1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Low Priority sail animations not working

Discussion in 'Build Mod Bug Tracker' started by Hylie Pistof, Aug 20, 2017.

  1. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    So I started a new game on a new clean install. I chose the Hoy as my starter ship and me being me, immediately reshaped the sails. :type1

    With the stay sails I swapped the locator 1 and 2 locations. Then I noticed that they were no longer moving in the breeze, but they did raise and lower normally. I put them back and they work normally.

    I then played the beta 4.1 game and used the Castel Freiderichsburg, which has the same sail layout, and its stay sails do not move either.

    Both installs are on the same base stock game. Could someone else sail the Castel F and confirm/deny this is happening?
     
  2. Martes

    Martes Master Mariner Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    195
    Are you referring to triangle (sailt locator group, 3 locators) or rectangle (sailf locator group, 4 locators) sails?
     
  3. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    What was this sail WMF error you mentioned?
    I have literally never ever heard of any such files ever before! :shock
     
  4. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    @Martes I changed the sailf stay sails to sailt and then swapped the 1 and 2 locators. I also deleted the 4 locator.

    @Pieter Boelen That was my memory at work, or not. It was probably WMV. Or something like that.

    After playing for hours and watching the stay sails on the Castel F, sometimes they do not move at all, sometimes they will jerk every now and then, and very rarely they work as they are supposed to.

    This is at 1X speed as at faster speeds they move as they should.
     
  5. Martes

    Martes Master Mariner Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    195
    Hmm... Are you sure you didn't lose any ropes attached to the sail? I noticed that sails without ropes at the ends and with them behave differently.

    Edit: (or, alternatively, have you removed the 2nd rope from the removed locator?)
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2017
  6. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,628
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Either way, it's completely new to me! :shock
     
  7. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    I just looked and sail1 on the Hoy has no rope and only one sail locator has a rope on sail2. They use existing ropes.

    The Castel F is similar with only one locator having a rope. How do they behave differently without a rope? Anyway, adding more ropes isn't difficult.
     
  8. Martes

    Martes Master Mariner Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    195
    Without at least one rope attached to at least one corner of the sail the animation does seem quite reduced.
     
  9. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Well, I changed them back to sailt, swapped locators 1 and 2, and added ropes so all corners have one and every once in a great while they will work at normal speed. At 3x or 10x speed they work fine, but at 1X speed they mostly do not work on this install.

    The 4th locator, sailf4, never had any ropes attached to it as it was placed as close to sailf1 as possible and was only there to keep the bottom of the sail from arching.

    EDIT: I'm getting some large logs and perhaps someone could look at them. I started a new game at Martinique, sailed to Grand Turk, then sailed to Tortuga.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Here it is. That WMV is there too, but the locator is not.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Martes

    Martes Master Mariner Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    195
    You have a ton of missing files, it seems.
    but sails.wmv is just a video background of an encounter event, nothing critical.
     
  12. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Ayup. It looks like I need to DL the big file again.
     
  13. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    So I now have a new install with all new installer files. Started the main quest and it seems to run better but the stay sails are still stuck when at 1x speed. Guess that is just how it is.

    But got some interesting log files. One is a sound error and the other is the infamous memory leak.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,768
    Gender:
    Male
    I gave up and went back to the 4 point sailf as I would rather have the animations than the different sail shape.
     

Share This Page