1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Fixed Storyline Bug

Discussion in 'Bug Archive' started by Nightmare1200, Sep 19, 2017.

  1. Nightmare1200

    Nightmare1200 Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    I play storyline of tales of sea hawk by nathinal hawk
    i have a mission when i have to go to boniare island to retrieve the cargo that pirates stolen so i have to destory the ship that carries that cargo
    when i destory the ship i land on a shore with black sea i don't know what is that exacly so when i press
    hot action command it tells me if i should assign an officer or not
    i click exit and leave the boarded ship then i have screen
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 19, 2017
  2. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,629
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Log files and save game?
     
  3. Nightmare1200

    Nightmare1200 Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Sorry where is the log files
     
  4. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,629
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Main game folder after the error occurred.
     
  5. Nightmare1200

    Nightmare1200 Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    is that it ?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,629
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Yep.

    Also:
    Code:
    Build 14 Beta 3.3: 19 Jan 2015
    Savegame Compatibility: 14.907
    
    OOOOOLD!!!!! :shock

    I don't think these log files correspond with your error though. According to this, the last place you've been was the Speightstown Tavern:
    Code:
    Template <goto> -> path not found chr.id = Oxbay_officiant
    ItemLogic: On load location Oxbay_Tavern
    
     
  7. Nightmare1200

    Nightmare1200 Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    so what should i do i enjoy playing the game i don't want that to happen :modding
     
  8. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,629
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
  9. Nightmare1200

    Nightmare1200 Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    iam windows XP and i tried installing but i couldn't and i searched why and i made a thread then one told me that windows Xp cannot install the installer send the 3 errors
    have a look on this thread
    Solved - i can't install the mod
    i would appreciate it if u fixed the problem
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2017
  10. DAT66

    DAT66 Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi Nightmare,
    You know this Site has a Wiki - all Quests are listed so far.
    I am currently in Brave Black Flag - AND im not a quester, i am an Irish Rebel, kicking British Navy butt's (and who ever starts trouble, come on punks)! Do some quests (cause theyre there), but play my own Story. (Open World RPG, do what you want).

    The Bug you have is disturbing, looks like its just frozen! I have that sometimes (rare, very rare) while boarding. Changing to next deck or back to Sea, needs alot to load, there is a critical moment for modded games (most crash or freeze on Worldspace Change).

    This may increase your performance, i have less issues:
    Open your engine.ini with notepad++ (or equal)
    go to line 21 - numoftips = 0 ; 0 = Disable Loading Screen Tips
    go to line 22 - tracefilesoff = 1 ; 1 = NO error logs (helps with game performance)

    I recomend the usual save, quit, reload or reload a save before. Yes, you loose progress till there, but save often then its not much.
    BTW: Dont overwrite saves, use new save (always), you can backup youre save folder somewhere (limited saves) if its full.
     
  11. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,629
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I thought you figured out what was going wrong with installing the mod? It should not be very difficult to do... :unsure
     
  12. DAT66

    DAT66 Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    He did, indeed, no matter - the latest update does not work on older pc with OS WinXP. Last working befor 4.1 is our 3.4!

    It would be fine if you could provide a support for people who dont have the latest Hard & Software, something like a low end option in your installer!
    This Game is so old based on a 32bit engine and should work on a 32bit OS, but it doesnt. Holding previous, working versions could be pleasant for some users.
    Just a thought, no request, i play what i get.
     
  13. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,629
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Would be nice if we could do that, but we don't even remotely have the manpower to support older versions with bugs that have already been fixed.
    This isn't because we don't want to, but because it is a physical impossibility to get it all done.

    The only thing we could do is to try and narrow down what it is that causes problems on older systems and see if we can find any small changes that can be made to get past that.
    I figure that the most likely cause of performance issues with Windows XP is the new Levelling system, because that one does put some major additional strain on the system.
    But it also has some settings to play with that should be able to reduce that problem.

    To make use of that, you guys would need to install the latest version first.
    Then we'd have to re-find the settings and then you'll have to do some trial-and-error to figure out if changing them does any good.
    If you guys can figure it out, then we could maybe add a "low end settings" option as part of the latest installer.
     
    DAT66 likes this.
  14. DAT66

    DAT66 Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany

    To be honest, I've thought about adding stepwise some of the update for me, but I'm concerned about my lack of skills! All I know is from learning by doing, over 10 years.
    Didn’t even start looking if I can get ENB working. That smoothened my Skyrim extremly, even cleared some Vram.

    I am currently installing a second game in another location, and will update that to 4.1! EDIT: setup uninstalls have to see how you done that Twin install.

    After that I would need some hint where to beginn. I don’t know how your scripts rely on eachother, so I cant just overwrite certain files. I could beginn with the textures, a killer for Vram, if to extended.

    If someone here can guide me a wee bit, I would offer time to help. How much I understand we will see. Another IF, we should open another post for this then.

    Thank you for thinking about it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2017
  15. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,629
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    If you already have performance issues, I wouldn't recommend ENB. That tends to make it quite a bit worse.

    What do you mean? I am not aware of the installer doing any "uninstalling".
    Unless that is something @Mad Jack Wolfe added in the latest version?

    Or do you mean the game installer itself (rather than the mod)?

    Step 1: Try to get the latest Build 14 Beta 4.1 WIP functional
    Step 2: If it doesn't work, try to describe as accurately as possible what goes wrong
    Step 3: If it does work, but you have unplayably bad performance, start a new thread here.
    I've got a fair idea on what might be the culprit and how to tackle it, but we need to get to this point before we can try that.
     
  16. DAT66

    DAT66 Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    As i mentioned, ENB can also increase performance. Using all effects and possibility's though is only for high end GPU's and much Vram, but that’s another thing!

    For the installer, yes I ment the Game installer, not your's. Detected my install and deleted it.
    No problem, after reinstall I copyed it to another folder - works on both, now im installing "my" version 3.4, that im playing.
    The other folder gets the 4.1, have it already, tried to update as I ran into this issues last week.
    The problem was then and possibly will be; CTD at every door after starting new game at Pirate settlement Nevis.

    When I have this sofar I'll open a new thread here.
     
  17. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,629
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    That indeed explains it.
    I made a ZIP containing the unmodded game and am using that instead of the original CDs.

    First thing to test is to start the game on default settings.
    Regular storyline and tutorial.
    See how far you get before it crashes. Then when it does crash, start a new thread and attach the log files from your main game folder.
     
    DAT66 likes this.
  18. Nightmare1200

    Nightmare1200 Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    well i passed it that misson i was having difficulties cuz the ship always surrender when i boared and kill the captian it crashes as soon the health of the captian is 0 it crashes so i had luck and this time the ship didn't surrender and i sunk it and successfully passed this part of the misson
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2017
  19. Nightmare1200

    Nightmare1200 Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    one another question
    i heard the game doesn't crash but the game crashes like 7,8 times while i play or cuz iam older version ?
     
  20. Nightmare1200

    Nightmare1200 Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks all for replying iam grateful and i hope this kind of missions doesn't come again
     

Share This Page