• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Offering modelling help (beginner)

Killick

HoO Team Member
3D Artist
Hello all!

I am very enthusiastic about this project and I would like to contribute. I know the basics of 3D modelling; mainly using Blender, but I do have Maya installed as well. Since I am a beginner, I was hoping that maybe there are some simple objects I could start with. Perhaps a cannon I could work on or so?

Welcome!

Do you have a screenshot of some of your work to post so we can get an idea of what kind of project to give you?

Not really, I'm afraid. Haven't gone much beyond some tutorials. But if you give me a simple task to experiment on I think I could pick it up quickly.

Good to have you here! :ahoyIt's nice to see that you at least have some basics down, but it would certainly be best to start small.
@JOVE23 is someone you should contact about what assets, buildings, props and the like we need. Many of us here use Maya, and .mb files are certainly quite common, but people use other programs as well and make it work just fine. Can't wait to see you get started! :dance

Thanks, I contacted him. Waiting for a reply.

In the meantime I just decided to have some fun and created this 24lb cannon. No idea if it's any good. Probably it's way too detailed.

24lb 1.png

I am no expert, but that certainly looks good, mate. :onya

BTW: I have added you to the Provisional group now. :doff

@Killick
Ask Wedori first before you start modelling this cannon. I'm pretty sure he has allready a 24pdr cannon.

hehe, yes but a 18 pounder is missing ;) Take an Establishment before 1733. The Albans need Bronze shapes, based at 1670 design. 18 pounders.