1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Information aboute The New Pirate Age - Update! [WIP]

Discussion in 'POTC: New Horizons Mod' started by pirateking, Feb 22, 2017.

  1. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    519
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    @Grey Roger

    SOS
    I have a problem with the walk away command.
    I Add this to the Quest file: LAi_ActorGoToLocation(characterFromID("Hornigold"), "reload", "reload4_back", "none", "", "", "Quest", 120.0); -Quest replace i with the Quest- !
    But he don’t walk away after dialog end he only disappeared.

    I only have problem with the Questbook: the Quest Titel is in the Game but the ather Text with to the Quest is not in game.

    Now all files uploaded in the Dropbox.

    Cu
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2017
  2. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    Play that scene again, then upload "compile.log", "system.log", and "error.log" if it exists.
     
  3. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    519
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Ok that comes later:
    I have get no Error file,
    But the ather I uploaded later today.

    I only can upload the files at 20:00 Europa Time.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2017
  4. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    519
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    @Grey Roger

    Now the files uploaded in the folder Error files!
    Please can you check check it.

    For better understanding you also can read the Quest-Lineup Doc. In the Info Folder.


    And I edit the hair texture from Model Beatrice so she is now in me Project the QuestCharacter James Kidd. but where is the head Model

    Cu pk
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2017
  5. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    519
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
  6. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    In "compile.log":
    Code:
    Actor error: character <Hornigold> now is not actor, his have type <stay>
    Quest name Hornigold_Quest2 FOUND in QuestComplete
    In quest case "Hornigold_Quest2", the 'LAi_ActorGoToLocation' line fails because Hornigold has been set to "Stay" type in his character definition. Add this line immediately before the 'LAi_ActorGoToLocation' line:
    Code:
    LAi_SetActorType(characterfromID("Hornigold"));
    You can also remove this line:
    Code:
    ChangeCharacterAddressGroup(characterFromID("Hornigold"), "Turks_Port", "goto", "P_Character1");
    I suspect the only reason that doesn't make Hornigold disappear before the 'LAi_ActorGoToLocation' line has a chance to move him is that locator "P_Character1" probably doesn't exist. Anyway, you don't need a 'ChangeCharacterAddressGroup' line there because when Hornigold goes to the door, it should trigger case "Pirate_Legacy_Quest", and that moves Hornigold to his seat in Turks tavern.

    It's not in the update archive yet, but it was recently created:
    Screenshots thread
    You'll find that this includes a different texture file for the head model which you may want to edit to match your new character texture. But "James" is a man's name, so why are you using the "Beatrice" model for him?
     
  7. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    Do not post reminders like this. I will look at your storyline when I have time. Reminders like this will not speed up the process, though they may slow it down.
     
  8. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    519
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    @Grey Roger

    I meet first Hornigold at the P_Character1 ob Turks Port.

    This Location is at Ship Port.

    @Grey Roger
    And what is the Problem with the Questbook Text?
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2017
  9. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    No idea. There is nothing in either "compile.log" or "system.log" about the questbook. In which folder have you put "Main Quest - New Pirate Brotherhood.txt"?
     
  10. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    519
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    @Grey Roger

    I put it in init/Storyline/newpirateage/Questbook
     
  11. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    That might be the problem. Questbook text files should go into "RESOURCE\INI\TEXTS\ENGLISH\Storyline\NewPirateAge\QUESTBOOK".
     
  12. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    519
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    @Grey Roger

    Yes it is in this Folder exactly.
    I uploaded I zip file in to the Questbook folder in Dropbox.

    @Grey Roger
    Which Code have to use if:
    Character X Walks to me when I arrive grand Turks?
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2017
  13. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    About the questbook: I have no further ideas about why the text would not appear.
    @Pieter Boelen: have you any idea why questbook text would fail to appear? To save you having to dig through the Dropbox files, I've uploaded the files here. There are errors in "compile.log" to do with undefined characters and items, but nothing that I would expect to affect questbook entries.

