• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Introduction

Brynn MacPherson

HoO Team Member
Creative Support
Hey there guys,

So about a week ago I showed up and just started to dive into topics, posting thoughts i'd had regarding the direction of this game. I figure it's about time I make a post to introduce myself and explain how I see myself contributing to this effort. This is going to be long so bear with me.

First; a little bit about myself. I am a Systems Administrator working in Vancouver, British Columbia for a Visual Effects studio that focuses on feature films. What this means, is that I work on a team that maintains some of the most powerful and expensive gear on the planet. My personal role involves artist-facing support. I along with one other team member take care of all production hardware/operating systems/production tools for roughly 250 artists and production staff. I work on a daily basis with every aspect of a production studio including Modelling, Animation, Rigging, Texture, Lighting, FX, Compositing etc.

More specifically (and this part is going to appeal to developers more) I follow the DevOps methodology. The full explanation is super complicated, but the bottom line is that I belong to a "New Wave" of Systems Administrators focused on integration between software development, QA and Operations (me).Traditionally, Software Development and Operations exist as two separate entities in a business. This worked great in the 90's when Information Technology was in it's infancy, but now that it's starting to become more mature people are realizing the old model just dosen't work efficiently. DevOps seeks to improve reliability, consistency of product and reduce developer time spent customizing build environments.