1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Tutorial POTC ships to AOP" COAS

Discussion in 'Ship Modeling' started by Captain Hawk, May 24, 2009.

  1. Captain Hawk

    Captain Hawk Landlubber Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    338
    Hello I have uploaded "Packet_Brig_Potc_Coas.7z" to ftp. Captain hawk folder

    This is a test port of POTC ship to AOP2 COAS.
    First Ship model and walk file.
    Add "1" to your POTC ship folder, "Packet_Brig1".
    Add "1" to All ship gm files also, "Packet_Brig1.gm".
    Ship folder "Packet_Brig1". goes to RESOURCE/MODELS/Ships/.
    You must change "Brig_walk" file to aop format sailorspoints file.
    I think there is in forum tutorial how to do it, so no problem there I hope.
    sailorspoints file named "Packet_Brig1" goes to RESOURCE/MODELS/Ships/ sailorspoints/.
    Next textures.
    Deck texture "Deck.tga.tx" named as "Dick.tga.tx" goes to RESOURCE/textures/.
    Hull texture "Packetbr.tga.tx" goes to RESOURCE/textures/Ships/Packet_Brig1/Hull1, Hull2 and Hull3, folders.
    interface ship pic," Packet_Brig.tga.tx "goes to RESOURCE/textures/INTERFACES/SHIPS/.
    Next text file changes.

    RESOURCE/INI/interfaces/ "pictures" file

    [SHIPS_packet_brig]
    sTextureName = ships\Packet_Brig.tga
    wTextureWidth = 128
    wTextureHeight = 128
    picture = ship,0,0,128,128
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    \RESOURCE\INI\texts\russian\ "common" file

    string = Packet_Brig,"Packet Brig"
    string = Packet_BrigGen,"Packet Brig"
    string = Packet_BrigAcc,"Packet Brig"
    string = Packet_BrigDat,"Packet Brig"
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    \RESOURCE\INI\texts\russian\ "ShipsDescribe" file

    Packet_Brig {
    Packet Brig -Post office hired small brigs to transport letters, packets etc.
    }
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Program/Ships/ "Ships_init" file

    ///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    /// PacketBrig
    ///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    makeref(refShip,ShipsTypes[SHIP_PACKET_BRIG]);
    refShip.Name = "Packet_Brig";
    refship.Soundtype = "lugger";
    refShip.Class = 6;
    refShip.Cannon = CANNON_TYPE_CANNON_LBS12;
    refShip.MaxCaliber = 12;
    refShip.Weight = Tonnes2CWT(250);
    refShip.Capacity = 1000;
    refShip.CannonsQuantity = 22;
    refShip.rcannon = 9;
    refShip.lcannon = 9;
    refShip.fcannon = 2;
    refShip.bcannon = 2;
    refShip.MaxCrew = 250;
    refShip.MinCrew = 32;
    refShip.BoardingCrew = 80;
    refShip.GunnerCrew = 10;
    refShip.CannonerCrew = 40;
    refShip.SailorCrew = 120;
    refShip.SpeedRate = 14.5;
    refShip.TurnRate = 45.0;
    refShip.Price = 250;
    refShip.HP = 2500;
    refShip.SP = 100;
    //refShip.AbordageLocation = "Boarding Deck_02";
    refship.Type.Merchant = false;
    refship.Type.War = true;
    refShip.fWindAgainstSpeed = 2.0;
    refShip.sea_enchantment = 1.8;
    refShip.lowpolycrew = 12;
    refShip.buildtime = 60;

    refship.Rocking.y = 0.5;
    refship.Rocking.az = 0.04;

    refship.WaterLine = 0.1;
    refship.SpeedDependWeight = 0.27;
    refship.SubSeaDependWeight = 0.6;
    refship.TurnDependWeight = 0.3;
    refship.WindAgainstSpeed = 3.3;//boal
    refship.CabinType = "Cabin_Medium"; // boal 28.03.05

    refship.InertiaAccelerationX = 5.5; refship.InertiaBrakingX = 5.5;
    refship.InertiaAccelerationY = 8; refship.InertiaBrakingY = 8;
    refship.InertiaAccelerationZ = 6.0; refship.InertiaBrakingZ = 6.0;

