• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Looking for more info on officers

cuban113

Landlubber
After not playing the build mod for years I decided to pick it up again and wow you guys have done an amazing job. I'm having a blast playing but I'm super rusty and feel like a total noob. I been searching the forums for hours now trying to figure out the officer system. What skill points each type contribute? for example i have a gunner 10 on cannons and 10 on aim. On the F2 screen in the passenger tab wen i click the captain it only shows 4 on both maybe I'm doing it wrong?. I was trying to find a guide of what skill points and what abilities i need to give each specific officer role is there something like that on the forum and I just cant find it?

Easiest is to open your PROGRAM\Characters\officers_init.c file with Notepad.
I'm writing from memory here, so I might have the exact filename a bit wrong.
But that is the one that defines the skill contributions for all available officer types.

The file is "PROGRAM\Characters\officertypes\init_officertypes.c". I'm not sure what everything means. For example, for gunner, referred to here as "Cannoneer":
Code:
   OfficerTypes.(type).skills.Leadership = 0;
   OfficerTypes.(type).skills.Fencing = 0;
   OfficerTypes.(type).skills.Fencing.importance = 4;
   OfficerTypes.(type).skills.Sailing = 0;
   OfficerTypes.(type).skills.Accuracy = 2;
   OfficerTypes.(type).skills.Accuracy.importance = 10;
   OfficerTypes.(type).skills.Cannons = 2;
   OfficerTypes.(type).skills.Cannons.importance = 10;
   OfficerTypes.(type).skills.Grappling = 0;
   OfficerTypes.(type).skills.Repair = 0;
   OfficerTypes.(type).skills.Defence = 0;
   OfficerTypes.(type).skills.Commerce = 0;
   OfficerTypes.(type).skills.Sneak = 0;