1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Increase fleet to 8 ships - working mod

Discussion in 'CoAS Alpha & Brainstorming' started by Peregrine, Oct 25, 2013.

  1. Peregrine

    Peregrine Landlubber

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First of all, thanks to all who have contributed to all the mods. I'm currently using GoF 1.2. and I appreciate all the hard work. I didn't have a chance to compare, because with AoP2 I loaded GoF 1.2 right from the start. Years ago I played PoC and AoP1. GoF is great, but I'm missing some things, like the ability to take over the colony after winning over the fort. I tried this once now, and all I could do is get ransom from the governor, but there was no way to kill him to assign my own governor.

    Another thing that was really bugging me now was the limit of only 5 ships. With the ship selections now, it's kind of hard to part with my favorites. I did some research and found the solution. I found most of this on some foreign website (can't remember where anymore) so I'm not taking the credit for it, though it was up to 7 ships, and I increased it to 8 for now. I've played with 8 ships extensively now and found no problems at all (engine is crashing occasionally, but it was crashing just the same before I modified anything).

    The directions are below. The only caveat is, when you try to leave your ships with port control, you can leave the first 4. Choosing anything after that makes the speak selection non-responsive. Even escape doesn't work. At that point you can only use F9 to load the previous quick save. Even after leaving and going to another port control, it only works for the 1st 4 ships. So I'm kind of stuck now when I wanted to use just the lugger to get Edward Law. Unless I sell few of my ships. I tried finding code responsible for that, with no luck. If anyone could figure it out, I'd really appreciate it.

    Modifications to increase fleet to 8 ships:

    Replace / add:

    - Age of Pirates 2\Program\characters\characters.h :
    #define COMPANION_MAX 5
    with
    #define COMPANION_MAX 8

    - Age of Pirates 2\Program\battle_interfac\BattleInterface.c :
    BattleInterface.ShipIcon.iconoffset6 = "70,710";
    BattleInterface.ShipIcon.iconoffset7 = "70,838";
    BattleInterface.ShipIcon.iconoffset8 = "70,966";
    after
    BattleInterface.ShipIcon.iconoffset5 = "70,582";

    - Age of Pirates 2\Program\battle_interfac\WmInterface.c :
    BattleInterface.wm_sign.iconoffset6 = "70,710";
    BattleInterface.wm_sign.iconoffset7 = "70,838";
    BattleInterface.wm_sign.iconoffset8 = "70,966";
    after
    BattleInterface.wm_sign.iconoffset5 = "70,582";

    - Age of Pirates 2\Program\INTERFACE\ship.c :
    replace the line containing
    GameInterface.SHIPS_SCROLL.NotUsed
    with
    GameInterface.SHIPS_SCROLL.NotUsed = COMPANION_MAX - m + 1;
    or if GameInterface.SHIPS_SCROLL.NotUsed doesn’t exist
    simply add it after
    GameInterface.SHIPS_SCROLL.ListSize = m;


    - Age of Pirates 2\Program\INTERFACE\store.c :
    FillScrollImageWithCompanionShips("SHIPS_SCROLL", 5);
    with
    FillScrollImageWithCompanionShips("SHIPS_SCROLL", COMPANION_MAX);

    - Age of Pirates 2\Program\INTERFACE\hirecrew.c
    FillScrollImageWithCompanionShips("SHIPS_SCROLL", 5);
    with
    FillScrollImageWithCompanionShips("SHIPS_SCROLL", COMPANION_MAX);

    - Age of Pirates 2\Program\INTERFACE\ColonyCapture.c
    FillScrollImageWithCompanionShips("SHIPS_SCROLL", 5);
    with
    FillScrollImageWithCompanionShips("SHIPS_SCROLL", COMPANION_MAX);

    - Age of Pirates 2\Program\INTERFACE\cannons.c
    FillScrollImageWithCompanionShips("SHIPS_SCROLL", 5);
    with
    FillScrollImageWithCompanionShips("SHIPS_SCROLL", COMPANION_MAX);


    Image below shows only 7 ships because I was currently making modifications in my fleet and got rid of one.
    7_ships.jpg
     
    Blaze Devlin and Elderlaw like this.
  2. Peregrine

    Peregrine Landlubber

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Coincidentally, does anyone know how to fix this? One of my ships is missing a thumbnail in all scroll lists. Additionally, text describing type of the ship near thumbnails is vertically aligned to center, with large spacing between lines, making the type of this particular ship overlay the class of the ship. If the vertical alignment was set to bottom, and line space is minimized, all could fit nicely.
    Missing Thumbnail.jpg
     
    Blaze Devlin likes this.
  3. dirtnap08

    dirtnap08 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Have you completed any of the national or pirate quest lines? I believe you can't capture cities for yourself until you do. I'm playing GOF 1.2 and that was the case for me.

    There will be an extra dialog option when talking to the governor to take the city for yourself. Then to assign one of your officers to governor position, place him/her as a fighter and talk to them in the residence.

    Thanks for the extra ship code for this version. Will try it out soon.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2013
  4. Peregrine

    Peregrine Landlubber

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male

    Aah.. that makes sense, yeah, I haven't yet. Thanks a lot!
     
  5. Peregrine

    Peregrine Landlubber

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Well, looks like increasing the fleet to 8 ships has been covered in this thread, too:
    http://www.piratesahoy.net/threads/8-companion-ship-max-mod.18737/
    Though I never found it until now. Files there are probably not compatible with GoF 1.2, so the codes above will at least allow you to manually modify your files.

    Looks like modernknight1 was working on an update but never finished. His post #7 is showing the same concerns I have. So if you want more ships but don't mind loosing some functionalities as mentioned in his post, this will work for you.
     
  6. priatnia

    priatnia Lord of France Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    aristocrat
    Location:
    en exile
    Why do I think there is GOF 2.0.7 or even above ?! :ninja
     
  7. Peregrine

    Peregrine Landlubber

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    There's GoF 2 beta, but I'm not crazy about some of the changes there. I think I'll stick with 1.2 for now.
     
  8. priatnia

    priatnia Lord of France Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    aristocrat
    Location:
    en exile
    If you make an update, make it to a newer version, I suppose you would like to have of these 8 some new ships included ?!
     
  9. Peregrine

    Peregrine Landlubber

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    no idea what you're talking about. The instructions above are to be manually applied, and therefore would work in any version, with or without other mods.
     
  10. modernknight1

    modernknight1 Field Marshall of Hot Tubs Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,091
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    underwater BB stacker and amatuer basket weaver
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah I have it working almost perfect in GOF Eras2. The port control glitch still sometimes occurs but I fixed the mission problem and all the dialogue and interface issues that remained with five ships - they all show and reflect 8 ships in all the germane dialogue and pictures now. You still run into the problems of ditching additional ships if you take a quest that requires you to escort other ships, but that problem still existed even when you could only control 5 ships.

    In an aside I experimented with 10 ships even... however it was too much work to hex vector map the new interface pictures for the new ships into a second row of images - and the command issues start getting sketchy and ungainly as well - especially in busy harbors. I have added working ship clutter in my mod as well so you could see a dozen ships at anchor or moving about the harbor besides your own.

    Eight seems perfect to me.

    Sorry I didn't package this into a mod fix update that's separate, but my time is consumed with getting this mod done and then moving across the country. Perhaps when things settle down I will take some of the features I incorporated into Eras and make them separate mods.



    MK
     

Share This Page