks like the version of the movie) show at least one screenshot)
    But with holes for cannons this is for those who can work in Maya.
    You think that your revenge is like this one?)
    [​IMG]
    You are wrong. It's just such a picture with contrast and saturation. I can make you the same screenshot.
    [​IMG]
    Although your option does not match the color even on this picture) And voobshe why in your revenge such black torches?)
    This fotografie was clearly made during the first appearance of revenge in the film. We only need to remove this saturation and contrast effect and everything immediately falls into place.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2017
  18. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,420
    Personally, I'm not too bothered which texture we use, so as it was @Pieter Boelen who asked me to import the ship into PoTC, I'll go with whatever he says.

    But in all this discussion about textures, a more important point has been overlooked, which is the rope mentioned in post #170. It doesn't exist on the model.

    Or rather, it didn't. It does now. :D
    qar_newrope1a.jpg qar_newrope2a.jpg
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  19. Layder

    Layder Sailor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    I, on the contrary, worry less about the rope), the main thing is that it was in the general picture), although it is attached to the steering wheel):p
    At the expense of color, I already understood) Peter is just too sympathetic Legendary Spider) I would not be surprised if the blue Dutchman will arrange it)
     
  20. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Swapping out colours is easy anyway.
    If you want your colours in PotC, you can do it for yourself.
    Or we can make it an option in the installer.
     

Share This Page