1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Tutorial Porting ships from POTC to AOP

Discussion in 'Ship Modeling' started by KroKoDyl, Apr 15, 2008.

  1. KroKoDyl

    KroKoDyl Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    Hi, I'm new and i show you how to copy ship for POTC to AoP

    I do it in <a href="http://files.filefront.com/FlyingDutchmanrar/;10014122;/fileinfo.html" target="_blank">this</a> file

    RESOURCE

    1 Copy FlyingDutchman from ...\RESOURCE\MODELS\Ships\ to ...\Age of Pirates - Caribbean Tales\RESOURCE\Models\Ships

    2 Change name FlyingDutchman to FlyingDutchman1 and all files to FlyingDutchman1 for example

    flyingdutchman1
    flyingdutchman1_121
    flyingdutchman1_mast3
    flyingdutchman1_rey_c3

    3 Copy textures to ...\Age of Pirates - Caribbean Tales\RESOURCE\Textures\Ships and ...\Age of Pirates - Caribbean Tales\RESOURCE\Textures

    PROGRAM

    1 Go to ...\Age of Pirates - Caribbean Tales\Program\sea_ai\walk and copy 1 file and change name to FlyingDutchman_walk

    2 Edit files in ...\Program\Ships directory

    a) Edit ships.h add 1 line for example under
    #define SHIP_MANOWAR

    b) Edit Ships_ini.c

    Good Fun

    <img src="http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/8172/flyingdutchmankh3.jpg" border="0" class="linked-image" />

    Sorry for my bad English
     
  2. Thomas the Terror

    Thomas the Terror Mad Pirate Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4,436
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In me Cabin
    Nice tutorial <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/wink.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=";)" border="0" alt="wink.gif" />
     
  3. yo ho ho

    yo ho ho Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    434
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    <u>To see the Ship in the Shipyard add two lines in:</u>

    Age of Pirates - Caribbean Tales\RESOURCE\INI\texts\english

    string = Brig,"Brigg"
    string = Brig_descr,"Ship description."


    <u>to see a picture in the interfaces go to:</u>

    Age of Pirates/ resource/ ini/ interfaces/ pictures.ini

    <u>and add the following:</u>
    [SHIPS_flyingdutchman]
    sTextureName = ships\flyingdutchman.tga
    wTextureWidth = 128
    wTextureHeight = 128
    picture = ship,0,0,128,128

    <u>And save a picture from your Ship under:</u>
    Age of Pirates/ resource/ textures/ interfaces/ ships

    <u>To see the right ship icon on Worldmap and directsail:

    You must add the following in</u> "Program/Battleinterface/battleinterface.c"

    "<!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->break;


    case "lineship"
    BI_intNRetValue[0] = 4+3*8;

    BI_intNRetValue[1] = 4+3*8 + 1;

    BI_intNRetValue[2] = BI_ICONS_TEXTURE_SHIP1;<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> "

    <u>change lineship with the ship name and search bevor at the shipclass!</u>
     
  4. AmSidar

    AmSidar Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    <!--quoteo(post=250541:date=Apr 15 2008, 08:04 AM:name=KroKoDyl)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (KroKoDyl @ Apr 15 2008, 08:04 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=250541"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->2 Edit files in ...\Program\Ships directory

    a) Edit ships.h add 1 line for example under
    #define SHIP_MANOWAR

    b) Edit Ships_ini.c

    Good Fun<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Can someone explain this more detailed, what i have to edit and for what... sorry KroKoDyl but it does not make any sense to me...
     
  5. yo ho ho

    yo ho ho Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    434
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    you must change ships_c thus the game knows there isa a ship and to define the ship class.
    # define ........


    In Ships_init you define the skills from the ship, like cannons, weight, speed and so on.

    Copy paste the text from another ship in this class.
     
  6. AmSidar

    AmSidar Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    <!--quoteo(post=259236:date=Jun 1 2008, 04:53 AM:name=yo ho ho)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (yo ho ho @ Jun 1 2008, 04:53 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=259236"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->you must change ships_c thus the game knows there isa a ship and to define the ship class.
    # define ........


    In Ships_init you define the skills from the ship, like cannons, weight, speed and so on.

    Copy paste the text from another ship in this class.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Two more question.
    Can i make new class or have to work whit old ones, and am i allowed to change the copied skill what i think is right? You know a ship on what you can only see 50 cannon look strange if you open the ship menu and you see it has 100 on it...
     
  7. yo ho ho

    yo ho ho Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    434
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    You cant create a new ship class.

    Example:
    you wisch to add a brigg, copy paste the briggs ships_ini file. when your new brigg has 20 cannons you must add 4 cannons in the new file.
    You can raise/lower the HP or price or capacity from all ships in the Shipp_ini.
     
  8. AmSidar

    AmSidar Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    <!--quoteo(post=259294:date=Jun 1 2008, 08:14 AM:name=yo ho ho)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (yo ho ho @ Jun 1 2008, 08:14 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=259294"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->You cant create a new ship class.

    Example:
    you wisch to add a brigg, copy paste the briggs ships_ini file. when your new brigg has 20 cannons you must add 4 cannons in the new file.
    You can raise/lower the HP or price or capacity from all ships in the Shipp_ini.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    ok cause whenever i try to put anything in it freezes the game on start.
     
  9. yo ho ho

    yo ho ho Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    434
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    open the error.log. its helpfull to see what is wrong.
     
