• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Realistic Smaller Caribbean and other Questions

Strannik

Sailor Apprentice
Programmer
Provisional
Hearts of Oak Donator
Hi! I just started to play new horizons and I'm amazed at how awesome it is! I have a couple of questions for which have not been able to find answers here in the forums. I apologize if this is not the place to ask them. Any help is greatly appreciated.

1. How do I increase my luck?

2. If I have a carpenter with a defense of 10, does this serve the same purpose as having a surgeon?

3. Do I have to keep books, microscopes, etc. in my inventory in order for the bonus to be added? or is it enough for me to read them and put them in the chest inside my ship?

4. Do all cities have tailors? How to find them?

5. If I have an awesome Master at Arms, is it the same as having multiple officers?

6. What is the difference between the Carronade and long gun?

I finally decided to go iron man and I absolute loved it. However, the caribbean is too big for the amount of time that I have available in my real life. I would like to be able to cross it at 20x in about 30-40 minutes.

Looking on the forum I found a thread with a file that may be related to what I want: PROGRAM\NK.c
(see http://www.piratesahoy.net/threads/time-scalar-not-working.21389/).

I tried changing the WDM_MAP_TO_SEA_SCALE and TIMESCALAR_SEA variables, and it seems to do what I want, but the map is completely off. Does anyone know what else should I change?

Last edited:
:ahoy

This is the place and we will see about answers.

1. You increase your luck by talking to people. Lots and lots of people. This also increases your leadership.

2. Umm, maybe. Their skill sets are different so one may help a little more in other areas than the other.