1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Hornblower Walkthrough - Mar 2010

Discussion in 'The Chronicles of Horatio Hornblower (Horatio Horn' started by Short Jack Gold, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. G1996

    G1996 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    okay hi all once again i'm here. I watched the movies from Horatio Hornblower and got the urge to play the storyline. Well i mostly gladly did and it went smoohtly no unsolvable bugs. However is there somewhere a little change in the storyline so i can change my weapons. Cause i can only release my weapons and never equip them. This is real bad after you finished the storyline cause you can't get a better weapon than the dagger you get once you break out of the French jail.
     
  2. G1996

    G1996 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    okay well last thing solved it self when i saved it and quit. and then restart. However i got a problem thanks to a major bug of HMS Victory. I bought the Dauntless. I became commodore in british navy and my ship changed to HMS Victory. All very nice etc. but it's bugged and damned. My save file of my commodore started to disappear and the game crashes every single time i go to the ship. i thought i just tell this cause it's annoying.
     
  3. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    :gday


    I have recently been sailing the Endeavour, Dauntless, and Victory and they have been working ok. So I don't think it is a problem with the ships themselves.

    Are you playing several storylines at the same time? Some players have reported that having many storylines open can cause problems with saved games. That might be the root cause of your save game problems.

    The Victory is the British reward ship? Do you have any other ships in your fleet? The reward ships can sometimes cause problems. I have received the wrong ship and sometimes other ships in my fleet disappear. :rumgone

    But you got the proper ship, so it should be ok. By any chance did you save the game just before going in to see the governor when you got the Victory?

    The Victory should not crash your game. Do you have error logs?
     
  4. G1996

    G1996 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    where can i find the error logs?
     
  5. Talisman

    Talisman Smuggler Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,825
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hiding From The Coastguard

    How to set up error logging

    Post the error logs ( system - compile - error ) as attachments to a post in this thread.

    :cheers
     
  6. G1996

    G1996 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    okay here are my logs.
    hope you can see what's wrong with it.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. psykopatsak

    psykopatsak Landlubber

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    I'm at the Loyalty part. I did option two. I can repededly not continue after talking to Lt. Bush - the ship's boat is locked. If I despite that sailed to Bridgetown, nothing seemed to happen.


    EDIT: It seems I managed to get the continuation to fire off anyways, but I still had to bypass the locked ships boat.
     
  8. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Aye that part can sometimes be a bit buggy for some reason. Read some of the old threads about how others solved it.
     
  9. Short Jack Gold

    Short Jack Gold Very ancient mariner Storm Modeller

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Florida USA
    I will have a look at this to see if anything is needed to sort this out.
     
  10. Muttrag

    Muttrag Landlubber

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Hey i know this is stupid but i have started playing the The Chronicles of Horatio Hornblower quest line for build 14 beta 2.1 and ive just started the quest my first ship. When i get up to the part where i have to Sail to Guadeloupe, i sail there and the French attack me and i cant reach the beach. please help!
     
  11. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
  12. Takeda-One

    Takeda-One Prussian Corsair Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    579
    Gender:
    Male
    I am stuck at Antigua Land Attack, following the good option 3 in the sharpe dialog, but the beach scene occures buggie :( it saya a mansfield is back but nothing happns when i enter the valley, sharpe doesn't move at all
     
  13. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Could you post a savegame on that part? I can try to get through myself. See what happens.

    Also.... any .log files in your game folder for this one?
     
  14. Takeda-One

    Takeda-One Prussian Corsair Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    579
    Gender:
    Male
    Here is all I can offer:
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Indeed there IS something wrong. Missing initModels.c entries, to be exact.
    Unfortunately that can't be updated anymore in mid-game, but will be fixed in the next update.

    As an alternate solution, open PROGRAM\console.c and find;
    Code:
    void ExecuteConsole()
    {
       ref pchar = GetMainCharacter();
       ref ch;
       int i;
       int limit;
    
    Below this, add:
    Code:
      ch = CharacterFromID("Rifleman Mansfield");
       SetModel(ch, "Rifleman95A3_18", DEFAULT_ANI, DEFAULT_ANI, MAN_HEIGHT, true);
       ChangeCharacterAddressGroup(characterFromID("Rifleman Mansfield"), "Antigua_outskirts", "goto", "goto49");
    Load your savegame and press F12. The scene in the Antigua outskirts now works as it should.
    Then when you continue into the next jungle location, the story continues and Mansfield does appear again.
    Just ignore his portrait file. :wp
     
  16. Takeda-One

    Takeda-One Prussian Corsair Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    579
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks Mate,

    I'll try this asap, but its a great mod, I always loved the H.H. stories :)
     
  17. Takeda-One

    Takeda-One Prussian Corsair Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    579
    Gender:
    Male
    It worked out fine, thanks but the next issue came along right away, lol in the naval HQ in Kingston: no one is there to tell me anything, I even can't find any document in my inv. to be delivered :confused:
     
  18. Takeda-One

    Takeda-One Prussian Corsair Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    579
    Gender:
    Male
    according to the last task...
     
  19. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Huh. That part worked ok for me years ago. Why is it messed up now?
     
  20. Takeda-One

    Takeda-One Prussian Corsair Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    579
    Gender:
    Male
    I fear I'll need another console-input-phrase to solve this here, btw is there such a phrase to alter the nation relations? The actual ones do not fit to the campaign development...

    EDIT: Belay the last point, I got it myself, was very simple

    (SetNationRelationBoth(ENGLAND, SPAIN, RELATION_NEUTRAL); ...)

    "Let us pray, the allmighty never chooses to become neutral..." Sir Edward Pellew on his poopdeck^^
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2013

Share This Page