1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

I can't reach to go from deck to sea.

Discussion in 'Build Support & Troubleshooting' started by Ambrois LeGaillard, Oct 1, 2017.

  1. Ambrois LeGaillard

    Ambrois LeGaillard Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sea Captain and Troubleseeker
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Caribbean
    I have DLed version 4.1, as usual, then I have opened with Win and extracted, and finally I have extracted all the stuff.

    The problem is that now I can't change from "ship deck" to "sea", then I can't move in any way. Let's I explain better.

    I start the game, all ok, I see Malcolm, I can move on my cap'n quarte, open chests, until this things go well;
    but when I go to the deck, and try to push and change to the Sea mode, for go in Map mode and move the ship, I get only the red X.

    Maybe I have did something wrong?
     
  2. Bathtub-pirate

    Bathtub-pirate Sailor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    167
    Gender:
    Male
    Did you tell Malcolm that you remember all the stuff and that he is free to go? Because if you don't do that or sail into the storm right away (the three options that you are offered in the very first dialog) you basically have to follow him around. I think that was a new spin to the tutorial if I am not mistaken (just started to play again recently).
     
  3. Ambrois LeGaillard

    Ambrois LeGaillard Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sea Captain and Troubleseeker
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Caribbean
    Tried, with the same results. I think to have done something wrong.

    Please, tell me the correct way to put the mod, and I will retry this evening when I come from work.
     
  4. Bathtub-pirate

    Bathtub-pirate Sailor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    167
    Gender:
    Male
    If I am not mistaken, after installation of the default game you run the BUILD installer, then you unpack the big archive into the root folder of your game. Then you do the same with the latest patch (extra fix). All three can be found here.

    What is important is that you don't install the game into the program files folder. Since Windows does that by default, you'll have to change the installation path accordingly (if you haven't already).
     
  5. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    You do not touch the big archive yourself.
    The installer takes care of that for you.
     
  6. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,420
    As @Pieter Boelen said:
    ... then you don't unpack the big archive into the root folder of your game. If you do, you overwrite all the new stuff which the installer just put there. If you're lucky, you end up with an obsolete but working version of the game. If you're not lucky, you end up with an unplayable mess.

    So you put the big archive into the same folder as the installer, then run the installer. It unpacks the archive, copies it into place, then copies all the new stuff on top of it.

    But you do indeed unpack the patch file into the root folder of the game installation. It's just a zip file, not an automated installer.
     
  7. Bathtub-pirate

    Bathtub-pirate Sailor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    167
    Gender:
    Male
    Lol, so that explains the weirdness in my game. Mind you, it's still perfectly playable. And new enough for me, since I didn't play in quite a while.

    Pardon the confusion. o_O:D
     
  8. Ambrois LeGaillard

    Ambrois LeGaillard Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sea Captain and Troubleseeker
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Caribbean
    Uhm. I'm reading your explanation, and thought what doing.

    Better I disinstall and reinstall all from scratch (including PotC), also if takes time. I like to have my pirates world that run correctly, then better have a hard remedy than the patient die.

    Actually PotC is in C: Programs(x86)/Bethesda/Pirates of the Caribbean

    What you mean with "big archive"? I see the "Build I4 installer" (the automatic installer), and the "bI4 beta final tar"(a Winrar pack)
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2017
  9. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,420
    In that case, definitely reinstall from scratch! And put it somewhere other than "C:\Programs(x86)". My personal preference is "C:\Games\Pirates of the Caribbean".

    Installing games to "C:\Programs" or "C:\Programs(x86)" can cause serious problems. I learned that from this forum ages ago and have been putting all my games into "C:\Games" ever since.
     
  10. Ambrois LeGaillard

    Ambrois LeGaillard Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sea Captain and Troubleseeker
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Caribbean
    Umphf, I have already done all the work...
    Maybe I take all the stuff from (x86) and paste in C:/Games.

    Edit: DONE: taken from (x86) and copied all the stuff in a new folder, C:\Games.

    Now it is C:\Games\Bethesda\Pirates of the Caribbean
     
  11. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,420
    Depending on what Windows has done to the "Program Files(x86)" installation, that might work. Worst case scenario, if it doesn't work, then you do a whole new clean install. ;)
     
  12. Ambrois LeGaillard

    Ambrois LeGaillard Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sea Captain and Troubleseeker
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Caribbean
    Buuhuuuuh!!!!

    Never see a pirate that cry? Here you will see one! WAAAAHH!!!
     

Share This Page