1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Game crashes at sea when sailing from Redmond to Oxbay just after French attack.

Discussion in 'POTC Build Mod' started by CheesybisquitFTW, Apr 19, 2017.

  1. CheesybisquitFTW

    CheesybisquitFTW Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Just after the French attack and take over Oxbay, I go to Redmond, sell some stuff, repair my ship, buy some stuff to sell and head to Oxbay to spy on the French. However, when I sail towards Oxbay the game crashes when I get too close. I tried playing again from another safe but this did not help. There are people that have simular problems on the forums spread from 2005 to present. Would anyone know what causes this bug and how to solve it most effectively? I am using just the base game, ran as administrator on compatibility mode Windows 98/ME to get rid of the slow menu scrolling glitch.
     
  2. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    65,693
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
  3. CheesybisquitFTW

    CheesybisquitFTW Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for the reply,
    I do not have low frame rates and the inventory is fixed, it just crashes at a certain point in the game when a certain spot on the map is entered. I'm using an Nvidia Geforce GTX 750 GPU and my Intel build-in is disabled by default to prevent hardware clashing so this fix would only take up space on my computer and not do anything.
    I put my specs below.
    Specs:
    OS
    Windows 10 Pro N 64-bit
    CPU
    AMD FX-8320
    Vishera 32nm Technology
    RAM
    8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 805MHz (11-11-11-28)
    Motherboard
    ASUSTeK Computer INC. M5A78L-M/USB3 (AM3R2)
    Graphics
    PHILIPS FTV (1920x1080@60Hz) (monitor)
    2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 (MSI)
    Storage
    298GB TOSHIBA MQ01ABD032 (SATA)
    465GB Western Digital WDC WD5003ABYZ-011FA0 (SATA)
    335GB Seagate ST3360320AS (SATA)
    Optical Drives
    ATAPI iHAS124 E (CD-Drive)
    Audio
    NVIDIA High Definition Audio (not in use)
     
  4. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    65,693
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    The filesize of the fix is tiny and can be easily uninstalled.
    You might want to try it, just in case it helps. If it doesn't, at least we'll know for sure. :facepalm
     
  5. CheesybisquitFTW

    CheesybisquitFTW Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    It did nothing, it literally made it crash earlier the first time and the second time it crashed at exactly the same time. There's a sort of border before Oxbay and when you cross it your game just stops working.
     
  6. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    65,693
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    If you have any .log files in your main game folder, please upload them here.
    If you don't have them, see here: New Horizons FAQ | PiratesAhoy!

    Hopefully one of those contains a clue on what is going on, because this is not an issue I remember ever hearing about before.

    This is on the unmodded game, right? You could consider updating to one of the Build Mod versions.
    A lot of stock game bugs were fixed in there.
     
  7. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,725
    There was a problem in an earlier version of the game, though I can't remember how early, let alone if it applied to the stock game. If you had a completely full cargo hold when you were on the worldmap and the day changed, the game could crash. I don't recall it happening when I played the stock game, but (a) that was ages ago and I may simply not remember, and (b) I never had a full cargo hold because buying cargo was something that happened to other people. :rpirate I don't think I even bought food and rum because the requirement to feed your crew was one of the mods, though that may also have been what caused the bug, in which case the bug wouldn't exist in the stock game.
     

Share This Page