1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Missing Montbars

Discussion in 'Bartolomeu (Bartolomeu o' Portugues)' started by Grey Roger, Jun 1, 2015.

  1. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    Here is Daniel Montbars standing next to Emilio Soares:
    no_montbars.jpg
    See him?

    Neither do I. Here's why:
    Code:
    ChangeCharacterAddressGroup(characterFromID("Daniel Montbars"), "Tortuga_Port", "goto", "goto18");
    I switched on visible locators in "InternalSettings.h", then went looking for "goto18", and failed to find it. It may be hidden away somewhere; it's certainly not near the dock where you're supposed to meet Daniel Montbars. His dialog line is:
    Code:
    LAi_ActorDialog(characterFromID("Daniel Montbars"), pchar, "", 6.0, 1.0);
    which if I understand correctly gives him about 5 or 6 seconds to get to you before he starts talking, which he won't do if "goto18" is the other side of town or doesn't exist at all. I replaced it with "goto20", which is on the dock, and then he appears - sometimes.

    If I have three companion officers, Daniel Montbars never shows up at all. If I have two, he sometimes shows up; if I have one, he usually shows up. At first I thought this was more officer-related weirdness due to me doing things the quest never intended, so after I'd met him, I thought no more of it and continued with the quest. Bertrand Ogeron probably did something similar when I returned with Martin de Urquiza. The problem certainly did happen again when the "Battle of Aguadilla" quest was about to end and Bertrand Ogeron had summoned the remaining captains to La Tortue dock to divide the loot, and this time, even if I didn't have any officers, one or more people often failed to show up. This line from "compile.log" may be why:
    Code:
    LAi_CharacterLogin -> many logined characters in location (>32)
    It looks as though there are too many people already wandering around town and the game can't spawn Arnaud Fontaines, which breaks the quest as he's supposed to speak right after Bertrand Ogeron finishes. Sometimes Roxanne Lalliere doesn't show up either, and occasionally neither does Bertrand Ogeron. This would also explain why the number of companion officers has an effect but not a consistent one. One solution would be to reduce the population of La Tortue, otherwise this may cause a similar problem if any other quests require characters to meet you there. Or the entire conversation between Bertrand Ogeron, Arnaud Fontaines, Roxanne Lalliere and you could be moved to the governor's residence - after all, he's the governor, he shouldn't come to you, you lot should all go to him. xD (If the other two captains can't spawn on the dock because there are too many people in town then they appear on the town hall stairs instead, and on one attempt I'd talked to Bertrand Ogeron on the dock, went to the town hall to see if anyone was there, and the other two captains said their pieces while I was on the stairs!)
     
  2. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    The missing locator is probably because the old CoAS-based location did have it, but the new VCO-based one added by @Jack Rackham doesn't.
    Using a different locator that does exist is indeed the simplest solution and should work.

    The "too many characters in one location" issue has certainly been cropping up a few times the past two months or so.

    This one was also in Tortuga: http://www.piratesahoy.net/threads/stuck-at-tortuga.25048/
    @Jack Rackham fixed it by temporarily removing the fixed town folk from the port and moving them back again afterwards.

    There is also this one linked to Havana Port: http://www.piratesahoy.net/threads/player-stuck-escort-quest-to-havana.25072/#post-507753
    That one was fixed by me by applying a temporary .vcskip attribute to the location which removes all random characters from the location.
    There is still an open question there to @Bartolomeu o Portugues on the number of BuildingSet lines used there.

    This seems to happen in locations that have a lot of BuildingSet structures added (they count as characters!) and/or have a lot of fixed characters always there.

    I figure that the simplest solution is the .vcskip method as that can be easily added and removed with one line of code in the appropriate spots.
    That also removes only random characters who aren't needed and keeps the citizens in place so players can still ask for directions.
    It also prevents any enemies from being generated in the location, which is good as enemies during quest scenes doesn't work very well.... :wp
     
  3. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    Yes, I'd guessed that the new model La Tortue was the problem. Changing the locator to one which exists near the dock does indeed work, I proved it. ;)

    Which reminds me - I had to replace it in this line, too:
    Code:
    ChangeCharacterAddressGroup(characterFromID("Roxanne Lalliere"), "Tortuga_Port", "goto", "goto18");
    As "goto20" is already used for Bertrand Ogeron, I put her on "goto19" instead.
    That must have worked. If Havana was going to be a problem then I'd have expected trouble during the quest to rescue Bartolomeu's crew. Or, for that matter, the side quest in other storylines to rescue Peter Blood's crew. I've completed both without any problem, despite a pirate crew, a hangman and a squad of soldiers being added to the scene.
     
  4. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Could you upload your changed files some time so I don't forget to change that for the next update?

    My fix applies ONLY to Escort Quests because it removes random characters from the destination until the active quest has completed.

    Note that the Havana problem specifically applied to the PORT location. The Bartolomeu hangman scene is in town.
     
  5. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    Try this:
     

    Attached Files:

    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  6. Jack Rackham

    Jack Rackham HoO Team Member Quest Writer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    math teacher
    Location:
    Sund, Ramsjö, Sweden
    If you need any new/changed locators in Tortuga just tell me.
     

Share This Page