1. Dismiss Notice
  2. GOG.com logo

    Thanks to YOUR votes, GOG.com now sells:
    - Sea Dogs - Sea Dogs: Caribbean Tales
    - Sea Dogs: City of Abandoned Ships

    Vote now to add Pirates of the Caribbean to the list!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Under the Crossbones Podcast

    A Pirate Podcast with Interviews
    Music, Comedy and all things Pirate!

    - Episode Guide - About - Subscribe -
    - Twitter - Facebook - iTunes - Android -
    - Youtube - Fill the Coffers -

    Dismiss Notice
  4. New Horizons logo

    Quick links for PotC: New Horizons
    - Download latest version
    - Wiki - FAQ - Report bugs here
    - ModDB profile

  5. GOF logo

    Quick links for AoP2: Gentlemen of Fortune 2
    - Downloads and info
    - Historical Immersion Supermod
    - ModDB Profile

Dismiss Notice
New to the forum?
Please take a moment to read our Welcome Message and Forum Rules.

Need Help Questing

Discussion in 'Storm Coding' started by danitim1, Sep 17, 2016.

  1. danitim1

    danitim1 Sanka Da Vinci Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brazil, MG
    Hi everyone! Idk what happen to my last post of the quest I was creating for the game, but ok, Looks like ill have to start a new one. I would like to move the character inside the prision, but it seams that I cant do it :/
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
  3. Levis

    Levis Find(Rum) = false; Staff Member Programmer Creative Support Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,707
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    University Twente (Netherlands)
    Why cant you?
    What is preventing you?
     
    Tingyun likes this.
  4. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    He probably isn't familiar with the function calls to do it.
    Should be an easy answer, but I can't provide it right now.
     
  5. Tingyun

    Tingyun Corsair Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,445
    Gender:
    Male
    @danitim1

    You could look at how @Grey Roger did it in the opening quest for his Ardent storyline. It involves a prison, and several scripted movements.
     
  6. danitim1

    danitim1 Sanka Da Vinci Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brazil, MG
    I used the ardent files, the issue was after this update, my quest did not work anymore, it started with Tia Dalma going to the player instead of the Spanish Captain. So, I skipped this part of the quest, and went right straight to the prision, but the problem is that I cant put the character inside with the command line DoQuestReloadToLocation("Havana_prison", "goto", "goto9", "In_jail");
     
  7. Levis

    Levis Find(Rum) = false; Staff Member Programmer Creative Support Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,707
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ICT
    Location:
    University Twente (Netherlands)
    The line:
    Code:
    DoQuestReloadToLocation("Havana_prison", "goto", "goto9", "In_jail");
    
    The arguments have the following use:
    1th ("Havana_prison") - This is the location you will be teleported to
    2nd ("goto") - This is the group of locators which will be picked to pick a locator from
    3th ("goto9") - This is the locator picked from this group, you will be moved to this locator
    4th ("In_jail") - This is the questscase which will be called after the load is complete

    I think with this info you should be able to tell what is going wrong
     
    Tingyun likes this.
  8. Pieter Boelen

    Pieter Boelen (Not So) Old Seadog Staff Member Administrator Storm Modder Hearts of Oak Donator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    66,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Maritime Research: Project Engineer (Analysis)
    Location:
    Wageningen, The Netherlands
    Do you want to move the player character or an NPC?

    For NPCs, you would need ChangeCharacterAddress or ChangeCharacterAddressGroup .
     
    Tingyun likes this.
  9. Grey Roger

    Grey Roger Sea Dog Staff Member Storm Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6,415
    That puts you into jail. Then it switches to quest case "In_jail". If you don't have a quest case "In_jail", it won't work. Replace that with the name of the quest case which deals with what happens after you've been moved into jail.

    Considerably further into "Ardent", a prisoner is put into jail. Also in "Hornblower", there's a point at which Mrs. Mason and Maria Mason are put into jail. The command you want is:
    Code:
    ChangeCharacterAddressGroup(characterfromID("Wilfred Roscoe"), "Havana_prison", "goto", "goto9");
    Replace "Wilfred Roscoe" with the ID of the character you want to imprison.
     
    Tingyun and Pieter Boelen like this.

Share This Page