1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Information aboute The New Pirate Age - Update! [WIP]

Discussion in 'POTC: New Horizons Mod' started by pirateking, Feb 22, 2017.

  1. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Ok ok.

    @Grey Roger
    Can take a look on My Quesbook Txt if I
    Make it read. I uploaded it in to me Dropbox.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,405
    I can't check every file you create. Please try to check them yourself, then run the game and see if they work. I will help if there is a problem. Questbooks shouldn't be too difficult anyway, they're just plain text.
     
  3. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Ok.

    Plain Text? what did you mean?
    A question have I also to make the Character_Name.Txt Files?

    Cu
     
  4. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,405
    Plain text means what you see in the file is what you see on the screen in the game. Not programming code.

    "Character_names.txt" can go into "RESOURCE\INI\TEXTS\ENGLISH\Storyline\NewPirateAge". It simply lists each character name, then copies it in brackets, e.g.
    Code:
    Roronoa{Roronoa}
    Zoro{Zoro}
     
  5. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Ah ok.
    Files like it is in the Ardent Questbook Folder.
    Good.
     
  6. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,405
    That brings up another point. The purpose of the file is to help anyone who is trying to translate the game into another language. I know, for example, that someone is working on a Spanish translation. So he'll have created a whole new folder, "RESOURCE\INI\TEXTS\SPANISH", in which will be Spanish versions of everything in "RESOURCE\INI\TEXTS\ENGLISH".

    Names aren't usually translated. "Trafalgar D. Law" is the same regardless of language. But descriptive names such as "Skullface" would be translated. And that's why, in the version for "Ardent", you'll find all the names of the Indians, so that "Two Dogs" can be translated; but you won't find "Charles" or "Ardent".
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  7. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    No I mean it about the Questbook Files.
     
  8. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    @Grey Roger
    How can I give in the shipint a ship Red Sails?
     
  9. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,405
    Put these lines in the ship's definition:
    Code:
       refShip.EmblemedSails.normalTex = "sail_whole_red_plain.tga";
       refShip.EmblemedSails.nationFileName = "sail_whole_red_plain.tga";
     
  10. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    @Grey Roger
    Morning Grey.
    Gives an Code which change the Nation if take a Character as Passenger.
    For example: England to Pirate.

    Cu.
     
  11. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,405
    @Pieter Boelen: am I right in thinking that to change your nation, it would be 'SetServedNation(PIRATE)'? You'd probably also want 'SetRMRelation(PChar, PIRATE, REL_NEUTRAL)' or 'SetRMRelation(PChar, PIRATE, REL_AMNESTY)' as well - if you've just joined the pirates then they shouldn't be hostile to you any more.
     
  12. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,609
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I thought we were talking changing the nation of a passenger.
    That is just ch.nation, but what's the point of changing the in mid-game?

    What you say would apply to the player character. :onya
     
  13. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,405
    Changing the nation of the passenger would indeed be easy, but my guess is that the passenger is already a pirate and once you take him aboard, you become a pirate as well.

    Poking around a bit, 'SetRelationsAsNation(PIRATE)' would probably be better. That includes calls to both 'SetServedNation' and 'HoistFlag' as well as sweeping through all nations with 'SetRMRelation', so basically it does everything.
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  14. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,609
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Bit of a warning with that one:
    It is meant to be used at the start of a new game, because it does a hard reset on everything.
    I used it for stuff during the game before, but that had some unintended side effects.
    Specifically, if you already had positive relations with the pirates in this case, it would set those back down.
     
  15. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,405
    Very well. Then, @pirateking:

    To make someone a passenger:
    Code:
    AddPassenger(PChar, characterfromID("Wilfred Roscoe"), 0);
    Replace "Wilfred Roscoe" with the ID of your character. This is not necessarily the same as his name - for example, Skullface's ID is "Dealer", so that's what you'd use.

    So, to make Skullface a passenger and turn the player character into a pirate:
    Code:
    AddPassenger(PChar, characterfromID("Dealer"), 0);
    SetServedNation(PIRATE);
    SetRMRelation(PChar, PIRATE, REL_AMNESTY);
    And if you want one or more nations to become hostile to the player at the same time, you can add:
    Code:
    SetRMRelation(PChar, ENGLAND, REL_WAR);
    Do that for FRANCE, SPAIN, HOLLAND or PORTUGAL, or possibly all of them - no civilised nation likes pirates!
     
  16. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    @Grey Roger

    Please can you check in Dropbox my Quest Lineup and me Quest file. The Quest 0 (Q0) if I make it right.

    Thanks.
     
  17. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,405
    Once again: this won't work:
    Code:
    ChangeCharacterAddressGroup(characterFromID("Golass"), "KhaelRoa", "Goto", "Goto#");
    "KhaelRoa" is the waters around the island, not a location on the island. And "Goto#" is not a valid locator name. You have made the same mistake in several other places. For example:
    Code:
    ChangeCharacterAddressGroup(characterFromID("Woodworker"), "#", "Goto", "Goto#");
    I've no idea where that's supposed to put him, and neither has the game. Location "#" does not exist. Neither does locator "Goto#".

    Edit "PROGRAM\console.c", find the line 'switch(0)' and change the 0 to 2. Edit "PROGRAM\InternalSettings.h", find the line '#define VISIBLE_LOCATORS 0' and change the 0 to 1. Then sail to wherever you want to place the character. Look around for a locator where you want the character to go - changing "VISIBLE_LOCATORS" to 1 will mean you can see all the locator names. Press F12, quit the game and look at "compile.log", where there should be a line near the end that says "Location id: " along with the name of the location.

    You do not need this line more than once:
    Code:
    SetQuestHeader("Main Quest - The Pirate Alliance");
    Presumably the first time a questbook entry will be added is in case "Meet_Hornigold". You can remove it from other cases.
     
  18. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Ok. I change this.
    For the Woodworker I have not look for a Postion, but he will get one.

    Put did I make it right in the Pirate Alliances with Hornigold? Or have I to add a code .
     
  19. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,405
    Case "Start" sends a lot of characters, including Hornigold, to "None". Unless you put Hornigold somewhere later, you can't talk to him.

    Check "Hornigold_dialog.c". Can you see why it won't work? Hint: what happens at the end of case "First time"?

    Have you tried playing any of this to see what happens?
     
  20. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Hm i Must Check the file.

    Ob skullface i have the problem, if I talk with him it starts alleways with the 2nd talk not with 1st talk dialog.

    So i Copy and Edit the code from Skullface.

    No I test it today if I have time.

    @Grey Roger
    Hm i found no error. What did I make wrong?
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2017

Share This Page