• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Solved Boarding doesn't work

styrry

Landlubber
Hello there,
I'm new to the game and somehow at a loss as how to board a ship. I always place my vessel alongside the enemy and match my speed. Though I never have the option to boad. I can get boarded though if the enemy vessel is stronger and decides to initiate boarding.
Only once I used "sail to" to a surrendered ship from an ai battle where I could board. However when fighting pirates the option never opens up to me. Even when the enemy surrendered and lies afloat in the water :(

Hello Pieter,
I used the files Built 14 Beta 3.4 (Installation + Content files from moddb) to mod a freshly installed POTC.

If you don't yet have it, I definitely recommend getting the ZIP attached here as well:
www.piratesahoy.net/threads/boarding-doesnt-work.26865/#post-532045
That contains a couple of additional fixes.

Though I doubt it will change your boarding situation; that has been working for years now.
Of course your "Boarding skill" affects how easy it is for you to board other ships.

When ships surrender, there should be an on-screen log message to indicate if they surrendered to you or another enemy.
You cannot board surrendered vessels unless they surrendered to you.

Thanks for the link. I will add it. I've a 4 in grappling. But being at the same velocity alongside a vessel with no gap at all should be sufficient to get the boarding option, right?
Maybe one more thing to make sure my save isn't messed up: when hiring a new officer sometimes an old one just dissappears. Till now I assumed that's because the old officer doesn't like the new one.

edit: i can't manage to get the zip from the link as it forwards this thread

Last edited: