• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

[WIP] Ships and Scurvy RPG: Feedback appreciated!

Whiskeybarrel Studios

Powder Monkey
Good morning seafarers!

My name is Oliver Joyce, I'm best known as the creator of the RPG game series Swords and Sandals. I no longer make those games, but I'm still an indie developer with my own tiny label, Whiskeybarrel Studios. Anyway, I wanted to tell you all about a new RPG I'm building,Ships and Scurvy.

The basic premise is you play a sailor cursed with immortality. You wake on the sandy shores of a beach, with a humble raft. You gradually build up a proper ship, hire a crew and go on adventures, fighting natives, discovering lands and (invariably) dying and washing up on the beach again. Each adventure, you get stronger, more skilled until you have a huge galleon and a robust crew capable of taking on sea monsters, pirate lords and the vast ocean ahead of you.

I'd describe it as an ocean-based mashup of Rogue Legacy/Oregon Trail/Faster than Light and of course Sid Meier's Pirates. Kind of ambitious but I'm sure it will turn into it's own unique beast.

Anyway, the last month or so I've been writing a development diary of the game ( I'm up to part 4 ) but I'd love for you to have a read and tell me your thoughts on the game so far.

You can read part one here, in which I go through the process of randomly generating an ocean , islands and ships for your world.

http://whiskeybarrelstudios.com/?p=857

Cheers, Oliver Joyce
Whiskeybarrel Studios.

SeaBattles.png