• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Offering to help

Captain Murphy

Actually a Captain
TOP CONTRIBUTOR
Programmer
Public Relations
Hearts of Oak Donator
Pirate Legend
I'd like to assist in the herculean effort that is Hearts of Oak!

My background is varied in that I am a professional developer that has many different languages under my belt from C, C++, JavaScript, Java, VB (old school), VB.NET(and a dabbling of C#), and even COBOL (yes, I actually program in COBOL about 40% of my time to this day).

I have been a sailor since my dad taught me on a 14ft Sunfish when I was about 7. He owned a slew of boats (including a few he built himself) of which I learned to sail them all. My other background is as a US Merchant Marine officer. I started as a deckhand on dive boats when I was 16, later transitioned to the US Navy (where I never actually worked on a ship), came back to crew boats in the Gulf of Mexico as a deckhand, became an unlicensed engineer, worked in the side time to get my Captain's License, then became a Mate and worked as a couple years until my first command of a 145ft supply boat. I worked as a 1st Captain from them until I got tired of the 276 days a year offshore about 6 years later. My last command was 166ft long Dynamic Positioned methanol supply vessel. All in the mean time I went sailing on a 35ft Irwin every time I was back from work.