1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

disc read error

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by ebewil, Jan 22, 2011.

  1. Lithuex

    Lithuex Landlubber

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey there. I've been having trouble with my game, too. I've had the disks for a while and they always worked, but now, no matter what I do, I can't seem to run the game.
    When I use the cracked dvm.dll, it gives me this error which I have been spending about 4 hours trying to fix
    ---------------------------
    start.exe - Application Error
    ---------------------------
    The application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000022). Click OK to close the application.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------
    When I mount the mds/mdf file, it asks me to insert the original disk, so that doesn't seem to do anything. Anyone got anymore tips for me?
     
  2. Captain.Sparrow

    Captain.Sparrow Freebooter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    129
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lithuania
    for me the same :(
     
  3. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Have you tried both of the fixes posted in the first page?
     
  4. Sornan

    Sornan Landlubber

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    I don't know if this is any help, but I often get the 'please insert original disk' error, and I've just ejected and re-inserted the disk, then let it run and once the default menu comes up I hit exit, then I run the Aop desktop Icon (which runs the executable directly) and it's been fine. Only reason I don't run directly from disk is I don't know if that may cause an issue with Gof which I'm currently running.
     
  5. Trolsnor

    Trolsnor Landlubber

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I know this thread is old but I'm quite desperate for a solution ... I dug up my aop2 from my old game collection and I'm anxious to play it again but it just doesn't seem to work (same problem als you guys)
    Everytime I try to download the dvm.dll Stallion posted last year, I get a download error. When I try the file from GameCopyWorld I either get a downloaderror, either a broken file which is also pretty useless...

    Can anyone help by posting a working link to get acces to this file, or tell me what I'm doing wrong while trying to download it?

    Any help would be much appreciated :)
     
  6. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
  7. PiratesBootyCallin'

    PiratesBootyCallin' Landlubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    The No CD works on Windows 8 Pro FYI... Pirate ON!
     

Share This Page