1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Guide Tips & Tricks for Playing the Game

Discussion in 'POTC: New Horizons Mod' started by Pieter Boelen, Jun 29, 2013.

  1. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,767
    Gender:
    Male
    In POTC--->program--->internalsettings.h in the section at the top, it is the first line under "included in Iron Man mode". Set that to "1" to enable the world map and move the islands far apart. It then might take a week game time to sail between two close islands in direct sail and it is possible to miss an island completely.

    I can't say if you will like it or not, but it is the most realistic mode, especially if you choose not to use the world map.
     
  2. Cpt.Kidd

    Cpt.Kidd Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Privateer
    Location:
    England
    I seem to be enjoying it, just moved a hold of Sugar from Havana to San Juan using only a compass, a map of the Caribbean and some guess work. Not to mention the tension of finding ships along the way and having to identify them and scaring myself by confusing Spanish flags for pirate flags.

    As a side note; I found a sextant yet it doesn't display my location on the map like you said it would? I tried equipping it but no dice. Forgot to mention the fact that I've been pouring over the captain's log the entire journey, noting down every minute detail just to add to the immersion.

    EDIT : Sorry for de-railing this thread entirely, just felt like saying my piece.
     
  3. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,767
    Gender:
    Male
    The basic clock and compass do not allow you to see your location on the map. You need the chronometer and normal or enhanced compass as well as the sextant.

    This is the tip & tricks thread so chat away. :cheers
     
  4. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,615
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Open Sea Mod is always enabled in Iron Man Mode.
    You might want to consider using Realistic Game Mode with a couple of those extra realism options that Hylie mentioned switched on.

    And like Hylie says, you need a Sextant AND a Chronometer.
     
  5. Cpt.Kidd

    Cpt.Kidd Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Privateer
    Location:
    England
    Sounds like a plan, can't stress enough how good this modding community is. I thought I was at the pinnacle with Gentlemen of Fortune, but New horizons has surpassed it ten times over. Mainly due to the direct sail feature.
     
  6. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,615
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    We've spent quite a few more years on New Horizons, since we started on that in 2003. :cheeky
     
  7. Mafeking Smalls

    Mafeking Smalls Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    York/UmeƄ
    As a native English speaker and decent writer, if there are files like this "tips and tricks", or dialogues that could use editing I can do my best to add some input, University permitting of course, if people point me in the right direction.
     
  8. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,615
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    You'd be welcome to improve whatever you can.
    The Tips & Tricks are found in RESOURCE\INI\TEXTS\ENGLISH\about_build.txt
     
  9. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,408
    Dialogues are to be found in either "PROGRAM\DIALOGS\ENGLISH" or "PROGRAM\Storyline\<name of story>\dialogs\ENGLISH". Routine dialogues are in the former, as are some to do with the standard storyline; story-specific dialogues are in the latter.
     
  10. Themule08

    Themule08 Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Searching the forums for help on how to active a port attack.. please help
     
  11. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,615
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    You want to attack a town? Just attack the fort.
    If the town doesn't have a fort, you need the Ability for it and then select "Land Troops" in 3D sailing mode while flying a flag hostile to that town.
     
  12. Themule08

    Themule08 Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    How do I attack Charlestown? Is their a trick? because I can't get it up the hill to the fort.
     
  13. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,615
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I don't remember trying. Not sure if anyone did after Armada updated the Nevis island model.
    The Fort is indeed pretty high up; try aiming from a distance and perhaps use cannons with a longer range.
     
  14. Themule08

    Themule08 Powder Monkey

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    One last question I came along playing as their was not a tutorial on the buildings you can create. I have made forests, distilleries, armory, mines, and stores... But, you don't get anything from them? I get cash everyday but no materials, am I missing a building?

    Thanks again for putting up with my questions!

    One thing I did notice when playing... I have changing relations on, and there are multiple times where everyone is in an alliance. Now I can see the countries putting away their issues for a while, but they even created alliances with the Pirates.
     
  15. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,615
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Talking to your building owners offers all sorts of options.
    Some give you money, some items and some just show you're a nice guy and improve your reputation.

    Especially after you've gone away for a few days, they should have been able to get some work done and might have some interesting stuff you can use.
     
  16. A.H

    A.H Privateer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    656
    Gender:
    Male
    I've been trying out several new games to see what is my problem with it.. and I figured my main one is the low max HP issue where my character dies within one hit while I am level 1 - 25.

    So I explored this issue more in detail and I saw that when I board a ship, (I have 510 crew and enemy has 75 only), the enemy wipes my whole crew in the start of boarding.. and 90% of the time in cargo & gun decks.

    Does power of the crew have something to do with the level of boatswain I hired?
     
  17. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,615
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    It is mainly related to:
    - Difficulty level
    - Number of crew you have compared to number the enemy has
    - Crew morale
     
  18. Hylie Pistof

    Hylie Pistof Curmudgeon Staff Member QA Tester Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13,767
    Gender:
    Male
    That is really strange. I start a game by avoiding fighting until I get good weapons and then pick and choose when and where to fight so I do not die. By level 17 I almost never die.

    The crew always gets wiped out in the first 1-2 boardings, but after that they should do very well. Are you equipping them with lots of excellent quality weapons? A worn cutlass is no match for an excellent Bosuns Choice cutlass.
     
    DavyJack likes this.
  19. DavyJack

    DavyJack Pirate Queen Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,362
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    USN
    Oh man 510<75 huh? If there's only a way to spawn new AI's when the crew gets killed to 'somehow' satisfy the number (e.g. The ship with 510 crew should have up to 5-8 spawns while the one with the 75 will only have like a maximum of 3 spawns) 'cause that really doesn't make a lot of sense. :sparrow


    An excellent, high level and well equipped captain can maybe take out 5-10 crew at a time but 510 vs 75 and the 75 win? Escape maybe but not win, they should be clearly outnumbered. :pirates



    Anyway, @A.H to what we have now I say you follow what Sire Hylie Pistof suggests. You can also put bandages and alike plus armors if you can spare some in crew's weaponslocker. Also train officers, equip them with the best blades and guns you can find. They're of big help during boardings. ;)
     
  20. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,615
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Lots of work. Also, boardings would take forever if you actually have to fight ALL crew.
    So.... Nope, not going to do that.... :wp
     

Share This Page