    refShip.Height.Bombs.Y = 1.0; refShip.Height.Bombs.DY = 1.0;
    refShip.Height.Grapes.Y = 2.0; refShip.Height.Grapes.DY = 1.0;
    refShip.Height.Knippels.Y = 15.0; refShip.Height.Knippels.DY = 10.0;
    refShip.Height.Balls.Y = 1.0; refShip.Height.Balls.DY = 1.0;

    refShip.GeraldSails.rey_b2 = 1;
    refShip.GeraldSails.rey_b3 = 1;
    refShip.GeraldSails.rey_b2.vscale = 0.8;
    refShip.GeraldSails.rey_b3.vscale = 0.8;

    refship.Track.Enable = true;
    refship.Track1.ZStart = 0.20;
    refship.Track1.LifeTime = 12;
    refship.Track1.Width = "2.0, 3.0";
    refship.Track1.Speed = "6.0, 8.0";

    refship.Track2.ZStart = -0.15;
    refship.Track2.LifeTime = 7.5;
    refship.Track2.Width = "4.0, 6.0";
    refship.Track2.Speed = "0.15, 0.25";
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Program/Ships/ "ships.H" file

    #define SHIP_PACKET_BRIG 4
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Program/battle_interface/ "battleinterface" file -------- not sure if I have right map ship :shrug

    case "Packet_Brig":
    BI_intNRetValue[0] = 2+4*8;
    BI_intNRetValue[1] = 2+4*8 + 1;
    BI_intNRetValue[2] = BI_ICONS_TEXTURE_SHIP1;
    break;
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Program/scripts/ "ShipsUtilites" file --------- this makes ship avaiable in shipyard :)

    if (iTest_ship == 1) FillShipParamShipyard(NPChar, GenerateStoreShip(SHIP_PACKET_BRIG), "ship3");
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    If you like to test "Packet_Brig" in AOP2 COAS, start new game as holland trader. ship costs about 250 piasters in shipyard. :)
    :drunk
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2015
  2. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I stickied this thread for you. <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/doff.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":doff" border="0" alt="doff.gif" />
     
  3. Captain Hawk

    Captain Hawk Landlubber Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    338
    <!--quoteo(post=322326:date=May 24 2009, 04:59 PM:name=Pieter Boelen)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Pieter Boelen @ May 24 2009, 04:59 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=322326"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->I stickied this thread for you. <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/doff.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":doff" border="0" alt="doff.gif" /><!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Thanks <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/smile.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":)" border="0" alt="smile.gif" />
    I hope someone can help with "ship type name not in user interface" problem <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/buds.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":drunk" border="0" alt="buds.gif" />
     
  4. Captain Hawk

    Captain Hawk Landlubber Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    338
    <!--quoteo(post=322327:date=May 24 2009, 06:09 PM:name=Captain Hawk)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Captain Hawk @ May 24 2009, 06:09 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=322327"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec--><!--quoteo(post=322326:date=May 24 2009, 04:59 PM:name=Pieter Boelen)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Pieter Boelen @ May 24 2009, 04:59 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=322326"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->I stickied this thread for you. <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/doff.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":doff" border="0" alt="doff.gif" /><!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Thanks <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/smile.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":)" border="0" alt="smile.gif" />
    I hope someone can help with "ship type name not in user interface" problem <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/buds.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":drunk" border="0" alt="buds.gif" />
    <!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    thx to moo <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/bow.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":bow" border="0" alt="bow.gif" />
    Iput my common.ini in wrong place. right place is "\RESOURCE\INI\texts\russian\" common.ini
     
