1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Base game problem

Discussion in 'Build Support & Troubleshooting' started by Sean.Flann, Mar 15, 2017.

  1. Sean.Flann

    Sean.Flann Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello guys, back from the dead I am

    Recently wanted to get back into this game however I am having trouble even getting the base game to start, nevermind the mod :(

    Installed everything correctly (i hope) and tried to run the game however it does not seem to want to start.

    The only unusual thing about the setup is that when I try to start the game by just regular clicking it tells me I need admin privileges. After giving them the .exe will run but will not produce any results afterwards. No Black screen, no errors, nothing.

    Thanks for your help
    Sean
     
  2. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,562
    Where did you install the game? If it's in "Program Files" or "Program Files (x86)", the problem is likely to be Windows trying to protect you from yourself. :D It doesn't help that the base game wants to install itself into one of those folders by default!
     
  3. Sean.Flann

    Sean.Flann Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    tried to install it in a folder just inside C/: drive but same result
     
  4. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,820
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Do you have Windows 10 by any chance?
    If so, the older copy protection on the original game might no longer work; that has been a common problem.
    Replacing the ENGINE.exe with one from any of the mods would solve that.
     
  5. Sean.Flann

    Sean.Flann Sailor Apprentice

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you, this worked, although I am running windows 7.

    How would I go about installing the mod with this new engine in the vanilla game directory?
     
  6. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,562
    The installation wizard for the mod includes a screen where you tell it where you want it to install.
     

Share This Page