1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Tutorial Setting up Code::Blocks

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by Erwin Lindemann, Apr 25, 2009.

  1. Mudd

    Mudd Sailor Apprentice Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks Pieter!!
     
  2. Peter Willemoes

    Peter Willemoes Corsair Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    <!--quoteo(post=315802:date=Apr 25 2009, 08:47 PM:name=Erwin Lindemann)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Erwin Lindemann @ Apr 25 2009, 08:47 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=315802"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Does anyone have any experience with getting POTC to run on an integrated Intel Card (915 GM to be precise)? I tried to get it to run on my office laptop, because I'd prefer to use that one for developement and testing. I can get it to load to the worldmap or into indoor environments, but everything that's outside and it crashes without any kind of notice in anywhere in the logs. I believe it's the shaders, but beyond them I'm clueless.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    In fact, I do. My old Shuttle XPC had exactly that chipset. I remember having a lot of crashes, even when playing the version that is considered very stable, Build 13 Final. But it would run for hours before doing so and I was able to track the error.log. The game was released in 2003 and I bought the shuttle as new in 2005. DirectX 8 is on the drivers disc - dunno what shader version that contains, though..
    Sorry not being able to be more precise, Erwin.
     
  3. Erwin Lindemann

    Erwin Lindemann Landlubber Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    <!--quoteo(post=317735:date=May 6 2009, 12:31 AM:name=PeterWillemoes)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (PeterWillemoes @ May 6 2009, 12:31 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=317735"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->In fact, I do. My old Shuttle XPC had exactly that chipset. I remember having a lot of crashes, even when playing the version that is considered very stable, Build 13 Final. But it would run for hours before doing so and I was able to track the error.log. The game was released in 2003 and I bought the shuttle as new in 2005. DirectX 8 is on the drivers disc - dunno what shader version that contains, though..
    Sorry not being able to be more precise, Erwin.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    No problem. I kinda gave up on getting it to run and now I have a 30 megabyte version of POTC on the laptop that just loads up to the start screen and then immediately exits again, so I can at least see if it compiles without problems. For actual playtesting I just have to move my lazy *** to the other PC <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/smile.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":)" border="0" alt="smile.gif" />
     
  4. computica

    computica Master Mariner Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Dock Worker
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Oh my gosh thanks! This will make things MUCH more easier!
     
  5. computica

    computica Master Mariner Storm Modder

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Dock Worker
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Here's definition files for CodeBlocks. All "special" commands of PotC will be visible as keywords.

    After uncompressing three files should be created, which are to be put in temporary directory.

    For Windows Vista:
    1. Install CodeBlocks
    2. Run it once and exit
    3. Go your Folder withe your name on it <i>Your User Name</i>\AppData\Roaming\codeblocks and overwrite <i>default.conf</i> file with the one from archive
    a) Folder Application Data is hidden, so to get there there should be access to hidden files (don't tamper with other files and folders there; just replace that one file).
    b) <u>User</u> is login name of the <u>user</u> which installs and <u>uses</u> CodeBlocks.
    4. Two other files (<i>PotC.cbp</i> and <i>PotC.layout</i>) should be put in PotC main folder (together with engine.exe)
    5. Run CB again, click to open exiting project and select <i>PotC.cbp</i>.

    The Vista Version! <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/wink.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=";)" border="0" alt="wink.gif" /> If you can't find it press Alt while in one of your windows, go to Tools-->Folder Options--> Click the "View" Tab--> and click the "View Hidden Files and Folders" button. Make sure you change it back once your done.

    Thanks KK a very handy tool.
     
  6. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    The PotC.cbp and PotC.layout only work as long as you don't remove/rename any files. But removing and renaming of files happens all the time! <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/whippa.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":whipa" border="0" alt="whippa.gif" />
    In other words... it doesn't work for me anymore. <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/modding.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":modding" border="0" alt="modding.gif" />
     
  7. konradk

    konradk Privateer Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    713
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    Just create a new empty project with all *.c and *.h files from PROGRAM\ folder should do.

    I have quite a lot of ctds when using those CodeBlocks.

    pirate_kk
     
  8. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Beats me how to do that. The program appears advanced enough. Unfortunately <b>I</b> am not advanced! <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/mybad.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":facepalm" border="0" alt="mybad.gif" />
     
  9. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands

Share This Page