• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Need Help Naval Officer Progression

luftwaffle

Landlubber
I started playing the New Horizons mod, specifically the [Navy Officer] character start in free play, but can't figure out how to progress to higher ranks and get new ships. I've spoken with the Governor of Jamaica and completed a couple requests, auctioned off a couple prize ships, and spoke with the East India Company but still can't buy/be awarded a new ship or find any missions that relate to naval engagements.

Do I need to go to another island (haven't ventured far from Jamaica starting point in case I miss something)? I've been reading the Aubrey/Maturin series so I'm itching to play a similar narrative (though maybe the admiralty just doesn't like my character, similar to Jack Aubrey and Admiral Harte).

Thanks!

Each time you capture or sink an enemy ship, you earn relation points. Press F2, then go to "Relations". Your score with Britain should have gone up a few points. When it is high enough, it turns green. That's the signal that you are due for promotion. Go to any British governor to collect the promotion.

Ship-hunting missions for the governor will help as it's a source of enemy ships which should be set to be something which you can reasonably hope to defeat. Or you can cruise around the worldmap looking for enemy ships. Pirates won't score much as they're small ships, merchant ships won't score much because they're easy, but every little helps.