    About making a character walk to you: first put the character into actor mode. If he's going to talk to you, you can then give him a dialog command, and he'll walk to you before starting the dialog. Otherwise the best I can think of is to make him walk to a locator.
    Code:
    LAi_SetActorType(CharacterFromID("Hornigold"));
    Characters[GetCharacterIndex("Hornigold")].Dialog.CurrentNode = "Hornigold_Joins"; // Replace "Hornigold_Joins" with whichever dialog case you want him to start with
    LAi_SetActorType(CharacterFromID("Hornigold"));
    LAi_ActorDialog(characterfromID("Hornigold"), PChar, "", 10.0, 10.0); // Hornigold will walk to you and start the dialog.  He has 10 seconds to get to you, then he starts the dialog from wherever he is.
    
    Or to walk to a locator:
    Code:
    LAi_SetActorType(CharacterFromID("Hornigold"));
    LAi_ActorGoToLocator(characterFromID("Hornigold"), "goto", "goto1", "", 10.0); // Makes "Hornigold" walk to locator "goto\goto1".  He has 10 seconds to get there, then he teleports there
    For both of these, if the time is too short (the character teleports to the locator instead of walking the whole way, or he talks to you from a long distance) you can increase the time. I've had a dialog with a time limit of 120.0 on at least one occasion - you enter an area of San Juan and the character might have a long way to go before he gets to you.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Unrelated, but this is of course wrong:
    Code:
    "frigiate2"
    
    I think it would help a LOT if @pirateking would start paying VERY close attention and avoid such errors.
    If you want to do coding, you're going to have to be very exact indeed.

    Which entry is failing to appear? I see several in the code.

    What I'd suggest is to reduce it all to the bare basics.
    Simplest filename possible, placeholder simple text and then see if it can be made to work.
    If it does, make it more complicated step-by-step, testing all the time after every change made.
     
  15. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    At a guess, in case "Meet_Hornigold":
    Code:
    SetQuestHeader("Main Quest - New Pirate Brotherhood"); //Q1
    AddQuestRecord("Main Quest - New Pirate Brotherhood", 1);
    And possibly from case "Pirate_Legacy_Quest":
    Code:
    AddQuestRecord("Main Quest - New Pirate Brotherhood", 2);
    That was my first thought as well - perhaps the system doesn't like long, multi-word questbook names. But "Hornblower" has some of those, e.g. "The Duchess and the Devil.txt", and those work, so that can't be the problem. The actual text in "Main Quest - New Pirate Brotherhood.txt" is basic, without any placeholder variables, so that shouldn't be a problem either.

    One thing I do know is that the entire questbook is read into your profile when the quest starts, which means if you change the questbook, e.g. add extra lines, and then load a savegame with the quest already in progress, the changes won't show up. You have to start a new game, or at least load a savegame from before you began the quest, for any changes to appear in the questbook in the game.
     
  16. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Do we know for sure the correct quest case is executing at all?
    Do we know for sure that it also doesn't work after starting a New Game?
    If both are 'yes', then what I suggested above is all I can think of. Trial and error, really.
     
  17. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    The correct quest cases are certainly executing - they show up in "compile.log".
     
  18. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    519
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    @Grey Roger
    Ather Quest can I remove easy Gibbs in Tortuga, but I add him later to me storyline.
     
  19. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    Yes, that should be possible. You already know from earlier in this thread how to remove a character and how to put a character somewhere. So all you need to do is note where Gibbs normally appears, then put him back there when you want.
     
  20. pirateking

    pirateking Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    519
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    First. I have fixed the Quest info Problem. But don't ask me why.

    I ather Question. I Know that Davy Jones has a fix Quest in POTC.
    But give a ather Possibility that I can make new Quest for Davy Jones only for me Project "New Pirate Age"
    - Maybe a Quest where Davy Jones comes back from the Deaths! -

    Cu pK
     

Share This Page