• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

WIP Early XVIII-century barque

Rider88

Master Mariner
Storm Modder
Storm Modeller
This is my first project in Maya. A few weeks ago I decided to create something in Maya 2013 to compare it with 3D Studio MAX and to decide which program is better and more convenient.

This vessel is a barque-rigged merchant. Her plans was found on one of Russian ship-builders forums. I don't know what is her country of origin but she is definitely an early 1700 vessel.

Armament: 12 guns + 2 stern chasers.

Main deck: 6x6 lbs
Quarterdeck: 6x4lbs
Stern chasers: 2x6lbs.

Maybe she also carried few svivels, but I have no information about that.

Here are some renders:

B1.jpeg
B2.jpeg
B3.jpeg

That's a nice little vessel! Looks like it would make a good replacement for the PotC stock barque. :keith

How are you finding Maya, so far? Have you seen Autodesk's official video tutorials?
For more realistic renders, I'd recommend using the physical sun and sky with the mental ray renderer. (See HERE for an example.)
For more information, search "mental ray" and "sun and sky" in the User's Guide.

My first thought when I saw the first pic was "That's a large Hoy." They were made in 1 and 2 mast configurations.
It will be a welcome addition to the fleet. :onya

Very nice work so far, Rider. And it´s good to see that people are working on merchant vessels, too.

Indeed! Excellent work as usual Rider! :onya

I love all of your work! It inspires!!!

MK

That's a nice little vessel! Looks like it would make a good replacement for the PotC stock barque. :keith

How are you finding Maya, so far? Have you seen Autodesk's official video tutorials?
For more realistic renders, I'd recommend using the physical sun and sky with the mental ray renderer. (See HERE for an example.)