1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Fixed Nigel Blythe Bonaire CTD

Discussion in 'Bug Archive' started by fjx, Sep 11, 2017.

  1. fjx

    fjx . Promotion Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    Ardent storyline, version 4.1 29 August 2017

    While playing Nigel Blythe side quest I appointed him a captain of a 6th class ship (brigantine "Siroco") in order to advance the story, but every time I exit map near Bonaire I get a CTD. All generated logs attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,408
    A date of 29th August has to have come from the final post 7th January fixes archive. Which installer did you run before that archive?

    "compile.log" never seems to get as far as loading the storyline. It gets stuck repeatedly saying:
    I don't know what would cause that. The one thing I can suggest is that file "options" sometimes gets corrupted, leading to various types of weirdness, which means any time I encounter weirdness, the first thing I try is deleting "options". Sometimes it works. So, delete "options" - you'll find it in the top level of your game installation folder, not in "PROGRAM" or "RESOURCE". When you next run the game, it will create the file again, and if you changed anything such as controls, difficulty etc., you'll need to change it again.
     
  3. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,615
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Starting ENGINE.exe, opening and closing the Options menu several times, then closing the game again?
     
  4. fjx

    fjx . Promotion Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    Deleting options file didn't change anything. I have used the Beta 4.1 installer from official release thread.
     
  5. fjx

    fjx . Promotion Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    How about this compile? Please look at the end.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. fjx

    fjx . Promotion Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    I just sailed to another Island before going to Bonaire and it generated like that. Any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,408
    At the end of "compile.log":
    Code:
    SEA: Error: You assigned allied character Nigel Blythe with ID Nigel Blythe to quest group... This is an error!
    SEA: Warn: I am automatically deleting group 'Nigel Blythe', because it's empty
    That's definitely a problem. I ran into something similar while playing the "Jack Sparrow" storyline. The game thinks Nigel Blythe is still part of your party, so he can't be in a separate group.

    Go into "PROGRAM\QUESTS". Rename "quests_side.c" to something else, e.g. "quests_side_orig.c". Then put this one in its place.

    Load a savegame from before you went to Bonaire, then try going there again and see what happens. I haven't had a chance to test this so can't guarantee that it will work.
     

    Attached Files:

    fjx and Pieter Boelen like this.
  8. fjx

    fjx . Promotion Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    :danceIt worked, great thanks to you Grey Roger. And I've already given up hope.
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.

Share This Page