1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Not a Bug Reconnoiter captured Speightstown city bug

Discussion in 'Build Mod Bug Tracker' started by Edvinas681, Apr 19, 2017.

  1. Edvinas681

    Edvinas681 Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    During one part of the quest where you have to escort the baroque carrying ammunition the captain of that ship tells you that I need to bring my ship in the Saint Pierre port in order to set sail but every time I sail to the port, the fort attacks me regardless of the flag I fly. What could be the problem?
     
  2. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,112
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Please try again and then posted your compile.log file here afterwards.
    That will probably contain a mention of what happens and why.
     
  3. Edvinas681

    Edvinas681 Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    I don't know if I was able to do so before but I tried to sail to the port again and I was able to moor at the port even though the fort was still attacking me. I was able to get the ammo ship to travel with me, though the fort sunk the barque for me so I got that going for me, which is nice :p Here is my compile.log, maybe you will figure something out.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,112
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    According to compile.log:
    Code:
    FLAGS: The 'Saint Pierre Fort' remembers us as personal
    
    Apparently you were spotted before by the fort while flying a Personal flag.
    I assume you're personally hostile with France, right?

    To sort that out, you can either:
    - Get another ship (one they don't recognize)
    - Make peace with France
    - Get into town from the beach out of range of the fort
     
  5. Edvinas681

    Edvinas681 Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    @Pieter Boelen Yes, I was personally hostile to France due to letter of marque I got from Silehard, and as you know in that timeline the English are hostile with France. But don't false flags work? What criteria contributes to the fort not recognizing you?
     
  6. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,112
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    False flags work fine.
    But if the fort first sees you with a hostile flag, then later with a false friendly one, they won't believe the friendly one.
    Because they already saw you as being hostile before. ;)
     
  7. Edvinas681

    Edvinas681 Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    So the only ways to reset the forts memory is if it was attacked, if you change your ship and if you make peace?

    Edit: @Pieter Boelen Also, is it possible to make so that false flags work even though fort knows you as hostile? If so, could you tell me how?
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2017
  8. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,112
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    The fort commanders are fairly clever. For them to remember you as an enemy, they just need to SEE you flying a hostile flag.
    And unless they've got a valid reason to forget about that, they won't.... :diomed

    There is no ingame way to do it, except to give them a valid reason to as described in post #4 above.
    But of course you can "cheat" anything through console:
    Code:
    ResetCharacterMemory(CharacterFromID("YOUR FORT COMMANDER"));
    
    Replace "YOUR FORT COMMANDER" with the relevant character ID as found in PROGRAM\Characters\init\FortCommandants.c .
    You probably need the "Falaise de Fleur" one.

    Or maybe even easier:
    Code:
    ResetAllForts(FRANCE);
    
     
  9. Edvinas681

    Edvinas681 Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    As always, thank you very much Pieter Boelen!! This will be very helpful!
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.

Share This Page