• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Solved Vanderdecken ships

Cody

Landlubber
hello, im new to the thread but not new to potc new horizons. im currently playing as a naval officer for the united states, im also at the highest rank and would like to purchase two more 1st rates. i read on another thread that you have to buy 1st rates from this guys store on isle de muerta. so i got the compass and i went there wanting to buy the dauntless for myself. low and behold i cannot purchase anything from him, not a single ship and i do have enough money. i click on the ship like normal and nothing happens, cant do anything besides repair and sell my ships.

is this a known bug or does he only sell to pirates?

He sells to anyone. He's just a shipyard.

You cannot buy ships because you're a Naval Officer and are meant to command whatever ship you're assigned to.
You get new ships for free upon being promoted, which eventually leads to first rates.
This is part of the new navy officer gameplay.

Anyway, he sells special ships that you cannot get otherwise.
But regular first rates may be available from regular shipyards. They're just rare.

Perhaps allow Vanderdecken to sell ships to naval officers? He's a massive cheat anyway, so if people playing as naval officers want to buy ships anyway, that gives them a way to do it. Of course, having spent lots of hard-earned money on a new ship, you'll lose it when it's replaced at your next promotion, but if you're at the top rank (when you're allowed to swap ships), this would give you a way of getting something better than the usual. Or you could be procuring the super-ship, at your own expense, on behalf of your nation, and being an admiral, you get to choose who will command it - yourself, of course. :napoleon