1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Original POTC pacthes.

Discussion in 'Other & Older' started by Ross_R, Apr 9, 2016.

  1. Ross_R

    Ross_R Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello and good time of the day to everyone. Does anyone have original patches for Pirates Of The Caribbean/Sea Dogs 2, english version, the one without StarForce? I have a really hard time finding them...
     
  2. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Pirates of the Caribbean never did have Starforce.
    It was only Age of Pirates: Caribbean Tales that did.

    What "original patches" are you looking for?
    If you have your game name right, there was never a single official patch released for the Western versions.
    The only thing that exists is our modding work.

    Or is it a "No-CD" patch that you're after?
     
    Ross_R likes this.
  3. Ross_R

    Ross_R Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Ha-ha, thing is, russian version did have Starforce, and it is my curse, because I'm from Russia and my CD is accordingly russian.

    Also, russian CD had official patches up to 1.03. Kinda sucks to know that Western one did not, means I have to try yet another way to launch my old saves...

    Thanks for the quick reply.
     
  4. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    You can try to take the ENGINE.exe from our PotC modpack.

    I'm pretty sure our mod should work on the Russian version as well, though that requires a new game.
    That does suggest the engine executable may be interchangeable. Worth a try, I suppose. :doff
     
  5. Ross_R

    Ross_R Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    The mod definitely works on some versions. I do know that one of our Pirate-dedicated sites actively translates it. Thing is, I want to have an original, unmodded game as well.

    I'm not sure about it being interchangeable. Simply swapping russian 1.0.0.1 .exe with english one caused troubles with XINTERFACE.dll file, an swapping that file caused a brick for the game. I'm ready to try it though, since I'm out of choices. Which version of your modpacks should I use? A link, maybe?
     
  6. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I think the oldest (and therefore smallest) version that has it is PotC Build 13 Final download

    Try to copy both ENGINE.exe and XINTERFACE.dll from there.
     
  7. Ross_R

    Ross_R Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Nope. Unfortunately, the result is just the same, as with the one when I've tried to swap the files from the english version. I've described it earlier though.

    Well, guess it was worth trying.
     
  8. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    You could also try to swap out the entire MODULES folder.
    Plus ALL the "loose files" in the main game folder too.

    The Russian release doesn't have an open PROGRAM folder though, does it?
    That probably doesn't help... :(
     
    Ross_R likes this.
  9. Ross_R

    Ross_R Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Yea, we have data1.dat instead of PROGRAM folder. At least, I believe that is how it works.

    I guess, my best bet is to install Windows Vista now. All the troubles are here because my old GPU burned itself, and the new one does not work with the Windows XP I had installed. I'm tackling this problem for a week already, really do not want to lose the game.

    Thanks for all the help. Really did not expect replies to come that quickly.
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.

Share This Page