• New Horizons on Maelstrom
    Maelstrom New Horizons

Visit our website www.piratehorizons.com to quickly find download links for the newest versions of our New Horizons mods Beyond New Horizons and Maelstrom New Horizons!

Solved Questing about porting over PotC story lines to CoAS

Captain Kidd

Landlubber
I recently started investigating whether it would be possible to port over some the quest lines from PoTC to CoAS. The idea is that I change as little as possible to make the quests playable in CoAS. From what I've seen at this forum it should be possible. After sifting through the code a bit I came across a few questions I'll need some help with. I'm not asking anyone to help me with the actual coding. Though I have little experience in the matter I'm willing to learn and make this a long project. I just need a few pointers here and there to get me started.

1) Based on the "guide" on this forum I'm sure I need to use the "quest_reaction.c" files from both games and copy the relevant "dialogs.c" and "dialogs.h" files. However, I'm not exactly sure which other files I'll need to check from PoTC for the basic information and to which CoAS files I need to translate this info (for example, I'm pretty sure the "reaction.functions.c" file from CoAS is a requirement). Porting over characters and ships I can do, however I'm not entirely convinced I can find all the files I need to link these to the relevant quests.

2) How do I create new locators in towns and other locations so I can link the new NPC's to these? And if this shouldn't be possible, can I use existing ones (for example those used by patrolling soldiers) without creating any issues?

If someone's got any tips, all help is welcome! :)

:ahoy

This sounds good to me! There are some people around who can help you out, but it might be a good idea to ask the creators of those POTC quests if it is ok to do this. They might even want to help you out.