  10. AmSidar

    AmSidar Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    <!--quoteo(post=259303:date=Jun 1 2008, 08:32 AM:name=yo ho ho)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (yo ho ho @ Jun 1 2008, 08:32 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=259303"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->open the error.log. its helpfull to see what is wrong.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    In the ship h i only have to add a new class nothing else right? I don't have to change ship quantity or something?

    Still not working its does not show up in buy menu.
     
  11. yo ho ho

    yo ho ho Freebooter Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    434
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    <!--quoteo(post=250541:date=Apr 15 2008, 06:04 PM:name=KroKoDyl)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (KroKoDyl @ Apr 15 2008, 06:04 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=250541"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->2 Edit files in ...\Program\Ships directory

    a) Edit ships.h add 1 line for example under
    #define SHIP_MANOWAR

    b) Edit Ships_ini.c<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->


    the define line must have a number.
    how many ships you have in game??
    when you have 30 ships the next new one must havce the number 31.

    #define ship_Brigg(for example) 31

    and look in your game folder there is a "error.log".
     
  12. Jan Marten

    Jan Marten de ZeeRoovers Group Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    440
    Gender:
    Male
    <!--quoteo(post=250541:date=Apr 15 2008, 09:04 AM:name=KroKoDyl)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (KroKoDyl @ Apr 15 2008, 09:04 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=250541"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Hi, I'm new and i show you how to copy ship for POTC to AoP

    I do it in <a href="http://files.filefront.com/FlyingDutchmanrar/;10014122;/fileinfo.html" target="_blank">this</a> file

    RESOURCE



    PROGRAM

    1 Go to ...\Age of Pirates - Caribbean Tales\Program\sea_ai\walk and copy 1 file and change name to FlyingDutchman_walk

    2 Edit files in ...\Program\Ships directory

    a) Edit ships.h add 1 line for example under
    #define SHIP_MANOWAR

    b) Edit Ships_ini.c

    Good Fun

    <img src="http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/8172/flyingdutchmankh3.jpg" border="0" class="linked-image" />

    Sorry for my bad English<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->




    Ahoy and hi hi

    I have inserted 3 ships in AOP. The sailors run in the air .Have everything in the drumming. File tries out. No success. However, stop in the ship. File the Crew on 0 sedate.And with which programme one can put this. PotCWalk? With GM Viewer the vectors checks... nothing. It has not functioned. Excuse for my English. I speak German.
     
  13. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Where'd those ships come from? <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/unsure.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":?" border="0" alt="unsure.gif" />
     
  14. Nick_Sparrow

    Nick_Sparrow Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    <!--quoteo(post=250541:date=Apr 15 2008, 06:04 PM:name=KroKoDyl)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (KroKoDyl @ Apr 15 2008, 06:04 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=250541"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Hi, I'm new and i show you how to copy ship for POTC to AoP

    I do it in <a href="http://files.filefront.com/FlyingDutchmanrar/;10014122;/fileinfo.html" target="_blank">this</a> file

    RESOURCE

    1 Copy FlyingDutchman from ...\RESOURCE\MODELS\Ships\ to ...\Age of Pirates - Caribbean Tales\RESOURCE\Models\Ships

    2 Change name FlyingDutchman to FlyingDutchman1 and all files to FlyingDutchman1 for example

    flyingdutchman1
    flyingdutchman1_121
    flyingdutchman1_mast3
    flyingdutchman1_rey_c3

    3 Copy textures to ...\Age of Pirates - Caribbean Tales\RESOURCE\Textures\Ships and ...\Age of Pirates - Caribbean Tales\RESOURCE\Textures

    PROGRAM

    1 Go to ...\Age of Pirates - Caribbean Tales\Program\sea_ai\walk and copy 1 file and change name to FlyingDutchman_walk

    2 Edit files in ...\Program\Ships directory

    a) Edit ships.h add 1 line for example under
    #define SHIP_MANOWAR

    b) Edit Ships_ini.c

    Good Fun

    <img src="http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/8172/flyingdutchmankh3.jpg" border="0" class="linked-image" />

    Sorry for my bad English<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Do you know and for Black Pearl????
     
  15. blubbx92

    blubbx92 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    I have a Question to this...
    I want to add the Dutchmen to the game so i downloaded it.
    I copy the Modelfolder of the Dutchmen in the Modelfolder of the game and rename all with 1 (FlyingDutchmen1.tga etc)
    Now i have a Problem with the textures because the other Ships in the game have Texturesfolders like Hull1 Hull2 etc and the Dutchmen has only a folder named Textures with all textures in.
    How i have to copy these files?! And where must they are...
    Sorry for my bad English^^
     
  16. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I imagine you downloaded the PotC version of the ship. For the AoP textures, just make those folders and copy the texture files into each of them.
    I'm not particularly familiar with AoP though, so if anybody knows better, feel free to correct me. <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/icon_mrgreen1.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":cheeky" border="0" alt="icon_mrgreen1.gif" />
     
  17. blubbx92

    blubbx92 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    mhm oke but which of that texture files?^^
    because there are so much....more than only 3^^
     
  18. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    The Flying Dutchman texture files I imagine. <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/dunno.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":shrug" border="0" alt="dunno.gif" />
     
  19. blubbx92

    blubbx92 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Mhm....
    i don't really understand what i have to do -.-
    I copied the modelfiles in the modelfolder and the texturesfiles in the textures folder....
    but what exactly i have to change in the othe files?
    in ships.h and ships_init.c???
     
  20. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Basically make a copy of an existing entry and modify it for the Dutchman. I can't be much more specific, being very unfamiliar with AoP. <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/mybad.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":facepalm" border="0" alt="mybad.gif" />
     

Share This Page