• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Keen to Assist – Programming (CryEngine) and / or 2D 3D Modeling

Lodewijk

Sailor
Hearts of Oak Donator
Hallo fellow sailors

I have just spent several hours reading about the work you guys are doing on the “Hearts of Oak” development. I also watched a lot of the YouTube videos posted by Captain Murphy. I am a registered Civil Engineer and as such, the work being done with the CryEngine really fascinated me! Modeling the effects of buoyancy, wind force vectors, drag, dynamic damping etc. is absolutely fascinating! I could not stop reading and watching videos. I would so like to experiment with the physics engine of the CryEngine software.

Besides being and engineer, I also played A LOT of “Age of Pirates 2”, probably in excess of 1000 hours. I know how to sail an actual boat too.

I do not have any experience using the CryEngine SDK although I did study C++ and MatLab programming as part of my undergraduate studies. This was however quite a few years ago. I don’t know if I would be able to add value to the Programming group, but forces, resistances and vectors are my daily bread and butter.

The other area where I might be able to help is with 2D or 3D modeling. Again, I have not used 3ds Max before, but have modeled in Solid Works, AutoCad 3D and SketchUp. I am sure that I could learn to use one of the 3D programs you mentioned in the Recruitment Thread (3ds Max or Maya). One thing that I can do (once I know how to operate the software) is accurate modeling from drawings. I know how to loft a hull from a set of line drawings, for example.

If you think that my inputs could be of value, please let me know.

All the best

Your help would be most welcome! I'm sure @Captain Murphy will drop by soon as well. :cheers