1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Fix in Progress CTD on Low End XP PC

Discussion in 'Build Mod Bug Tracker' started by DAT66, Sep 19, 2017.

  1. DAT66

    DAT66 Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    I can, but logs of the DEBUG 2 setting is at the seventh post.
     
  2. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    That message occurs in the log file just before the crash. Apparently it is consistent.
    But it didn't happen at all in the log file without the crash.
    I don't know the significance of that difference between both cases, but it might be a clue of sorts.
     
  3. Levis

    Levis Find(Rum) = false; Staff Member Programmer Creative Support Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,711
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    University Twente (Netherlands)
    I see.
    It does seem the error happens somewhere during the leveling code but I'm not sure that is to blame.
    Could you maybe set all debug variables to 2 in the leveling.c file and post your log again?
     
  4. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    "Blame" is a big word.
    The Leveling system is quite resource heavy.
    I imagine if a computer does not have sufficient specs, it could have difficulties.
     
  5. DAT66

    DAT66 Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany

    Good Morning West Indie's,

    Here you are, that Test series in the zip for @Pieter is all debug set to 2, as @Pieter instructed me.

    Had a wierd thought (maybe a dream), some mods and even developed game have had serious issues with ATI chipsets, so lots have made two versions or exe's for Nvidia or ATI chip sets. Going to have a look today what friends & I have in our scrap box an assemble a rack without ATI Grafic's Chipset!!!

    See where that leads!
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    We can't recompile the EXE for this game, unfortunately.
    There's just no way. :(
     
  7. Levis

    Levis Find(Rum) = false; Staff Member Programmer Creative Support Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,711
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    University Twente (Netherlands)
    Please download this Leveling.c file and replace it with your current one.
    I think @Pieter Boelen and other will be very happy with this one.

    I've become a better programmer again in the last few months and took a look at my code again. Found some weird things in it and now streamlined it even more. At the moment I can do all of the leveling stuff without the need of postinit. So in this file it's disabled. Please let me know how your loading times are because the computer I use to test might be a bit overkill for this game ;).
     

    Attached Files:

    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  8. DAT66

    DAT66 Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Downloaded without login, funny, now it says 0 DL?:shock
    Done, no change:shrug. Loading time for new game is 95sec, a wee bit more (10-15) than befor.

    Grr, just started unzipping the build 13, for the exe. That lags,... started after the test!
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Levis

    Levis Find(Rum) = false; Staff Member Programmer Creative Support Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,711
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    University Twente (Netherlands)
    @DAT66 could you please enable the debug options again and post the compile log again? (with this new leveling.c file)
     
  10. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male

    That is a valid idea except that this game is from before intel began their dirty tricks campaign, which they only stopped when AMD sued them and intel ended up paying around $150,000,000 in fines. If you want to look for traces of that then DL the ICC Patcher.
    Intel Compiler Patcher Download

    I have been using it for years. It used to make a drastic difference in performance but these days not so much as that old code gets replaced in all the games and apps.
     
    DAT66 likes this.
  11. Levis

    Levis Find(Rum) = false; Staff Member Programmer Creative Support Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,711
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    University Twente (Netherlands)
    @ANSEL could you try the new file too to see if it gives you an improvement? It doesn't require a new game.
     
  12. DAT66

    DAT66 Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    xD:D No, debug to 2 is not good. tryed twice, crash while creating new game (no tut)! will change to 1 ......
     

    Attached Files:

  13. DAT66

    DAT66 Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    With debug 1 i can enter the tut!
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Sounds like exciting news, mate! :woot
     
  15. DAT66

    DAT66 Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Got it, thanks!:bow

    Having a look later, sounds prommissing.

    Getting distracted now im doing several things at once, ... and real live kicks in - need food, AFK for a moment!:cheers
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  16. Levis

    Levis Find(Rum) = false; Staff Member Programmer Creative Support Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,711
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    University Twente (Netherlands)
    the only difference between the debug options is how much is written to the logfiles, so if there is a difference in how much you can load I expect there is a hardware failure here. Maybe it's your drive or your ram.
    I sugest doing a checkdisk and ramcheck to see if any problems arise.
     
  17. ANSEL

    ANSEL Corsair Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,770
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Artist,Painter
    Location:
    Viborg.Denmark
    Yes I will try tonight or maybe to morrow. As I am a convalescent every thing goes a little slow :sick
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  18. pedrwyth

    pedrwyth Privateer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Just to add my two penny worth. When I looked at this I'm pretty sure I tried all flavours of the engine.exe from stock, build 13 , build 14 pre expanded ram and current with no discernable difference (I wasn't using the debugging though). I also used a multitude of postinit numbers without solving things. I am only around near my XP based machine for a couple more days but could possibly look at the last working (on XP) 3.5 and the first none working and winmerge them to find which files changed but it seemed pretty clear it was the leveling re-write. I will try @Levis new leveling file on mine first though (with debug at level 2) and see where that goes so we can rule out a single machine problem with @DAT66 machine - We were pretty clear it was a number (probably all) low end spec (for these days) machines with the difficulties before- (see my other thread)
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  19. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
  20. ANSEL

    ANSEL Corsair Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,770
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Artist,Painter
    Location:
    Viborg.Denmark
    Well cant save no more, total crash down , when I try to,
    INCOMPATIBLE SAVE: -=Player=- Jamaica. Port Royale. Center. November 6th, 1721 is compatible with 0.
    @Levis So I think a new game is needed anyway?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 23, 2017

Share This Page