• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Skill value possibly being less than zero

Baste

Freebooter
Storm Modder
Hearts of Oak Donator
I realize that there might not be many people here these days who could see this thread but I'm asking anyway. Pinging @Levis in case he might see it because he worked on the relevant code, but any other programmer who might have an idea to do this could possibly also take a look at it. I'm not a programmer and haven't been able to check and do this myself.

If a skill value would ever be higher than the maximum, such as 10, it seems it will indeed be set to 10 and count as 10. This is how it should be. But, could a skill value, through items or other effects, ever be less than 0?

If it can this is a potential problem as the game could count it as a negative value. For example, if I have a Luck skill value of 1 and find an item that lowers Luck by 2 as long as I have the item, would the skill value be counted as 0 or would the game handle it as -1? If the game handles it as -1 I would need to find other items to raise Luck by 2 for it to be 1 again. I think it would be better to have 0 as the minimum, so even if an item lowers the skill by 2 it would still only be 0 so any other item that raises it by 1 will bring it to 1. It seems to work this way for the maximum, so if 10 is the maximum an item can never bring it to higher than 10.

If items or other effects can't bring a skill value to be less than 0, could someone please point me to where in the code this is handled?