1. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  3. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  4. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Need Help Windows XP: Beta 4 crashes on Fast Travel to port

Discussion in 'Build Support & Troubleshooting' started by Delilah Jayne, Mar 14, 2017.

  1. Delilah Jayne

    Delilah Jayne Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia
    Every time I fast travel to the port in Barbados the game crashes & if I manually travel to the port & board my ship the game crashes when I fast travel to the open sea, ( This happens wherever I am regardless of which start I use ). I can fast travel from Tavern to Store to Blacksmith to Shipyard without any problems, it's only when I fast travel to the port or open sea does it crash...

    The only settings I changed in the Internal Settings was enabling the Cheat Mod & I changed the Food per Crew & the Rum per Crew to 0.0001. Everything else is as it was when I installed the Mod.

    I have uninstalled & reinstalled both the game & the Build & I am still having the same problems.

    Any ideas on how to fix this annoying problem ?
    Regards,
    Del
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    65,233
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Never heard of that problem.
    The only idea I can think of right now is to install the Intel Fix and see if that helps.
    If it doesn't, then it is easily removed again.
     
  3. Delilah Jayne

    Delilah Jayne Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia
    Where do I find the Intel Fix ?
     
  4. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    65,233
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
  5. Delilah Jayne

    Delilah Jayne Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia
    Awesome, thank you :)
     
  6. Delilah Jayne

    Delilah Jayne Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia
    Ok, my game still kept crashing at the same point, so I uninstalled everything again & only reinstalled the stock POTC game & everything works fine. The game didn't crash & I've sailed all the way from Oxbay to Redmond. For me the vanilla game is boring & I really want to play with the Build, so I would like to know what changes do I need to do to the build files to stop the game from crashing when I go to the open sea ?
     
  7. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    65,233
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    That's difficult to say as I haven't got a clue why the crashing occurs. Unfortunately the log files don't provide a clue either.
    First thing to try is this archive by @Grey Roger: http://piratesahoy.bowengames.com/potc/Grey Roger/post_jan7_fixes.zip
    But in truth, I don't expect that to solve the problem.

    Alternatively, try another clean install with the Build 14 Beta 3.4 files that we still have on ModDB:
    Downloads - Pirates of the Caribbean: New Horizons mod for Pirates of the Caribbean
    If it does work with that version, at least that narrows things down.

    If not, then we have two other older versions (Build 12.1 and Build 13 Final+PotC Build 13 Update 4) to be found here:
    Downloads - Pirates of the Caribbean: Build Mod 13 for Pirates of the Caribbean

    What are your system specifications, by the way?
     
  8. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,383
    Something is seriously wrong. If you were on Barbados then you would not be able to go to a blacksmith. There are two towns on Barbados and neither of them has a blacksmith! And then there's this in "compile.log":
    Code:
    storyline\standard\quests\both_reaction.c not loaded, loading now!
    storyline\standard\quests\quests_reaction.c not loaded, loading now!
    bool CreateParticleEntity()
    !!! Reload to Cartagena_Center (index=640)
    ** Whr: CreateWeatherEnvironment - iCurWeatherhour = 14, theHour = 14
    ItemLogic: On load location Cartagena_Center
    You may think you're on Barbados but the game thinks you're in Cartagena.

    Are you doing a "stormy start"? That is, when Malcolm Hatcher meets you in your cabin right at the start of the game, you basically tell him to get lost, there's a storm, and you end up on a random beach. If so, try starting a new game, and this time choose "Will you just spit it out man! Just tell me what you're doing here in my cabin!", followed by "I remember everything just fine. Thanks." That should put you in Speightstown, which really is in Barbados.
     
  9. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    65,233
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Stormy Starts cannot bring you to Cartagena, because that is not a defined option.

    With Barbados and Cartagena, I am thinking @Levis' "Apothecary Quest", because that contains a teleport back and forth without your ship following suit.
     
  10. Delilah Jayne

    Delilah Jayne Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia
    I have tried all the starts including "Will you just spit it out man! Just tell me what you're doing here in my cabin!", followed by "I remember everything just fine. Thanks." & the stormy start, the results are still the same, as soon as I travel to the open sea from the deck of my ship the game crashes.

    I will try the Build 13_Final ( The last build I remember actually )with the PotC Build 13 Update 4 & see how I go
     
  11. Delilah Jayne

    Delilah Jayne Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia
    Ok, so I installed just the Build 13_Final & it's running smoothly without any problems whatsoever...
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  12. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    65,233
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    I'll be curious how Build 14 Beta 3.4 would work for you.
    Chances are that it is fine too, in which case I've got a suspicion on what to blame.
     
    Delilah Jayne likes this.
  13. Delilah Jayne

    Delilah Jayne Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia
    I've just started to download it now.
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.
  14. Delilah Jayne

    Delilah Jayne Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia
    I have downloaded and installed Build 14 Beta 3.4, made a the same adjustments to the Internal Settings that I made before & did a normal start & everything has worked perfectly. I can use the World Map & sail from island to island without any problems whatsoever.
     
    Pieter Boelen and ANSEL like this.
  15. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    65,233
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    That proves the problem must be something changed later than Build 14 Beta 3.4 .
    What are your system specifications? My suspicion is that the Leveling System massively increased the minimum requirements.
     
  16. Delilah Jayne

    Delilah Jayne Landlubber

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Port Macquarie, NSW, Australia
    Is this what you mean ?


    OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600
    OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
    System Name XP-PC
    System Manufacturer Dell Inc.
    System Model Dell DM061
    System Type X86-based PC
    Processor x86 Family 15 Model 6 Stepping 5 GenuineIntel ~2992 Mhz
    BIOS Version/Date Dell Inc. 2.2.1, 23/03/2007
    SMBIOS Version 2.3
    Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
    System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32
    Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
    Locale United States
    Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-2111)"
    User Name XP-PC\Dad
    Time Zone AUS Eastern Daylight Time
    Total Physical Memory 2,048.00 MB
    Available Physical Memory 542.43 MB
    Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
    Page File Space 3.85 GB
    Page File C:\pagefile.sys
     
  17. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    65,233
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
  18. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,383
    For one thing, if I ever played Build 14 on my old Windows XP PC, then it would only have been one of the Beta 3 versions. By the time we moved onto Beta 4, that PC had broken down - its graphics card had packed up, and I couldn't replace the graphics card because it was an AGP type and the few AGP cards still on the market at the time were significantly lower spec than the defunct one. So I'm now using Windows 7.

    Talking of graphics cards, that's possibly one big difference - I've never needed to try the Intel fix because I've never been using built-in Intel graphics.

    2GB memory may be a bit low.
     
  19. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    65,233
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Oh, good point; it is Windows XP! If I recall, more people have been having instability issues with the latest mod version and Windows XP.
    While in theory the game should work, it seems that the compatibility is in fact worse than it used to be.
    That's really a shame, but I cannot think of any simple solutions.
     
  20. ANSEL

    ANSEL Corsair Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,688
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Artist,Painter
    Location:
    Viborg.Denmark
    This is what I'm running:
    My spec:
    Intel Core i3-4130-3.4 GHz.
    Arctic Cooling Freezer i30
    Asus Z87-A (c2)- Haswell motherboard
    Kingston HyperX beast Duall Channel DDR3-1866-16GB
    Geforce GTX 760 OC-2GB Gddr5
    Corsair RM850 -80plus Gold-850W PSU
    Samsung 840 EVO SSD-500 GB
    Asus BC-12D2HT-DVD/Blueray ROM
    Fractal Design Define R4- Cabinet.
    Windows 8.1
     
    Pieter Boelen likes this.

Share This Page