1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Problems with Vanilla POTC

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by StefanDMG, Oct 21, 2015.

  1. StefanDMG

    StefanDMG Landlubber

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello!

    My name is Stefan, I'm from the Netherlands.
    I played the original POTC game on the Xbox many years ago and recently I came across a torrent for the POTC vanilla game. It installed without any problems and it also launched without any problems.
    I spawned inside the boat, skipped the tutorial and went straight on land.
    First thing I wanted to do was sell my cargo.

    That's where I ran into the first problem, selecting the right cargo took me almost 3 minutes because the ''select window'' was moving very slowly. I thought it was a bug so I closed the game without saving, started a new game via the main menu and tried it again. Same problem. So I tried reinstalling the game outside the program files folder on my :D drive, which didn't help either. Then I tried reinstalling the game on my USB 3.0 stick, which also didn't help. Then I tried installing the game on my Windows 10 laptop (GTX 960M + intel HD graphics) but it wouldn't even launch on that.

    That's when I ended up here, I don't know how to fix it and I really want to play the vanilla game again.

    These are my specs:

    Operating System
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    CPU
    Intel Core i7 4770K @ 3.50GHz
    RAM
    8,00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 800MHz (11-11-11-28)
    Motherboard
    MSI Z87-G45 GAMING (MS-7821) (SOCKET 0)
    Graphics
    ASUS PB278 (2560x1440@59Hz)
    3071MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 (ASUStek Computer Inc)
    Storage
    223GB Crucial_CT240M500SSD1 (SSD)
    1863GB Seagate ST2000DM001-1CH164 (SATA)
    14GB Kingston DataTraveler 3.0 USB Device (USB)
    Optical Drives
    ELBY CLONEDRIVE SCSI CdRom Device
    Audio
    Realtek High Definition Audio

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    :ahoy

    You found a torrent that actually works? Most do not.

    The slow scrolling is a Win X thing. We have not found a really good cure yet but there are options.

    First read this thread as it will answer some of your questions.
    POTC and Windows 10 | PiratesAhoy!

    Next you will be wanting to read this thread as it has a partial cure.
    WIP - ENB replacer | PiratesAhoy!


    And don't be shy about asking questions.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2015
  3. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I tried PotC on my brother's Windows 10 computer.
    Indeed the Unmodded game had extreme lag in the interfaces; it got much better with the mod installed.
     
  4. Thagarr

    Thagarr Pining for the Fjords! Staff Member Administrator Creative Support Storm Modder News Gatherer Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1970
    Messages:
    5,355
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    CNC Machine Operator
    Location:
    Steeler Country
    Ahoy, @StefanDMG, welcome aboard mate!

    The reason your laptop wouldn't run it is because of the Intel graphics, it is one of the biggest problems with this game over the years. The best software fix were were able to cone up with can be found HERE. Though it is certainly not a perfect solution.

    You would think with the advent of most gaming laptops sporting an additional dedicated graphics card that this problem would be a thing of the past! Sadly, that is not the case. On a lot of systems with dual graphics cards, the Intel drivers automatically choose the Intel graphics chipset to run older games, regardless of what you set your Nvidia configuration for. I am not sure why this is the case, but it is really quite annoying! Other games have this problem as well, and there are really only two solutions I have been able to find that will work. The first one is to disable Secure Boot. Unfortunately this does not always work for some reason, but it is worth a try, you can find the instructions HERE!

    The second one is a bit more expensive and requires purchasing a new laptop with a built in hardware graphics switch, but it is the only solution that I have found that works every time. I chose the second solution, but have yet to have the free time to install POTC and confirm that it works. I will get to it... eventually!:wp
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  5. StefanDMG

    StefanDMG Landlubber

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello, thanks for the welcome! :)

    I've read your comments, thanks for the advice.
    So basically, the only ''partial'' solution is installing the ENB replacer?
    I don't mind the game not running on my laptop, I just want to play it at home.

    @Hylie Pistof

    Yes, I forgot to mention it but I downloaded this torrent a year ago when I still had a W8.1 laptop. It ran the game fine after installing the Intel HD fix, but I don't own that laptop anymore.
    Is there any alternative for torrenting the game? I've never seen a purchasable copy online. If I could download it somewhere legit, that would be great.

    Stefan
     
  6. Talisman

    Talisman Smuggler Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,825
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hiding From The Coastguard
  7. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    If the game ran from your copy before, then it must be a hardware issue.
    The Intel Fix probably works. The game may not look as good with it as otherwise, but it is quite acceptable and runs well, from what I hear of the people using it.

    At home you had the "slow motions" problem though, didn't you?
    You may want to install our modpack and see if that helps.
    It did for my brother's Windows 10 PC.
     
