1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Tutorial Unofficial fix for Windows 7!

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by LordDrow, Jun 13, 2009.

  1. LordDrow

    LordDrow Pirate Geek Extraordinaire Staff Member Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jefferson City, MO. USA
    Here is how you fix CoAS NOT running under Windows 7!

    Option 1 - Trust me and click the following link <a href="http://www.tagesprotection.com/5.5/TagesSetup.exe" target="_blank">HERE for 32 Bit</a> or <a href="http://www.tagesprotection.com/5.5/TagesSetup_x64.exe" target="_blank">HERE for 64 bit</a> updated TAGES drivers.

    Option 2 - You can just go to <a href="http://www.tagesprotection.com/main.htm" target="_blank">The TAGES Homepage</a> and download the appropriate driver set on your own.

    Apparently the TAGES drivers that were used were out of date and just need to be updated in Windows 7 to get the game running!

    Enjoy everyone!

    Cap'n Drow
     
    Pipeweed likes this.
  2. Peter Willemoes

    Peter Willemoes Corsair Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,222
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Thats great to hear, Cap'n_Drow. I can already imagine a lot of people coming in once Win7 is released, saying "I cant install CoAS, why??" and somehow I get the feeling, that this rush could be calmed and things made easier for guys like you doing support, if this info was stickied/in a wiki or something?
     
  3. marx

    marx Landlubber

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    sorry newb here. i seem to have the same problem. the game is asking for an original disk for it to run. the thing is im running vista 32-bit. i more than meet the system reqs for d game. and i havnt received a reply from the games support. wud ur fix work for vista? im not really much of a pc literate. ty
     
  4. LordDrow

    LordDrow Pirate Geek Extraordinaire Staff Member Storm Modeller Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jefferson City, MO. USA
    I would assume that might be the problem you are having, but cannot guarantee it.

    Cap'n Drow
     
  5. Salkin

    Salkin Landlubber

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Thank you.
    I was getting a little worried. I couldn't install POTC with windows and if I couldn't get AOP2 going either then where would I be. The thought was almost unbearable.
     
  6. Keith

    Keith Raping the Horses and Stealing the Women! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,964
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Malaysia/Australia
    Cheers Drow, that's stopped me from pulling my hair out.
     
  7. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    This sounds like something that should go in a CoAS game FAQ thread or on the Wiki or something.
     
  8. Captain Maggee

    Captain Maggee Aussie Pirate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    *wink wink* CoAS guys...

    Take a look at the Build FAQ and the first post should pretty much be EXACTLY the same as ours but the posts after can be different (of course the links will be different)

    Here is the link http://forum.piratesahoy.net//index.php?/build-mod-and-forum-faq-t14915.html

    Oh and it should be called "CoAS CM and Forum FAQ" (or something to that extent)

    EDIT: Once written (unless Officerpuppy does it) one of the other moderators will lock/pin it for you :yes
     
  9. Stallion

    Stallion Sea Dog News Gatherer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    17,725
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    xD: Glad this thread was here - I just got around to putting CoAS on here today, and ran into the same thing. It works with the updated drivers, though. :onya

    Is it just me, or does this seem to be happening with a lot of copy-protection systems - namely, anything as snarky as StarForce?
     
  10. Captain Maggee

    Captain Maggee Aussie Pirate

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Nah TAGES isnt like StarForce (I mean no one has complained about a burnt out CD drive yet) xD:
     
  11. y2k91

    y2k91 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    can someone please download the latest tages driver x64 for me and upload on this site?

    i cant access the tages website,cant download from there..

    please someone help me..

    im stressed cause i cant play COAS :modding :modding :modding
     
  12. modernknight1

    modernknight1 Field Marshall of Hot Tubs Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,091
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    underwater BB stacker and amatuer basket weaver
    Location:
    USA
    There are lots of freeware sites that have the download available. Just do a google search. Sometimes they want a little info, but all in all mostly harmless.

    These guys have it. https://en.usenet.nl/registration/

    MK
     
  13. y2k91

    y2k91 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    well,i do google them,but most of the sites requires paid membership..

    the site u gave me also requires creditcard or paypal..i dont have any..
     
  14. modernknight1

    modernknight1 Field Marshall of Hot Tubs Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,091
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    underwater BB stacker and amatuer basket weaver
    Location:
    USA
    Did you try this? http://www.tagesprotection.com/5.5/TagesSetup_x64.exe

    MK
     
  15. y2k91

    y2k91 Landlubber

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    yup,tried it...i cant access that website..i already told u..

    everytime i try,it always says connection timed out..

    its the only website i cant access..
     
  16. 2209822098j

    2209822098j Landlubber

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Bout to unwrap my new windows 7 hp desktop, hope this will fix the problem if there is any.. :dance I just gotta read the whole computer manual before my parents let me completely have it :mm
     
  17. Officerpuppy

    Officerpuppy Buccaneer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,010
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Office Manager
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Hope it solves your woes. :onya
     
  18. Luffy

    Luffy Pirate King

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    247
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Promotional Artist.
    Location:
    Bondi Junction, New South Wales, Australia
    thanks!!!!!!!!!!! you have no idear how long i was struggling at this! :)
     
  19. con20or

    con20or Sailor Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Got it working - thanks for the help!
     
  20. Diceknife

    Diceknife Son of Slocum

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    freeloader
    Location:
    Germany but of the U.S
    I just got coas but im have sort of this same problem. an error occurred while trying to read the source file. data error (cyclic redundancy check) ...im lost here and I cant find anything about this.Please help! thanx all.
     

Share This Page