• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Abandoned Porting to Storm 2.8 Engine: Is it possible?

Mirsaneli

Privateer
Storm Modder
I was wondering, is it possible to convert the whole New Horizons Mod to Age of Pirates II engine? I'm enjoying the current Mod and every day I get fascinated with new things that make this Mod so dynamic and get the feeling that the ingame world lives it's own life. However, POTC is an old game. It isn't quite compatible with new CPU's and GPU's. Not to mention that Age of Pirates II brought some new features and better graphics. Maybe you guys have already considered this suggestion a long time ago, and I'm as newby and complete noob in storm engine coding, talking about something which maybe isn't even possible. But comparing the POTC with the AoP II which I also have installed on my PC, even in large battles, I don't get any performance drops when playing AoP 2. Also, in AoP II guards attack you when you fight civilians and even attack you if you kill them in their houses. Muskets are fired with both hands and not as pistols etc. So, there are a lot of good things within the Storm engine 2.8, but again, I don't know if this is possible, just saying that it would be a nice thing, cause GoF Mod isn't as close as good like the New Horizons Mod.

We've hoped to do that in the past. Theoretically a lot of that would indeed be possible.
The amount of work, time and effort required borders on the completely insane though

Whatever performance issues we still have in PotC, they're probably because of inefficiencies in the mod coding.
Even if we could port that to AoP 2, we'd port the problems along with it. The real issue there isn't with the engine.