1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

disc read error

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by ebewil, Jan 22, 2011.

  1. ebewil

    ebewil Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    I keep getting "please insert original DVD" I have original disc in. what should I do?
     
  2. modernknight1

    modernknight1 Field Marshall of Hot Tubs Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,091
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    underwater BB stacker and amatuer basket weaver
    Location:
    USA
    Have you tried deactivating all anti-virous/malware, defender and superfluous programs? I use an AMD optimizer so that my system is maximized. Sometimes this will loosen this problem up. Give it a try.

    MK
     
  3. ebewil

    ebewil Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10

    Yes I have and I'm still receiving same error message, thanks anyway!
     
  4. Stallion

    Stallion Sea Dog News Gatherer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    17,725
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Have you tried the No-CD that GameCopyWorld has? I had the same thing happen a couple times, and it disappeared once I started using that.
     
  5. ebewil

    ebewil Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    I never heard of it. what do I do and how?
     
  6. Stallion

    Stallion Sea Dog News Gatherer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    17,725
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Download the file I've attached to this message, then extract the two files that are in it. You can just delete the reloaded.info file. Copy and paste the dvm.dll file into your Age of Pirates 2 install directory, overwriting the one that's already there.

    The game should now start and run without the CD.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. fadhlanida

    fadhlanida Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Follow what stallion said XD

    if you can find CRACK folder with dvm.dll.

    Copy / Paste it.
    Just outside the folder with the Start Application.
    Not with the Modules......

    have fun !

    When you start as PeterBlood,
    There's a walkthrough around here. =)

    Enjoy the game like i did and still am !! :D

    P.S

    I altered some files...
    HEHEHE

    my bluebird xebec now carry 5,000,000 cargo =P

    For fun ! hohoho !

    can tell me how to change my Bluebird into carrying a 42lbs =P HAHAHAHA
     
  8. ebewil

    ebewil Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    it worked, you are so awesome! thank you very much!
     
  9. Stallion

    Stallion Sea Dog News Gatherer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    17,725
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    No problem. :onya I still think it's hilarious when legit users like you and me have to crack the games they bought to get them to work. xD:
     
  10. ebewil

    ebewil Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10

    yeah, its horrible. are there any guides I can download?
     
  11. Stallion

    Stallion Sea Dog News Gatherer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    17,725
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    For how to crack games? I don't know of any. :no I probably couldn't link to them anyway - I'm guessing that violates the forum TOS.
     
  12. ebewil

    ebewil Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    No. Guides for the game. My ship is slow and horrible and im afraid to sail in the wrong direction cuz it will take me 3 hours to get there and if its wrong im SOL
     
  13. Stallion

    Stallion Sea Dog News Gatherer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    17,725
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
  14. ebewil

    ebewil Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    I docked my ship on a beach in bermuda and made my way to shipyard through a cave and the jerk locked the door behind me at is tryn to charge me $20000 to open it!!!! how do I get my ship back?
     
  15. viktor

    viktor Landlubber

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    it's not working on mine mate, maybe you can help?
     
  16. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,754
    Gender:
    Male
    :ahoy

    The file in post #6 worked for others and myself. You just drop it into your COAS folder and let it overwrite the old one.
     
  17. viktor

    viktor Landlubber

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    thats the one that is not working bro :(
     
  18. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,950
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
  19. viktor

    viktor Landlubber

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
  20. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,950
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
    No problem bud, hope it works for you.:onya
     

Share This Page