  8. StefanDMG

    StefanDMG Landlubber

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Will installing the modpack change the whole game? Like having extra quests etc.?
    I'm just looking for a fix for the vanilla game, I would really like to keep it as original as possible.

    @Hylie Pistof

    I tried the ENB fix, it didn't change anything, still the same problems :/
     
  9. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Yes, it will. You could try some of the ancient versions if you don't want changes:
    Downloads - Pirates of the Caribbean: Build Mod 13 for Pirates of the Caribbean

    I do have to wonder why you would want that. The unmodded game was a bit... shall we say.... not so epic as the modded one.... :rolleyes:
    The original game content is still there, of course. The good content anyway. So the main quest remains, though there are some improvements to it here and there.
    And the original game ships are there too, though improved (some massively so).
     
  10. StefanDMG

    StefanDMG Landlubber

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Because I used to play it a lot as a kid, the game has a lot of nostalgic value for me. I don't want any big quest changes :).
    I'll try this modpack, thanks.
     
  11. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    For the Standard storyline, there aren't any big changes. Some parts smoothed out, but that's all.
    Of course the interfaces are updated and there are many, many new features and ships and extra sidequests and storylines.
    So gameplay would be different and for the most part better. But indeed not the same. :shrug
     
  12. niels

    niels Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    @StefanDMG Hi iam also from the Netherlands, like me you have a Intel and Nvidia graphics card on your laptop, it is commonly known that Nvidia Optimus (Battery saving mode) chooses to use the onboard Intel Graphics, iam not sure if you have founded a trick but I'll have.
    Note: I'll use the Dutch version because my language is set on Dutch also, if any one wants a English version just ask me.
    Step 1: Open Nvidia Confuguratiescherm.
    Step 2: Go to Bureablad click on "Voeg uitvoeren met grafische processor" aan het context menu.
    Step 3: Rightclick on POTC and select "Uitvoeren met grafische processor" "Krachtige NVIDIA- processor (standaard)"
    (Optional) If this does not work then open Nvidia Confuguratiescherm again, go to 3D-instellingen beheren "Algemene instellingen" and click on "Krachtige NVIDIA-processor" and then "Toepassen"
    If you repeat step 1 and 2 again there should be a option that says "Krachtige NVIDIA- processor (standaard)"

    And dont forget always download the newest drivers cant really hurt I'll guess click this link for newest drivers.
    Drivers - Download NVIDIA Drivers

    Concerning Windows 10 I'll personally dont know how to fix it, And I'll recommend the Build mod.
    And I have also a pirated version, I dont know if it is allowed
    to encourage pirated download.
    But if you want a good version just ask me.

    Note: If it didnt work just ask me again and I'll explain it again.:napoleon
    Note2: If you download the newest drivers, then repeat these steps again, Nvidia always sets it back to default.
     
  13. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    We do try to discourage software Piracy.
    Though that can admittedly be difficult at times because the game is so hard to find these days.
    Not being able to play a game you want to simply because you can't buy it is a really lame reason. :facepalm
     
  14. niels

    niels Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    @Pieter Boelen Yeah its hard to get on a legit copy, a while back ago I was looking for a legit copy on different sites, and the prices ranged from 20 Euro's/Dollars to 50.
    I'll personally dont think it is worth it, so it was a pirated version for me which works great btw.
     
  15. StefanDMG

    StefanDMG Landlubber

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for all the comments, I'm really starting to like this community :)

    @Pieter Boelen

    Could you explain to me how to install the POTC mod build 13?
    [​IMG]
    I think I did something wrong haha.

    @niels

    Thanks for the help, but I'm not trying to fix the version on my laptop right now. Might try that after my exams, but the only place I use the laptop is at school so I probably wouldn't play it on my laptop at all.
     
    niels likes this.
  16. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Quoted from the ModDB download description:

    Installation Instructions:
    1) Follow the installation procedures in the installer file
    2) Let the installer run the RunMe.bat file and follow it's instructions
    3) Change the game's settings in BuildSettings.h
    4) Change the game's controls to your liking
    5) Start a new game and ENJOY!
     
  17. Bartolomeu o Portugues

    Bartolomeu o Portugues Buccaneer Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,621
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    web developer
    Location:
    Viana do Castelo - Portugal
    I think for my netbook, I'm going to install Build 12 :rolleyes: Nostalgia...
     
  18. Talisman

    Talisman Smuggler Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,825
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hiding From The Coastguard
    Build 12 !! :eek: :eek::eek:
     
  19. Bartolomeu o Portugues

    Bartolomeu o Portugues Buccaneer Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,621
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    web developer
    Location:
    Viana do Castelo - Portugal
    I said in my netbook :D. My desktop has Build 14 of course.
     
  20. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands

Share This Page