• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Need Help Total Noob - Need Help (Combat, Crew, Money)

jools

Landlubber
Hey all, first post for me. I played that POTC spinoff when it came out, to a certain degree of success (well, I did complete it and remember being pretty decent at it), so I've recently bought TEHO in the hope of a similar, somewhat up-to-date, experience.

Apart for restarting the game twice because the tutorial bugged out (third time I just skipped it), I got most mechanics right, and am learning the ropes. Two MAJOR issues remain, with which I need some help.

Context: I still run my first and only ship, the lugger Adeline, crew is down to 17, I got the navigator guy and Tichingitu (currently as a boarder, because he can't cover any other post). I got about 6000 pesos, and the ship is fully stocked. I can take on pirate luggers or ships of similar class, even with twice as much crew, no big deal. The problem is, I need to thin down their crew a low and then let my crew do all the fighting, and these ships rarely have any decent loot.

Issues:

Melee combat - I can rely on my crew to get through boardings (I hire in a corner and let them do everything), because I absolutely suck at it (despite having chosen the "fencing&acrobatics" profile at the beginning, and having found a decent stocco, somewhere). Last time I fought a pirate captain in his cabin, I had to drink 3 potions during the encounter to prevail.

How do I get better? What do I need to do? Is there a way to capture a ship WITHOUT that 1vs1 fight with the captain at the end? How do I make ships "surrender"?