  5. rpg

    rpg Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    I greatly appreaciate if anyone can help me out installing the soleil royal 1670 mod into COAS <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/bow.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":bow" border="0" alt="bow.gif" />
    <!--quoteo--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE </div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->files i have edited;
    ships.h
    #define SHIP_TYPES_QUANTITY 31
    #define SHIP_TYPES_QUANTITY_WITH_FORT 32
    #define SHIP_SOLEIL_ROYAL 31

    ships_init
    (i create a copy one from the existing soleyru)
    ///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    /// SOLEILROYAL
    ///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    makeref(refShip,ShipsTypes[SHIP_SOLEIL_ROYAL]);
    refShip.Name = "Soleilroyal";
    refship.Soundtype = "manowar";
    refShip.Class = 1;
    refShip.Cannon = CANNON_TYPE_CANNON_LBS42;
    refShip.MaxCaliber = 42;
    refShip.Weight = Tonnes2CWT(4500);
    refShip.Capacity = 7000;
    refShip.CannonsQuantity = 112;
    refShip.rcannon = 52;
    refShip.lcannon = 52;
    refShip.fcannon = 4;
    refShip.bcannon = 4;

    RPGUtilite.c
    pchar.Ship.Type = GenerateShip(SHIP_SOLEIL_ROYAL , 0);

    \Age of Pirates 2\RESOURCE\Textures\INTERFACES\SHIPS
    I copied SoleyRu.tga.tx and renamed it Soleilroyal.tga.tx

    I put 16 models files into \RESOURCE\MODELS\Ships\Soleilroyal1\

    I put the 4 texture file(deck.tga,deco.tga.tgx,Soleilroyal1.tga.tx,unicorn1.tga.tx) into \RESOURCE\MODELS\Ships\Soleilroyal1\ hull1, hull2 and hull3 each.

    I put sailorpoint file into \Age of Pirates 2\RESOURCE\MODELS\Ships\SAILORSPOINTS

    I edit/add battleinterface.c
    case "Soleilroyal":
    BI_intNRetValue[0] = 4+4*8;
    BI_intNRetValue[1] = 4+4*8 + 1;
    BI_intNRetValue[2] = BI_ICONS_TEXTURE_SHIP1;
    break;

    \Age of Pirates 2\RESOURCE\INI\interfaces\pictures
    [SHIPS_Soleilroyal]
    sTextureName = ships\manowar.tga
    wTextureWidth = 128
    wTextureHeight = 128
    picture = ship,0,0,128,128

    \Age of Pirates 2\RESOURCE\INI\texts\russian\common
    string = Soleilroyal,"King's Man-of-war"
    string = SoleilroyalGen,"King's Man-of-war"
    string = SoleilroyalAcc,"King's Man-of-war"
    string = SoleilroyalDat,"King's Man-of-war"<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    The good thing is i am half underwater and can see sharks. the bad thing is i have no ship. And everytime i pressed 1,2,3 the game crashes.
     
  6. Thengill

    Thengill Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Mölndal Sweden
    Having looked over the data you posted I noticed that your soleilroyal is listed as being ship number 31 and it says you have 31 ships this is wrong very wrong if you have 31 ships soleilroyal should be number 30 the ship count doesnt start at 1 it starts at 0 so in effect number 31 is the fort.
    And you are effectively spawning as a fort, its highly likely thats the cause of you spawning underwater since forts dont float. :p

    There is another thing, the ships_init.c file is that all you have under the entry for soleilroyal?
    If so then it is incomplete.

    I hope this is of any help to you.
     
  7. Fantasia

    Fantasia Landlubber Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Maybe one of you could advise me on a problem i am having with porting the ships....

    As i have mentioned i have just ported the Yacht from PoTC to CoAS, it works fine, the ship sailable, i have attached the "Medium Cabin" to it and it transits between the two fine, all the cannons and smoke effects come from the correct place and so on..

    However....
    <img src="http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n139/Fantasia_011/Yacht.png" border="0" class="linked-image" />

    Notice nothing is on the left side where my ship list should be, i cannot work out why.. If you right click, it's description shows okay and the custom image of the ship i made is there, but their is no ship name...

    Where can i add this?
     
  8. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Do you mean the ship "type", eg. "yacht"?
    In PotC you had to set refShip.SName for the ship type and if it's an unexisting one, add it to RESOURCE\TEXTS\English\common.ini.
     
  9. Fantasia

    Fantasia Landlubber Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Got it, thanks.. It's fully ported now <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/happy.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="^_^" border="0" alt="happy.gif" />
     
  10. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,950
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
    Hi all

    I can't find any tutorial that explains how to change characters starting ships, i want to give Jack Sparrow the Black Pearl and since the smuggler mod added Jerremy Pitt with a Colonial Schooner i want to give Jerremy that as his starting ship and a few other character's need ship types been altered.

