1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

JRH quest

Discussion in 'Woodes Rogers (Howard Pyle)' started by Jack Rackham, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    I checked and those files were never included in the old installer (28 july). Strange that they
    show up now. Anyway I can continue for new adventures again.

    :ship
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  2. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,609
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Either they were in @Grey Roger's archive, or I happened to install them before I became completely too busy to do anything.
    If the latter, HOLY CRAP THAT WAS LUCKY! :cheeky
     
  3. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,405
    The files can't have been in my archive because I didn't go digging for ancient stuff, so the only way they'd have got into the archive would be if @Jack Rackham included them in the "Woodes Rogers" update. In that case they wouldn't have been missing. xD So you must have found them somewhere. :onya
     
  4. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    I'm planning where things gonna happen in my quest. France and Spain are hostile. I managed to land at
    Guadeloupe by raising a french flag. When I left the port they sank me just like that. (still french flag)

    It was a very long time since I played this game the wayin a proper way.
    How does this relations thing work? Was I only lucky to reach the port? If not why did they sank me on my way out?

    What I'm after is:
    can I use hostile islands for my quest things or will that be an impossible obstacle for the player.
     
  5. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,609
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Please post your compile.log file; there should be a note in there to explain why you got attacked.

    Of course you can!

    There are several things you can use:
    1. Use iForceDetectionFalseFlag = -1; which will make everyone ALWAYS believe your false flag
    2. Or this if you want to exclude only specific characters:
    Code:
    ch.skipFalseFlag = true;
    
    3. Or ResetCharacterMemory(ch); if a character (such as a fort commander) remembers you as hostile, but that memory needs to be cleared to turn him friendly again
     
  6. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    Thanks for the answer.
    case 1. looks very good. I can't end up in a situation where I can't get to certain ports.

    Also I want to spread the action around the caribbean and so far I have used 6 islands
    but they're all in the northern half of the map. So the spanish main is tempting.

    Here's the log.
     

    Attached Files:

    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  7. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,609
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Bugger, my phone refuses to open that; I'll have to remember to check it when I'm on my computer again.

    In the meantime, you could have a look yourself. There should be a line about why the fort turned hostile.
     
  8. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    Maybe this is it:
    I tried with my personal flag first on my way in. That must be it. But they were fooled
    after that with my false french flag. But on my way out ...

    Never mind. I think I know enough to use any island now.
     
  9. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,405
    That is indeed the fort memory system. It checks every minute or so. If you start off out of range of the fort and then SailTo the port, it doesn't have time to update its view of you since you first arrived and it couldn't identify you because you were too far away, so you're safe for about a minute. During that time, you dock. When you go to sea again, you're immediately in range of the fort, it remembers you, and fires at you.

    Does the quest require you to sail to the port itself? Would it be acceptable to land at a beach and then walk to the port? For that matter, would the quest break if someone lands at the beach and then walks to port?

    The main problem would be Tortuga, which has no beach. If you're hostile to both France and Pirates then you have to risk going in under a false flag.
     
  10. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,609
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    @Jack Rackham: Apparently you are personally hostile with France and the Pointe a Pitre fort saw you sailing around with a Personal flag:
    Code:
    FLAGS: The 'Pointe a Pitre Fort' has spotted us at 884.09 and will remember us as British in Model_SloopBermuda with visibility=900.
    FLAGS: The 'Pointe a Pitre Fort' remembers us as British
    [...]
    FLAGS: The 'Pointe a Pitre Fort' has spotted us at 463.36 and will remember us as personal in Model_SloopBermuda with visibility=900.
    [...]
    FLAGS: The 'Pointe a Pitre Fort' remembers us as personal
    
    Therefore they remember that and don't believe you when you're flying a French flag later.
    Unless you use any of the "bypass methods" from post #65 above.
     
  11. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    It's not necessary to sail into the ports, Just to get there somehow.

    I'll try to use iForceDetectionFalseFlag = -1; to avoid quets stops.

    Tortuga has already some quest action so I cannot avoid it.
    When I imported Tortuga I noticed some interesting things about the location, which I now have
    made use of.
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  12. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    Is there any way/trick to visit a fort without being attacked?
     
  13. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,609
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Are you referring to the dialog triggered attacks?
    I can't remember exactly, but you can probably add an exception to those dialogs if none is in place yet.
     
  14. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    Okay thanks. It looks a little complicated in that dialog file.
     
  15. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,609
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Can you upload one of those so I can have a look?
     
  16. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,405
    If you mean, can you walk into a fort from a land entrance and not have one of the soldiers challenge you, it's very easy. Don't be sneaky.

    If you try to look inconspicuous, keep your weapon drawn and wear a uniform like the fort's soldiers, you'll probably be attacked. If you go in wearing an enemy uniform with your sword drawn, they leave you alone. xD

    It's nothing to do with the uniform - apart from a few places in my storyline, the game doesn't care which outfit you're using. But if you have a weapon drawn, dialogs can't happen, so the guards can't challenge you.
     
  17. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,609
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    That much is true. :yes
     
  18. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    Thanks for that. A little strange though: if you have your sword drawn - they don't attack!!

    Maybe I'll give the dialog file a try anyway. Or just exchange that dialog file with something
    that don't give attacks (in WR).
     
  19. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,609
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    The attack is triggered through dialog and they can't start dialog with character who have their blade drawn.

    That should be easy enough; the storyline dialog files with the same name take precedence over the general ones.
     
  20. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,405
    You can even change dialog file within the storyline. I've done this several times when I want to "borrow" a character and don't want to mess with the general files. For example, I hijacked Adam Groot, one of the citizens of Philipsburg:
    Code:
               PChar.quest.normal_dialog = characters[GetCharacterIndex("Adam Groot")].Dialog.Filename;
               characters[GetCharacterIndex("Adam Groot")].Dialog.Filename = "witness_dialog.c";
    And when I had finished with him:
    Code:
               characters[GetCharacterIndex("Adam Groot")].Dialog.Filename = PChar.quest.normal_dialog;
    You can get rid of all the normal inhabitants of a fort by putting a 'vcskip' on each location in the fort, then populate it with your own characters. When the quest is over, remove your people and cancel the 'vcskip', then the fort can resume its normal activities.
     

Share This Page