• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Sorry if its the wrong place...

Lord Smoggy

Landlubber
Hi, newbie here, I've recently installed this game after discovering it (was a huge fan of sea dogs back in the day), so was naturally excited to play it, only issue is, I can not get it to run. I've exhausted through multiple threads on here that troubleshooted problems but no avail for me.

Whenever I launch the game, it says 'Initializing Direct x 9' , then next line it gives me 'InitDevice::Create Device', and then finally fails by saying 'Internal Driver Error', then the pop up 'ENGINE has stopped working' lands the final nail in the coffin.

I'm pulling my hair out here, I have attempted installing TAGE drivers (problem persisted), even attempted swiftshader, which got me to a blank screen at least. And compatibility modes the lot. Even installed the NO-disk crack that was suggested in another post.

My specs are Windows 7, Graphics - GTX 750ti, CPU - Intel 4670k.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

:ahoy

Where did you install it to? Windoze will not let it run in Program files or the desktop.

Hi! Thanks for the reply, I installed it to the C drive, not too the program files, I noticed that while sweeping through these forums in search of answers :) Should of mentioned that in the first post :D

Worth a shot, but could it have possibly something to do with my Engine ini? I havent modified it in any way though.