1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Mod Release GOF EXTENDED MOORING - Store SIX (6) Ships in Port Control

Discussion in 'TheBlackKnight's Mods and Guides' started by TheBlackKnight, Apr 7, 2014.

  1. TheBlackKnight

    TheBlackKnight Corsaire Flibustier Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Professional Engineer Retired Army Officer
    Location:
    Libertatia
    All,

    This simple direct mod modifies the script for Port Control to allow you to store up to SIX (6) ships at one time in a single city of town effectively doubling the amount that can be stored from default (3 Ships).
    It only changes one file in your installation.

    Useful for a multitude of reasons such as:

    1) Defending your personal port cities from attack
    2) Storing goods for trade
    3) Preparing for a large nation city invasion
    4) Convenience (Preparing for the long journey to CoAS or attacking the "Flying Dutchman")

    This mod is ONLY compatible with GOF and GOF Eras installations that have their maximum fleet amended to use 8 ships instead of the original default FIVE (5) ships.
    If you do not have this modification installed, the mod will not work correctly.

    I will provide a separate mod at some point to bring personal fleets up to 8 ships for those who wish to use this functionality, why it was not included in the current GOF version is beyond me, because if done correctly there are NO problems.
    The reason it was not included the default game is because it increases performance requirements, which were not available during its creation.

    This mod does not negate the maximum number of ships you can OWN and STORE in game which is FIFTEEN (15) across the entire virtual Caribbean.

    If you try to store a SEVENTH ship, the port master will reject you just as in the default settings.

    INSTALLATION:
    1) Download attached "Common_Portman.c" file
    2) Back up your original Common_Portman.c file in a safe location
    3) Overwrite original file in program/dialogues/russian

    No new game is required.
    There are no problems that are caused by using this improved functionality, such as endless dialogue loops, script lockouts, or quest errors EXCEPT if you are not able to use 8 ships in your fleet which causes a dialogue lockout.

    However DO NOT restore the original file for any reason, unless you have removed your ships from storage below the default number in each town/city (3) as you COULD break your game and lose your ships.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 8, 2014
    Blaze Devlin likes this.
  2. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,754
    Gender:
    Male
    I am playing GOF2 and the max fleet size is 5 ships. Can I presume that this might cause problems?
     
  3. TheBlackKnight

    TheBlackKnight Corsaire Flibustier Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Professional Engineer Retired Army Officer
    Location:
    Libertatia
    Hylie,

    I have not tested the code with less than 8 ships in my fleet (GOF 2.0+ and GOF Eras), but its fairly innocuous to do so, and won't break your game.
    Do a quick test for me if you would please.

    0) Install the new Common_Portman.c file after backing up your original
    1) Load up a saved game for testing.
    2) Go to port control and store 4 of your ships in your fleet
    3) Go to the shipyard and buy three more tartanes.
    4) Store the remaining two extra ships.
    4.5) Try and store a SEVENTH ship, port control should reject you
    5) Crosscheck F2 your ship log for your stored ships and captains, they should ALL be there.
    6) Remove four ships from port control.
    7) Sell two ships in the Shipyard
    8) Get the other two ships from port control.

    If you are able to do all this with no dialogue or interface issues, the mod works fine with a fleet of five ships versus a maximum of eight, and we can call this compatible with EVERYTHING.
     
  4. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,754
    Gender:
    Male
    Ok. I hope there are enough ships in the shipyard as I do not have a 5 ship fleet.
     
  5. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,754
    Gender:
    Male
    Nope it didn't work. There were only 4 ships in the shipyard plus my 3 for 7 total.

    I made it to step 6 where it failed. The dialog worked fine and all ships were there but I could not take a ship back from port control. Everything worked perfectly except a ship would not be released to me.
     