    If you can explain how to do this please it will be of great help, i'm playing COAS.
     
  11. Captain Maggee

    Captain Maggee Aussie Pirate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Ok here you go ;)

    Open the file RPGUtilite.c in PROGRAM/characters and then find this line of code
    Code:
    pchar.Ship.Type = GenerateShip((SHIP_LUGGER + rand(2) - 1), 0);
    change this line to something like:
    Code:
    pchar.Ship.Type = GenerateShip((SHIP_BLACK_PEARL), 0);
     
  12. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,950
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
    Thanks for your reply, however i think that will change the ship for which ever character i choose to start with the same ship doesn't it?

    SDorry for not been a little more clear, i don't want to make every character start with the same ship what i want is to give say Jeremy Pit the Colonial Schooner, Jack Sparrow the Black Pearl, so when you choose a character the ship you start with is the ship you would expect them to have, so no need to edit the file every time you start a new game with a different character.
     
  13. Captain Maggee

    Captain Maggee Aussie Pirate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Ah... do this then ;)

    Code:
    if (pchar.model == "Sparrow";) //not sure of model name
    {
    pchar.Ship.Type = GenerateShip((SHIP_BLACK_PEARL), 0);
    }
    else
    {
    pchar.Ship.Type = GenerateShip((SHIP_LUGGER + rand(2) - 1), 0);
    }
     
  14. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,950
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
    Excellent thanks, i will try that out when i get chance.;)

    And i can do that for each of the characters i want to give there own ship types too?
     
  15. Captain Maggee

    Captain Maggee Aussie Pirate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    If you want more than one do it like this:
    Code:
    if (pchar.model == "*model1*")
    {
    ship
    }
    else
    {
    if (pchar.model == "*model2*")
    {
    ship
    }
    else
    {
    defaultship
    }
    }
     
  16. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    How about:
    Code:
    switch(pchar.model)
    {
    case "*model1*": pchar.Ship.Type = "THINGEY"; break;
    case "*model2*": pchar.Ship.Type = "THANGEY"; break;
    case "*model3*": pchar.Ship.Type = "THUNGEY"; break;
    pchar.Ship.Type = "DEFAULT";
    }
    I prefer switches to nested if-then-else statements; those get confusing if they get complicated. :?
     
  17. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,950
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
    Thanks Pietre, but i couldn't get it to work i will try and see if i can get Maggee's way to work in a few minutes, i'm new to editing codes for games, i've done a little editing to other games i have played like FSX and my forum but codes for forums are different to games so that doesn't count.

    Anyway if anyone else has tips on how to get either/both of the above to work that will be great

    Thanks in advance.
    Luke.
     
  18. Jacko

    Jacko Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Hello everyone!

    Maybe even someone have seen or read me my "New Story Idea" in the forum .

    I would add two / three small questions concerning whether additional vessels.

    1. Is there already a good Black Pearl Mod?

    2. What should I do to give, for example, "The Black Pearl," to a NPC, so there may be is a quest-ship or you can simply capers in combat.

    Cu Jack
     
  19. Captain Maggee

    Captain Maggee Aussie Pirate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    There is a Black Pearl in the ship mods I think (it isnt very good though). The Build Mod version is movie accurate and it should be the Pearl you want. I could probably port it over sometime soonish.
    I will take a look at the code and see if the line is the same as the Build...

    Well it isnt but this line should do it:
    Code:
    characters[GetCharacterIndex("*ID*")].Ship.Type = GenerateShip((SHIP_BLACK_PEARL,0);
    Of course you need the Black Pearl for that line to work ;)
     
  20. Luke159

    Luke159 Buccaneer Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,950
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in the caribbean
    I have a problem, where can i find the walk files in POTC for the ships? and the second question is how do i convert them so they will work as sailorspoints files in COAS?

    Ok after searching i have found the walk files now all i need to do is work out how to convert them, can anyone help me there please?
     

Share This Page