  6. TheBlackKnight

    TheBlackKnight Corsaire Flibustier Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Professional Engineer Retired Army Officer
    Location:
    Libertatia
    Well at least we tested it, and determined the failure.
    It is tied to the maximum number of ships in your fleet, that is why I kept the number below 8 in my installation.
    The reason developers used three ships in port control default is the same reason I used six in my mod.
    I will amend the mod notation above to state that it is not currently compatible with GOF installations that do not have the 8 ship fleet mod installed.
    It seems unworthwhile for me to modify this mod below six ships, so I will provide another mod to allow everyone to use 8 ships instead of 5 in their fleet.
    That is worth doing.

    NOTE: By the way, 8 ships is the maximum that can be effectively used in this game based on companions count, as going beyond this causes interface space issues, similar to what was tried for fighters and officer expansion.
    Prisoners on the other hand can go over 40, and they don't all show up in the interface.
    (That is a LOT of models running around the ship hold, and can even crash the game!)
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2014
  7. hammerman777

    hammerman777 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Nice mod

    Adding to game now. Many thanks
     
  8. mrscontrol

    mrscontrol Landlubber

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Is there any way to get 8 ship fleets in GOF ?
    have been searching some time know and couldn't even fin 8 ship fleet fleet for vanilla game...
    mfg miss
     
  9. Valium

    Valium Guest

    Hey, I installed it some time ago and I aboarded 6 huge ships and leave them at Port controll in Martinque.
    Now, I'd like to take them but when I ask port controller to bring me back my ships, there's no possibility to choose one of them.

    There're written ships' names but I can't take them from him.
    It's like mouse doesn't work.

    If I ask him to bring my ship back and there're these names, I can do nothing and I have to turn game off...
     
  10. ChezJfrey

    ChezJfrey Master Mariner Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    221
    This was also a problem in ERAS, which I'm currently sifting through...check that there are dialog handlers for the case of the additional ships, as they were missing in my copy of ERAS code. While the ships get listed in the port controller's text, if the handling logic is not there, the game can't continue when you select past the 3rd one and just hangs. Add the logic for the additional ships in Program\DIALOGS\russian\Common_Portman.c, after the case “ShipStockManBack_3”. Note the pattern of case “ShipStockManBack_4”:.......Link.l2.go = “exit”; break; and insert the following code after the “ShipStockManBack_3” break:

    //Fix add
    case “ShipStockManBack_4”:
    NPChar.ShipToStoreIdx = sti(NPChar.Temp.ShipToStoreId4);
    dialog.text = DLG_TEXT_BASE[175];
    Link.l1 = DLG_TEXT_BASE[176];
    Link.l1.go = “ShipStockManBack”;
    Link.l2 = DLG_TEXT_BASE[177];
    Link.l2.go = “exit”;
    break;

    case “ShipStockManBack_5”:
    NPChar.ShipToStoreIdx = sti(NPChar.Temp.ShipToStoreId5);
    dialog.text = DLG_TEXT_BASE[178];
    Link.l1 = DLG_TEXT_BASE[179];
    Link.l1.go = “ShipStockManBack”;
    Link.l2 = DLG_TEXT_BASE[180];
    Link.l2.go = “exit”;
    break;

    case “ShipStockManBack_6”:
    NPChar.ShipToStoreIdx = sti(NPChar.Temp.ShipToStoreId6);
    dialog.text = DLG_TEXT_BASE[181];
    Link.l1 = DLG_TEXT_BASE[182];
    Link.l1.go = “ShipStockManBack”;
    Link.l2 = DLG_TEXT_BASE[183];
    Link.l2.go = “exit”;
    break;

    case “ShipStockManBack_7”:
    NPChar.ShipToStoreIdx = sti(NPChar.Temp.ShipToStoreId7);
    dialog.text = DLG_TEXT_BASE[175];
    Link.l1 = DLG_TEXT_BASE[176];
    Link.l1.go = “ShipStockManBack”;
    Link.l2 = DLG_TEXT_BASE[177];
    Link.l2.go = “exit”;
    break;
    //End add
     

Share This Page